Vic Best nightspots to go in Melbourne

• Thread starter Thread starter Stats Man

Went out on Thursday last week in Brunswick and ended up at Perseverance (I think?). Had $5 pints of Hawthorn Pale Ale all night which i was surprised by. Wasn't more than 50 people there, but wondered why there were so few options when there are usually a few others around, even on a Thursday.

I'm starting to really just not bother going out anymore to places that don't have any appeal. I only tend to go out for live gigs now, and then hang around the bar for one or two more drinks, but even that's exhausting.

Are there still any live music venues 7 days a week, or at least playing live music past 1am?

Ok thanks Geelong. Kicked out all the cool heavier bands and and and. That’s not good news . :(

In Collingwood the Tote and the Bendigo are still kicking same as they ever were, which IS good news. Out Footscray way the Reverence Hotel is sadly going the way of the Arthouse unfortunately. Last drinks are in March:(

Garden State Hotel would have to be the one of the worst places I've ever seen in Melbourne/the world. Extraordinary stuff.
I want there on one of my birthday nights when it fell on like a Tuesday and my girlfriend’s friend boyfriend also had a birthday on the same day. It was expensive for shit beer. Move on. That was years ago and I can’t imagine anyone would go there now.

Ultimately this forum is getting older and less young people use message boards. People into footy use the reddit AFL page which is stuff like ‘how good is Tom Mitchell!’ and complete sycophancy.

People don’t go out as much, venues suck more. Just another example of the fact the world isn’t getting better.

I want there on one of my birthday nights when it fell on like a Tuesday and my girlfriend’s friend boyfriend also had a birthday on the same day. It was expensive for shit beer. Move on. That was years ago and I can’t imagine anyone would go there now.

Ultimately this forum is getting older and less young people use message boards. People into footy use the reddit AFL page which is stuff like ‘how good is Tom Mitchell!’ and complete sycophancy.

People don’t go out as much, venues suck more. Just another example of the fact the world isn’t getting better.

People are still going out. Venues are the same. We've just grown older. It's the cycle of life. When I was 18-21 I went to the same shit joints and thought they were incredible. How can you not after dropping a pill for the first time and walking into a crazy haze of smoke and hot girls and loud music? Was a revelation. Now I can't think of anything worse than a dirty club.

In Collingwood the Tote and the Bendigo are still kicking same as they ever were, which IS good news. Out Footscray way the Reverence Hotel is sadly going the way of the Arthouse unfortunately. Last drinks are in March:(

Yeah the gentrification of pubs and lost gig venues. :(

Ok thanks Geelong. Kicked out all the cool heavier bands and and and. That’s not good news . :(

The former owners took over The Reverence in Footscray which has been fantastic, closing shortly to build apartments though :'(

The Arthouse turned into an Irish bar the last time I was down that way, which was a few years ago now. Very 'meh'.
Yeah i think it's now called The Last Jar. Got roped into going to an extended family dinner there a couple of years ago. Nothing special.

The Last Jar is a shocker. I lived in that area exclusively basically and the trapezing between suburbs there meant I’d walk past it. Any time I’d drop in for a pint when my mates were running late, it was awful.

As Chrissy Moltasonti said, hell is an Irish Bar... and it’s St Patrick’s Day every day.

Go out with low expectations and still come home disappointed
Thats Garden State

If in the CBD, Section 8 as a starting point

+ 1

I’ve only being on a sunny Sunday arvo but Whitehart Bar is good too. Bit more chilled out.

Went to Dr Morse last sat - why I continue to torture myself at that place is beyond me. Long queue that is one in one out, $13 pints, shoulder to shoulder in small courtyard. No thanks.

I find it more palatable for post work drinks on a Friday, not *as* busy. Drinks are expensive no doubt. Foods gone up quite a bit over the past year too.

I don't mind Ferdyduke, can sit on the balcony and watch Section 8 people coming and going. Gets afternoon sun.

In searching for something to do on Tuesday night I discovered that Boney closed a couple of months ago. Sad. I pretty much never go out in the city but Boney would have been one of the only places I would have.

Anyway anyone know a good Tuesday night spot?