Oppo Camp Non Geelong football (AFL) discussion 2026 - Part 1

• Thread starter Thread starter cats_09

both sides looking like they are kicking a bag of tiger snakes when kicking at goal very nervous.

About a week ago - a couple of mates find a dead tiger snake, pick it up, and put it in the boot to take it back to camp so they can play a prank on a third mate.

On their return they excitedly open the boot to put the prank into action......only to see the snake promptly raise its head, flatten its head, and attempt a strike.

True story.

About a week ago - a couple of mates find a dead tiger snake, pick it up, and put it in the boot to take it back to camp so they can play a prank on a third mate.

On their return they excitedly open the boot to put the prank into action......only to see the snake promptly raise its head, flatten its head, and attempt a strike.

True story.
ok, nice story. Then what did they do? Other than putting on new underwear.

True story.
I did exactly the same back in the 70s picked it up sure it was dead off the road between bacchus marsh and Geelong took it to the Saleyards Hotel opened the boot of the EH and there it was curled up and angry in the spare wheel well.

ok, nice story. Then what did they do? Other than putting on new underwear.

They got it into an esky, carried the esky into camp and told old mate it contained a pheasant they'd shot.

He said 'give us a look' so they opened the lid, the snake came out like a demented demon, old mate threw his phone like a hot potato and simultaneously sprinted to the bush line before collapsing on a log gasping like a fish out of water.

I did exactly the same back in the 70s picked it up sure it was dead off the road between bacchus marsh and Geelong took it to the Saleyards Hotel opened the boot of the EH and there it was curled up and angry in the spare wheel well.

Goes to show you can get dead lucky sometimes without even knowing it.

That was only the start of that story it got a bit out of control from there on.

Such stories remind me of the time we want late night fishing, brought home some eels @ 2am, snuck them into my sister's bed.....and waited.

Didn't take long before she woke to feeling multiple, cold, slimy, slithering 'things' in her bed, and fair to say, her screams were heard 100's of km's away 🤣

Better get back to the footy!

That was only the start of that story it got a bit out of control from there on.

Tiger snakes Black red bellied snakes , brown snakes ( potent venom ) all frightening because they can kill you

However a few weeks ago i watched a video on a Black Mamba snake( mainly South Africa ) - dear oh dear - about double the length of most snakes - and unlike virtually any other snakes - it is super aggressive and will challenge and bite anything in its way - cattle , humans

So if you are confronted by one , and it can move at 11k per hour - dont think its just going to slither off into the long grass , it will go after you and keep biting and biting

Tiger snakes Black red bellied snakes , brown snakes ( potent venom ) all frightening because they can kill you

However a few weeks ago i watched a video on a Black Mamba snake( mainly South Africa ) - dear oh dear - about double the length of most snakes - and unlike virtually any other snakes - it is super aggressive and will challenge and bite anything in its way - cattle , humans

So if you are confronted by one , and it can move at 11k per hour - dont think its just going to slither off into the long grass , it will go after you and keep biting and biting

Reminds me of Kill Bill

Red bellies aren't that bad. And tigers and browns use the same anti venom. So as long as you're close to somewhere, you're ok.

Inland Taipans though? Um, nup. Youre done.

Red bellies aren't that bad. And tigers and browns use the same anti venom. So as long as you're close to somewhere, you're ok.

Inland Taipans though? Um, nup. Youre done.

I got bitten by a Tiger. Miles from nowhere.

Just pure dumb luck it was a dry strike.

You and your mates are pretty dumb huh? :)

I was on my own.

Working in the bush at least 2km from base, and about 90 minutes to the nearest hospital.

Had actually checked the track carefully but didn't see it when doubling back a few minutes later.

Felt the hit, saw it leave, and had the punctures to confirm my fears.

But yeah, we do some dumb stuff 😊 what Aussie bloke doesn't?!

I was on my own.

Working in the bush at least 2km from base, and about 90 minutes to the nearest hospital.

Had actually checked the track carefully but didn't see it when doubling back a few minutes later.

Felt the hit, saw it leave, and had the punctures to confirm my fears.

But yeah, we do some dumb stuff 😊 what Aussie bloke doesn't?!
I remember doing K89 and we swam up the river to Jim Jim Falls.
"there's no salties here"
So off we went.

Later I found out that salties do get in there. Such an idiot. :)