Player Watch #18: Alex Rance

There goes 6 All-Australians in a row, and the All Australian record of 9 now looks unobtainable.

I come in peace.

Cracks me up when people say he isn't that good because he doesn't play the traditional KB role, easily the best allround defender of the decade IMO, fingers crossed it isn't an ACL, isn't the end of the world if it is either.

I think he will come back next year, he seemed like the only one who wasn't shattered. Speaks volumes about the guy, he loves the players and club he will want to come back next year for the team.

As for our premiership chances, we are borderline ****ed IMO Let's hope our next wave of young defenders can fill a void.

I come in peace.

Cracks me up when people say he isn't that good because he doesn't play the traditional KB role, easily the best allround defender of the decade IMO, fingers crossed it isn't an ACL, isn't the end of the world if it is either.

No worries Frank, I know you love to give us stick when you can but all the Rance haters are haters because he is so good. We just now have to find someone to sticky tape a massive crack in our hull.

Lars anyone?

As someone who has had both traditional reco and a Lars reco I would love him to.

But it wont happen,he will have a traditional reco if scans confirm the ACL injury.

There isnt enough medical data/ research for clubs to take the risk unless it's an older player at the back end of their career

Garthwaite is very average. Seen him play a number of times in the vfl. Would rather Balta get the chance up back. Caddy to replace Balta up forward.

Either way, flag chances look slim now.

And dont bother coming back you pathetic troll , You are here to gloat about a players injury and we all know your history of trolling every richmond player.

Pathetic is a bloke like you who has no decency in life or even on the net.

Your a piece of S*** now as i said before F off

Pull your head in mate, seriously you have to stop doing this every time someone posts here from another club.

There was nothing trollish about that post whatsoever.

Garthwaite is very average. Seen him play a number of times in the vfl. Would rather Balta get the chance up back. Caddy to replace Balta up forward.

Either way, flag chances look slim now.

I like to think we are past the times where we were reliant on a few players. He wasn’t going to be around forever, this will be a great opportunity to look to the future.

Just wanted to jump on and wish your club and Rance all the best.

He is a champion of the game, he cant be replaced but hopefully wce
have shown you can still have a great season as other players step up.

When Nic did his last year the hollow win felt like a loss, so know the feeling.

But Richmond is a terrifically well run club you will recover and still be a force

Hopefully its a Richmond v WCE grand final

I like to think we are past the times where we were reliant on a few players. He wasn’t going to be around forever, this will be a great opportunity to look to the future.

I'm quite happy to go with Garthwaite once he is fit. He finally gets a good opportunity to take the next step and sometimes you just needs to play senior footy to improve as a player. What it does mean is Balta will also play more senior footy this year which is a good thing because he also needs to get games under his belt.

A devastating way to start the season. However, I've long had the impression that what Rance brings to the club in terms of attitude towards the game and life is close to as important as his contributions on the field. If the worst scenario is the case, then he can remain invaluable as an inspirational figure around the place until he has healed.

Not the end of the world.
Garth needs a shot and here it is.
He has the whole season to prove himself and Rance will mentor him.

Garth is more accountable than Alex (and also less likely to leave his man) which means we need to change it up down back but it ain’t all that bad.

Alex ain’t replaceable, but there have been times when he’s been exposed 1 on 1 that Garth is more suitable to cover.

I’m excited about what Garth will bring to our backline.