Retired #12: Andrew Welsh - Joins the board of directors - 26/9

Re: 12. Andrew Welsh

Andrew Welsh is undoubtedly the most over-rated player at Essendon for the last 20 years.

He consistently turns the ball over both by hand and foot and inevitably costs us goals at the other end.

The bottom line is that if we are relying on Welsh as part of a core player group to take us to a position of strength then we are kidding. Trade him now while for some reason someone may want to give up something for him.

He has been the posterboy for Essendons mediocrity for 4 years. Get him out of the system and give someone else a go.

richmond were keen on him last year. trade welshy and pick 6 for their number 2 pick so we can get cotchin

Good call on the Richmond trade.

I'm not overly across this years draft but by the sounds of it, the top 4 or 5 will be huge then then from about 6 - 15 there's not much in it.

I don't reckon the Tigers would want Welsh though.

Word is the Dons won't trade Welsh.

We really are kidding ourselves with this bloke. I am sick to death of people suggesting how tough and skillful he is.... Get a grip.

With regard to his skills, i'd love to see the stats on turnovers. He'd be right up the top somewhere. It's not just that he turns it over, it's how scared he looks when there's people around him.

A real shocker. Get rid of him.

Andrew Welsh!

i was at the clubs last night and saw andrew standing right near me. i have always thought he was an arrogent prick but my thoughts changed straight away! went up to him said gday (didn't talk footy) had a photo and offerd me a drink! after that bought him a few more drinks and headed off with him mat little and jesse smith to the pizza shop. he shouted us a pizza and was a really really top bloke! i didn't relise how tall and bulky he was!! he massive! u all probably dont care but i thought id tell ya.
top bloke!

Re: Andrew Welsh!

Petty he can't play!

And no wonder he bought you a beer, he's the most overpaid and over rated player in the league.
I think you are being harsh. Welsh does a good job week in, week out without standing out. He plays a great role when playing as a defensive half-forward but he also can become a dangerous forward (remember his first quarter against Geelong). But most importantly, he bleeds for the club and his work-rate is always high.

i was at the clubs last night and saw andrew standing right near me. i have always thought he was an arrogent prick but my thoughts changed straight away! went up to him said gday (didn't talk footy) had a photo and offerd me a drink! after that bought him a few more drinks and headed off with him mat little and jesse smith to the pizza shop. he shouted us a pizza and was a really really top bloke! i didn't relise how tall and bulky he was!! he massive! u all probably dont care but i thought id tell ya.
top bloke!

Always great to hear...

As as asked above i'm also interested... Which club?

Duh!!

I've always been saying what a great bloke he is!

His community work for the club, working with young kids keeps him grounded. Plus you need to be pretty special to be able to do it - patience, communication skills, etc etc

Petty he can't play!

And no wonder he bought you a beer, he's the most overpaid and over rated player in the league.

Very harsh comment on the guy. He busts his guts for the club every week in various positions.

Theres a lot of players on our list could take a leaf out of his book in commitment.

Petty he can't play!

no way mate....this season was his coming of age he started to prove his worth as well as mcveigh....he kicked a fair few goals when lloyd or lucas werent deep forward and hew kept most players quiet....how can u call your self an essendon supporter calling him over paid i'd like to see u stack up angainst him in a match...i'll have $100 on welshy kicking your butt

I think you are being harsh. Welsh does a good job week in, week out without standing out. He plays a great role when playing as a defensive half-forward but he also can become a dangerous forward (remember his first quarter against Geelong). But most importantly, he bleeds for the club and his work-rate is always high.

well said age your compleatly rite

At one of the 6 a side cricket games against the aussies he came around the fence and had a chat with everyone he could and so did jobe watson. You could tell welshy rated himself but he had time for everyone there.

If their are 2 blokes you know what type of effort your going to get out of them come game day it's welshy and lucas if you think he's over rated, you should watch his game closer becuase he blocks for people and does the selfless jobs every game. He is always taking an oppistion player out of the game others at Essendon would not do this.

top bloke!

Are you a hot chick? ;)

ben cousins buys me heaps more when i see him at the clubs. all types of cool things.

Retired #12: Andrew Welsh - Joins the board of directors - 26/9