Autopsy 2019 Rd 1 vs Richmond - Improved Blues go down by 33 points

Which players did you like the look of in Round 1?

Our small forwards are going to hurt us real bad

Adelaide pick and big cash should go to fixing that

We have no pace in Fasolo, Ed Curnow or Gibbons
it was fasolo's first hit out so i'm prepared to cut him some slack. we all acknowledge gibbons isn't a long term option, he's just playing a role right now.

i'm convinced the only reason ed curnow gets a game is to keep charlie happy.

What’s the motivation in coming here? To come see if we are melting? I don’t get it........talk me through what possesses you to come and post on our board right this minute

Ummmm...to talk footy??

You're making a tit of yourself...

Is it? Put it all into perspective, Richmond just won, rance is injured, what would drive him to come to our board and post here at this time?

Occams Razor would suggest he came to gloat or enjoy our misery then act like the benevolent conquerer.......

No, you're way off. It's not the way things work around here. Leave the mod work to us.

Hardwick rates their performance a 4 out of 10. Bit of perspective.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
Perspective? Minor premiers vs 2 win wooden spoon team.

Hardwick Presser: " Absolutely Happy with the team performance, couldn't have gone better. We really have nothing left in the tank and can't get better. Please, buy your cat a membership because that's all we have"

There is a thing called "spin" that helps with understanding coaches comments.

I'm neither happy or ready to put my head in an oven. Extremely happy with overall effort, but there were some fumbled marks and others around the ground that need to be cleaned up. Not going to throw anyone under the bus just yet.

"Unless Hardwick gives them a 3 out of 10, that's when we start throwing stuffed animals out of our sturdy wooden structure designed to keep our fragile body's safe from night time fallings."

The worry sign was the ease with which Richmond got goal side and ran away from their men, particularly from contests. We look really flat footed at times, almost ball watching.

Part of that is experience but it was a worrying sign. Need to tighten up.
they do that to everyone. that's their strength. they actually created very little on their own tonight, they just looked ridiculously dangerous every time we turned it over.

we weren't nearly as lethal when they made mistakes. that was the biggest difference between the sides.

it's all running power.

I thought Weitering absolutely destroyed Lynch who only scored when he seagulled out the back. Jones also took Jack out of the game.

Our midfielders were outworked without the ball and the reason we lost.
yep

First Quarter:
We got jumped, poor umpiring was very frustrating but we dropped our heads and couldn't work ourselves back into it. Fell to a 6 goal deficit.

Second Quarter:
Started to take the game on, started to have the group adjust to playing together in a pressure environment against a quality team.
Big Tick for this Quarter.

3rd Quarter:
We controlled it and would've been up had we not fell so far behind early.
Showed we are capable and we mean business.
Very pleased with this.

4th Quarter:
Richmond did what good sides do.
They adjusted and shut us down. Being inexperienced and the lack of runners to help direct meant we couldn't adjust quickly.
With experience we will get better but full credit to Richmond. They recognised our damaging players and nullified them.

Stand outs for me:
Walsh, Cripps, McKay, Murphy, Dow, Simpson, Setterfield, Gibbons, McGovern, Weitering, Cunningham

Needs improvement:
Curnow 1 and Curnow 2, Garlett.

they do that to everyone. that's their strength. they actually created very little on their own tonight, they just looked ridiculously dangerous every time we turned it over.

we weren't nearly as lethal when they made mistakes. that was the biggest difference between the sides.

it's all running power.

Running power certainly comes into it but I still think we turn off too easily. It’s a split second thing but something we need to improve.

Jack looks really flat.
Rance is basically his best mate so understandable.

Good game by your boys setterfield/Walsh especially Dow also looks bigger. Your boys ran out of puff and the forwards got in each other’s way new forwardline understandable.

