Embley to Carlton rumour gaining momentum

I heard an interview with the surgeon who performed the operation.
Apparantly the tendon is just cut away from the bone.

He said that that in >95% of cases the patient returns to 100% of his athletic capacity. He said there were instances where this was not the case but it was rare.
A very small part of the tendon is cut. This part of the tendon is continuous with tnedon fibres from the rectus abdominus (six pack muscle........or keg for most ;)), hence the "pain in the lower stomach had gone after the op" and Judd reporting he could sit up without stomach pain.

The tendon for the adductors has been effectively "surgically injured", and the recovery is not unlike that of an achilles tendon repair (Rocca) in the length of recovery and conservative progressive loading regime to regain full strength.

As many have pointed out, Johnno Brown had this op and moved brilliantly this year once his fitness was up to speed, but again, we see about 1 in 20 of these not do well (i.e. not regain full speed and fitness or have a recurrence).

Would love to know how Embley could sue for restraint of trade considering he signed a contract to be with us :p

If anything we could sue him for breach.

Would love to know how Embley could sue for restraint of trade considering he signed a contract to be with us :p

If anything we could sue him for breach.

Exactly right,

The only way Embley can come to us if hes out of contract and in which case Richmond would pick him up surely. The only other way Carlton could get him if he was to buy out his contract, but Im not even sure thats permitted in AFL.

How can you sue for restraint of trade when you are under contract, if you broke the contract WCE would have grounds to sue him

I did contract law 2yrs ago, and its very hazy but I think Embley could leave under two circumstances;
1. He has a clause allowing him to leave the contract under certan conditions (very rare and unlikely).

2. He could claim his contract has been 'frustrated' by WC's off-field problems. He would have to take this to court and if successful would allow him to walk away from the contract. I'm not even sure if thats remotely correct and I would imagine it would be very hard to establish in court.

Bottom line is that if Embley did want to leave, he might be able to leave his WC contract but we could still prevent him from playing with another club until his contract would have expired in 2009(?). I suppose its futile even speculating because none of us are privy to what his contract states. Might have all sorts of conditions and clauses.

I did contract law 2yrs ago, and its very hazy but I think Embley could leave under two circumstances;
1. He has a clause allowing him to leave the contract under certan conditions (very rare and unlikely).

2. He could claim his contract has been 'frustrated' by WC's off-field problems. He would have to take this to court and if successful would allow him to walk away from the contract. I'm not even sure if thats remotely correct and I would imagine it would be very hard to establish in court.

Bottom line is that if Embley did want to leave, he might be able to leave his WC contract but we could still prevent him from playing with another club until his contract would have expired in 2009(?). I suppose its futile even speculating because none of us are privy to what his contract states. Might have all sorts of conditions and clauses.

Courts will only terminate a contract on the grounds of frustration if one or other party has committed a breach (or theres been something out of either party control like a natural disaster that makes it impossible to fulfill the contract).

I can't see how Embley is going to argue that WC have committed a breach unless he's got a clause in his contract that specifically refers to WC maintaining a certain culture or standard at the club, which I think is ridiculously unlikely.

So failing that, the Court is just going to look at the contract and see that WC are paying him and letting him play footy so the contract hasn't been frustrated.

Um how is anyone going to get him if he is contracted? Can't believe you have such a long thread for this... like how good Richard Hadley is going to be. He will be a gun. Great pick up.

As many have pointed out, Johnno Brown had this op and moved brilliantly this year once his fitness was up to speed,

Didn't Fev also have the same procedure after the 2005 season...and then win the Coleman in 2006?

OMG those Weagles fans must be right, Judd will never return to his best form :rolleyes:

Courts will only terminate a contract on the grounds of frustration if one or other party has committed a breach (or theres been something out of either party control like a natural disaster that makes it impossible to fulfill the contract).

I can't see how Embley is going to argue that WC have committed a breach unless he's got a clause in his contract that specifically refers to WC maintaining a certain culture or standard at the club, which I think is ridiculously unlikely.

So failing that, the Court is just going to look at the contract and see that WC are paying him and letting him play footy so the contract hasn't been frustrated.

It ain't going to court, it isn't happening. Next subject please.:cool:

Didn't Fev also have the same procedure after the 2005 season...and then win the Coleman in 2006?

OMG those Weagles fans must be right, Judd will never return to his best form :rolleyes:
Not sure if Fev had the adductor release, or if he had a "cleanout".
See what I can find.:thumbsu:

All the articles I can find just say "Groin surgery".
Nothing specific.

Not sure if Fev had the adductor release, or if he had a "cleanout".
See what I can find.:thumbsu:

All the articles I can find just say "Groin surgery".
Nothing specific.

Would it be in too bad taste to make some comment about Fev being so private with his groin? :eek:

just like to say that I mentioned this couple of weeks back and was ridiculed like f*ck for sayin it, but it seems to be moving along doesn't it..
he is a definate gun and if he did come some of the young loved lads would be struggling to get in the 22...
mind u i reckon it's got no chance of happening.. its either WCE or punt road..

just like to say that I mentioned this couple of weeks back and was ridiculed like f*ck for sayin it, but it seems to be moving along doesn't it..
he is a definate gun and if he did come some of the young loved lads would be struggling to get in the 22...

It's either West Coast or nothing.

Theres more to this than what people think.

I can't see anything eventuating - i honestly can't see how - no idea about the nitty gritty or how it would work... but there is something brewing.

Don't expect to hear anything anytime soon though.

Fev said the surgeon who did the op told him after the op that the condition of his groin(s) were in the worst 2 or 3 he had ever operated on.

It dosnt sound like abductor release

Theres more to this than what people think.

I can't see anything eventuating - i honestly can't see how - no idea about the nitty gritty or how it would work... but there is something brewing.

Don't expect to hear anything anytime soon though.
Bullshit there is. Just b/c rumours develop momentum, doesn't mean they're true.

Mate, i said i don't think it will happen. I honestly can't see how it will happen. I'm with the majority of people and am pessimistic about it. I can't see how it's possible.

But there is something brewing. What i've heard has nothing to do with what has been said in this thread.

Mate, i said i don't think it will happen. I honestly can't see how it will happen. I'm with the majority of people and am pessimistic about it. I can't see how it's possible.

But there is something brewing. What i've heard has nothing to do with what has been said in this thread.

Care to elaborate? :)

Well, if there is and i'm surprised, that'd be great, but i just doubt it, esp with Tiges in the way. Can't think which big name we could snare aside from one of the Bens.

Care to elaborate? :)

Not going to bother AD03, people will just shoot it down.

I don't know how truthful it is anyway, but it is my belief that there is more to this than meets the eye. I could be terribly wrong so i'll keep my mouth shut until/if anything comes of it.

Well, if there is and i'm surprised, that'd be great, but i just doubt it, esp with Tiges in the way. Can't think which big name we could snare aside from one of the Bens.

I honestly think that it's highly unlikely also ... i'm usually very skeptical with rumors like these as usually none of them turn out to be true. Just saying that people shouldn't be that quick to dismiss it.

Embley to Carlton rumour gaining momentum