Training Pre Season 18/19

• Thread starter Thread starter Shazza_

Makes me physically ill to admit this but...Collingwood will benefit from this rule as they have a very strong midfield. I feel our game won't be effected either way because much of our attack is built on rebounding out of defence and then locking it into our forward line. Where we will benefit will be from quick turnovers, where we may lose the initial clearance but reclaim the ball on the outside and then boot it quickly into our forwardline. Lynch will mean we transform far more of our initial entries into goals but perhaps not have as much time in our forwardline because of kicking more goals quickly and because we have one less small pressuring their opponents.

All in all, I don't think the rule changes will hurt or benefit us too much. I just think we'll keep winning regardless :D
Where did we sit last year for centre clearances ?

From memory not that great , a lot of our i50 generated from an effective defensive rebound , after bounce down , we can still get back to favoured formation , will be interesting if we do that

The ruck rule will benefit some not others.
Max Gawn is a tap ruckman, he does not attempt a secondary disposal.
The new rule encourages the ruckman to kick or handball without being penalised.

What worries me is our best offence in the last two years has relied on running forward in waves, multiple players swarming the ball and working it forward by hand. That requires smaller, quicker, more mobile running types and too many big guys may limit the ability to attack like this.

Hopefully what we lose in speed we gain in marking power. Particularly up the wings.

We force a lot of rush behinds. Partly why this extended goal square was bought in.

the extended goal square wasn't brought in though

What extended goalsquare
Whilst technically they didn't extend the goal square in a physical sense, the AFL still got their wish by allowing players to "play on" and the man on the mark being pushed out 10 metres from the square.... they essentially still extended the square.

Make no mistake - this will be a farce.

Whilst technically they didn't extend the goal square in a physical sense, the AFL still got their wish by allowing players to "play on" and the man on the mark being pushed out 10 metres from the square.... they essentially still extended the square.

But the players will still play on towards the flanks as per normal, it is still the same but all they have done is take away the kick to self part.

I watched the AFLW game between kangas and blues, the blues girls were playing on from the square almost every time and kicking to players who weren't ready for it or were out of position, the kanga girls kept on getting repeat entries. You are still going to need to use your brains when kicking out because if you rush it and play on and then get done on the turnover coaches will go batshit crazy.

But the players will still play on towards the flanks as per normal, it is still the same but all they have done is take away the kick to self part.

I watched the AFLW game between kangas and blues, the blues girls were playing on from the square almost every time and kicking to players who weren't ready for it or were out of position, the kanga girls kept on getting repeat entries. You are still going to need to use your brains when kicking out because if you rush it and play on and then get done on the turnover coaches will go batshit crazy.

Don't underestimate the man on mark requiring to be 10m off the square rather than 5m - this is a big difference especially the kick to yourself being scrapped. I'm not saying that turnovers won't happen, but the exploitation of this rule in the AFL will make Hocking look like an (bigger) idiot.

A player will kick it to the wing - this is not AFLW - don't even try compare the two, the AFLW is an amateur sport with code hoppers who couldn't beat an U15 boys team.

What kills me the most is the idealogy that AFL fans can't appreciate defensive tactics and we need "MOAR GOALSS!!!!!'' - the game is fine FFS, just leave it alone. The people who think its broken are simpletons.... sorry for the rant.

What worries me is our best offence in the last two years has relied on running forward in waves, multiple players swarming the ball and working it forward by hand. That requires smaller, quicker, more mobile running types and too many big guys may limit the ability to attack like this.

My main problem with the whole 'we need a second ruck', thing.

Im sure the coaches will be busy doing game simulations at training to determine the best way to attack and defend for the rule changes,

The afl, being the incompetent campaigners they are, will wind back the kick in rule changes during the 2019 season once they see it doesnt have the results they want which is based on the "analysis" of a couple of dead rubbers in the vfl.

The vfl coaches didn't have a preseason of practicing the new rules to work out how to exploit the rule to their benefit like the big boys in the afl have had. The vfl had what a week or so notice for the changes?

I think we’ll maintain our leg speed across the ground while bringing in Lynch and another tall. Our players with genuine leg speed are all best 22 players so they won’t be making way for Lynch and a 2nd tall.
I’d like to see Lynch, Butler and a 2nd tall/ruck come into the side

Don't underestimate the man on mark requiring to be 10m off the square rather than 5m - this is a big difference especially the kick to yourself being scrapped. I'm not saying that turnovers won't happen, but the exploitation of this rule in the AFL will make Hocking look like an (bigger) idiot.

A player will kick it to the wing - this is not AFLW - don't even try compare the two, the AFLW is an amateur sport with code hoppers who couldn't beat an U15 boys team.

What kills me the most is the idealogy that AFL fans can't appreciate defensive tactics and we need "MOAR GOALSS!!!!!'' - the game is fine FFS, just leave it alone. The people who think its broken are simpletons.... sorry for the rant.
When they play on by kicking to themselves they don't get it to the wing, how big do you think these players can kick.