Good luck for the rest of the year and classy by both sides to cheer off Murphy and jack and them both embracing

Honestly i hated the curnows games. Both of them. Charlies been very fumbly the last few weeks but stays in the team. He will come right.. ed curnow i believe doesnt have a role anymore. Hes has been beyond terrible all pre season. Yeh he is still getting the ball. But very fumbly. And gives it straight back to the opposition.... would actually rather polson atm than ed..... or kennedy. Fasolo was ok. But very rusty. Garlett was ok but on very shakey ground as well.
Agree. Replace him with Murphy. Sorry Ed. At least Murphy's a goal kicker.
Murph struggled in the middle/wing, disposal was not great. Murph belongs up the field to finish off.

First Quarter:
We got jumped, poor umpiring was very frustrating but we dropped our heads and could work ourselves back into it. Fell to a 6 goal deficit.

Second Quarter:
Started to take the game on, started to have the group adjust to playing together in a pressure environment against a quality team.
Big Tick for this Quarter.

3rd Quarter:
We controlled it and would've been up had we not fell so far behind early.
Showed we are capable and we mean business.
Very pleased with this.

4th Quarter:
Richmond did what good sides do.
They adjusted and shut us down. Being inexperienced and the lack of runners to help direct meant we couldn't adjust quickly.
With experience we will get better but full credit to Richmond. They recognised our damaging players and nullified them.

Stand outs for me:
Walsh, Cripps, McKay, Murphy, Dow, Simpson, setterfield, Gibbons, McGovern, Weitering

Needs improvement:
Curnow 1and Curnow 2, Garlett.
I wouldn't,like this twice if I could grant summary.

We were beaten by a TOP FOUR SIDE!!!!!! Make no mistake about that!
We are,barring a few still KIDS
WE ARE 2 YEARS AWAY FROM CHALLENGING : Looked for flag emoji
Weitering was good!
We miss a top notch around the ground ruckman
We need to keep Charlie in a good place
We are heading in an upwards direction but won't happen over night.
I am going to have dinner...Goodnight

What exactly has he done??
He has been smiling after every loss for 12 years 250th game or not.

I’ve played a lot of cricket and footy at a pretty decent level and I couldn’t give a **** how many games I’d played all I cared about was winning. I don’t stand around laughing and smiling with the other team after a loss.

But then again I’m not selfish

Lol I'm sure you've played lots of games at a decent level.

If you don't like getting called out for flog behaviour, don't act like a flog.

Pity we couldn’t capitalise late in the 3rd to get the pressure on the Tiges. We were spent after that.

A lot to like, thought DC brought us back into the game, just a little more composure. Walsh, fair debut...along with Newman’s efforts 1st up in the Navy Blue.
Snippets from Dow, SPS, Weiters, McKay, Fisher (RFI though with HTB and some in tight moments), Gibbons at times + really liked Setters welcome.
Older heads in Jones, Thomas, Murphy in patches and Simmo always solid. Plow also thereabouts.
Crippa a machine but can go up quote a few notches as the season advances.

Next year for a round 1 victory, maybe...

Hopefully it all clicks for us soon when our forwards can lift with Mitch (some moments but your left ain’t your go to) + CC, yes, he was shizen tonight. Fasolo not involved enough, as expected.

cant stand the media campaign to get jones rubbed out for a block. what a joke. can see its shoulder to chest
As a tiger who hates carlton if he gets done for that I’d almost give the game away

Disappointed a bit, but lots of good signs. Bring on round 2.
I at no point thought before the game that at some point I would say -" we are a chance here" yet in the 3rd taking into consideration such a disaster we had in the 1st qtr- I did indeed say those words and for that alone I am not disappointed in the result

What exactly has he done??
He has been smiling after every loss for 12 years 250th game or not.

I’ve played a lot of cricket and footy at a pretty decent level and I couldn’t give a **** how many games I’d played all I cared about was winning. I don’t stand around laughing and smiling with the other team after a loss.

But then again I’m not selfish

The selfish ones are always the ones too pissed at everything to be able to talk to the opposition and have a smile. Might need to rethink this stance mate.