Position 2019 Rucks

Starting to think :lightbulb::lightbulb::lightbulb:

R1 Westhoff
R2 Clarke
R3 Forte

F8 Bailey Williams (DPP to swing Hoff back when it's time, and also loop)

Could be the way to go. Big POD and clearly ballsy move going cheap on rucks and shoring up elsewhere. It's basically guaranteed both Gawn and Grundy will drop in cash, how much just remains to be seen.

I prefer that plan ^^ rather than adding Mumford or Goldstein to the mix personally.

At least all those players serve a purpose, cash generation (or in Westhoff's case a FWD keeper). But both Mumford and Goldstein aren't in the same league as Gawn and Grundy. So either you're going to settle for a ruck averaging 90-105, which isn't the best.... or there's just no point having them.

This way you can STACK the midfield and plan Gawn/Grundy to be your first upgrade.

Am i crazy, or just a man with a huge schlong? :think:
Westy at R2 a bit exxy vs what I reckon he might deliver, but could work and give you a sighter on the top rucks.
Westy at R1 with a cheapie, you need the cheapie to have good JS.
Clarke prospects hard to gauge, but reckon it's too risky, could bleed points your mids won't compensate.
A Naismith / Longer with a clear run maybe.

Hawks fans, what change to McEvoy's game allowed him to boost his average in 2018?

On raw stats, he had fewer marks, goals, tackles, hitouts, goal assists, inside 50s, clearances, contested and uncontested possessions and contested marks. His DE had the most minor of changes and he received 0.2 more frees for per game. Yet his average spiked from 95.2 to 101.9?

Curious on thoughts here. Is it hitouts to advantage? Another stat I'm not seeing? 1%ers?

Hawks fans, what change to McEvoy's game allowed him to boost his average in 2018?

On raw stats, he had fewer marks, goals, tackles, hitouts, goal assists, inside 50s, clearances, contested and uncontested possessions and contested marks. His DE had the most minor of changes and he received 0.2 more frees for per game. Yet his average spiked from 95.2 to 101.9?

Curious on thoughts here. Is it hitouts to advantage? Another stat I'm not seeing? 1%ers?
One would assume it was :mouth:+:eggplant:

Is there a single person surprised with this news?

If you answered YES to that question....

tenor.gif

Who is the backup ruck at Carlton?
You'd think Matthew Lobbe would get first shot .....but you know, it wouldn't surprise if Carlton play Harry McKay as a ruckman .....apparently having a great PS, built like the proverbial brick shithouse .....$360K SC

I like Mackay but he can barely relief ruck. Lobbe or Phillips are the back ups for Kreuz. Both are decent tap rucks but are liabilities around the ground. They also have De Konning, but he's more of a R/F and still very green.

Rucks important this year with the new rules .....more long kickouts with the rucks as targets ....Rucks will need to be mobile this year, I like both Phillips and Lobbe, but are they capable ?

I know McKay is not a natural ruckman, but his mobility maybe an asset this year .....and he is a year older & body better conditioned

Rucks important this year with the new rules .....more long kickouts with the rucks as targets ....Rucks will need to be mobile this year, I like both Phillips and Lobbe, but are they capable ?

I know McKay is not a natural ruckman, but his mobility maybe an asset this year .....and he is a year older & body better conditioned

McKay took so long to break into the seniors because he didn't have the tank to play KPF. Mobility is one thing, endurance is another.

Good point !

Phillips is our clear No.2 ruck.

Just on Matty K.

Russell sent him in for a minor clean up of the knee now to get it right for the season and it is a very common procedure after knee reco's as you often get floating debris in the knee that can cause pain ( cartlidge etc ) and it needed a quick flush out.

Hardly the type of catastrophic event the media and this place is making it out to be and if it happened during the season it is a 2-3 week injury and last time i checked we are still 4-5 weeks away from Rd.1.

Matty was in top shape before the clean out fitness wise and will be fine for Rd.1 barring any other new issues.

Hmm. Who's the number 1 target for kick ins at the blues? He might take even more marks this year & get more possessions and go 130.

Interesting point you raise .....do we see Charlie Curnow play higher up the ground this year .....he is Carlton's best Mark after all ....Cazbolt after that

Levi has been training in defense a fair bit as Harry McKay and Charlie have killed him in forward drills and we are not starting all 3 down there i don't think regardless where Charlie goes but he will be the solid true CHF if that possy is even around anymore as Harry will be glued in the square.

Track watchers have been saying it after just about every training session we complete!

Would not surprise me if Levi plays half the season in 2nds.

Levi has been training in defense a fair bit as Harry McKay and Charlie have killed him in forward drills and we are not starting all 3 down there i don't think regardless where Charlie goes but he will be the solid true CHF if that possy is even around anymore as Harry will be glued in the square.

Track watchers have been saying it after just about every training session we complete!

Would not surprise me if Levi plays half the season in 2nds.
Charlie Curnow is obviously going to be a star .....but IMO more likely to stamp his authority in 2020

Depends how we fare in the middle of the ground and how quick forward entry is.

Paddy Dow / O'Brien and Zac Fisher who we missed massively when he went down last season are all having ripper Pre Seasons and all have put on considerable weight.

Murphy the other one and if he can play 22+ games with Cripps coupled with the natural progression of the heaps of kids we have rotating through the middle of the ground, i can see us being way more competitive than last season.

To hard to say what Walsh and Stocker will do as they have not played a game yet.

Depends how we fare in the middle of the ground and how quick forward entry is.

Paddy Dow / O'Brien and Zac Fisher who we missed massively when he went down last season are all having ripper Pre Seasons and all have put on considerable weight.

Murphy the other one and if he can play 22+ games with Cripps coupled with the natural progression of the heaps of kids we have rotating through the middle of the ground, i can see us being way more competitive than last season.

To hard to say what Walsh and Stocker will do as they have not played a game yet.
Reckon these guys need another 22 games of experience ....that 50 game benchmark is where players feel they belong & confidence blossoms .....losing alot can stunt that growth

Walsh as good as he is .....it's massive for a lad to play more than half a season in his first year, even moreso as a midfielder who'll bruise him week in week out with big bodies ....people underestimate the physical bruising kids get

The List is good .....just needs experience & confidence with winning games

Honestly at this stage looking at taking Goldy + Sinclair + 180k in the bank.

Gives me the peace of mind of picking at least one of Gawn or Grundy early on if they look like continuing on from 2018, while having 2 bites at the cherry for a subpremo to become a premo?