Kardinia Park, MCG, Optus Oval, Adelaide Oval will be lucky to get it to the flanks.

SCG will see it but that's only if they are not shut down by players close in.

Remember as soon as the player plays on the player at 10m can go at him, most players will play on boundary side and therefore will land it 65 to 70 out, mostly to pack situations. Players never go up the guts unless late in the game when needing a quick goal if behind.

I think we’ll maintain our leg speed across the ground while bringing in Lynch and another tall. Our players with genuine leg speed are all best 22 players so they won’t be making way for Lynch and a 2nd tall.
I’d like to see Lynch, Butler and a 2nd tall/ruck come into the side
Before we recruited him I was against taking him and thought we should run with Riewoldt and Balta and spend the money on a gun midfielder instead of him.

I still have that view that's what we should have done, it will be interesting to see if I was on the right train of thinking or if Lynch was the right call. I'm not convinced yet.

Im sure the coaches will be busy doing game simulations at training to determine the best way to attack and defend for the rule changes,

The afl, being the incompetent campaigners they are, will wind back the kick in rule changes during the 2019 season once they see it doesnt have the results they want which is based on the "analysis" of a couple of dead rubbers in the vfl.

The vfl coaches didn't have a preseason of practicing the new rules to work out how to exploit the rule to their benefit like the big boys in the afl have had. The vfl had what a week or so notice for the changes?
I actually think the 6-6-6 will be the first rule abolished ( if not by the bye rounds but for 2020 ) when they realise it does nothing for the game but make them look like kids who need to be disiplined.

When they play on by kicking to themselves they don't get it to the wing, how big do you think these players can kick.

Kardinia Park, MCG, Optus Oval, Adelaide Oval will be lucky to get it to the flanks.

Remember as soon as the player plays on the player at 10m can go at him, most players will play on boundary side and therefore will land it 65 to 70 out, mostly to pack situations. Players never go up the guts unless late in the game when needing a quick goal if behind.

I guess we'll find out in a month. But my guess is Shorty will do better than 70m from goal. He'll easily and often be able to break to the open side and run 12-15m (cause the umps are slack on the 10m rule) and kick 55+. Do the math from the goal line. Maybe not 'centre' wing, but on the wing nonetheless.

Ok to be fair, I didn't mean centre wing, but they can clear half forward to the start of the wing.

Man on the mark is now 10m out, so the kick in will gain extra metres before the kick. I don't think it will take too long before that man on the mark is also Shepparded / blocked when play on is called giving the kicker even more space to launch.

Coaches never put defenders in the pocket as they historically want the ball there to suffocate the next kick - unless they now decide to defend that space.

End of the day, the coaches are far too smart and will exploit this.

Just my opinion.

Before we recruited him I was against taking him and thought we should run with Riewoldt and Balta and spend the money on a gun midfielder instead of him.

I still have that view that's what we should have done, it will be interesting to see if I was on the right train of thinking or if Lynch was the right call. I'm not convinced yet.
The knee issues make me slightly nervous considering the length of his contract however I think we needed another quality KPF. We still don’t know if Balta and co will make the grade and realistically they are 3-4 years away anyway

Balta gives me a David Goudis vibe way more than I'm comfortable with. I'd love to see some really dominant performances in the VFL this year to put that to rest...

The media keep telling us we want more goals... but what drives their agenda?
Who stands to benefit?
I’m not sure punters give a stuff.
The reality is, more goals = more advertising revenue and broadcast media pays a bucketload for AFL rights.

Balta gives me a David Goudis vibe way more than I'm comfortable with. I'd love to see some really dominant performances in the VFL this year to put that to rest...
You must be Drunk Wookie ;)

Take it easy mate and feel comfortable and watch this ............

http://www.richmondfc.com.au/video/2018-11-12/tigers-department-of-youth-balta

Goudis was never at this level of footy , He was athletich and fast with a great leap but was not a footballer - Noah Balta is a footballer

Lol please don’t put the mozz on the poor kid with that comparison. I reckon every supporter wants him to succeed because of his amazing athleticism and x-factor.

Ok to be fair, I didn't mean centre wing, but they can clear half forward to the start of the wing.

Man on the mark is now 10m out, so the kick in will gain extra metres before the kick. I don't think it will take too long before that man on the mark is also Shepparded / blocked when play on is called giving the kicker even more space to launch.

Coaches never put defenders in the pocket as they historically want the ball there to suffocate the next kick - unless they now decide to defend that space.

End of the day, the coaches are far too smart and will exploit this.

Just my opinion.
Nothing wrong with what you said, i encourage teams to launch because it gives us more chance to cause a turnover, smart teams work there way out of defence from the kick in with short precise kicks until they are at half forward ( my pet hate when we allow this to happen ) , desperate teams hail mary out of defense.
Best thing is that the AFL think they are smarter but then have a massive sook when things don't turn out how they imagined it would. They want end to end ping pong footy, it wont happen.