Autopsy 2019 Rd 1 vs Richmond - Improved Blues go down by 33 points

Which players did you like the look of in Round 1?

What’s the motivation in coming here? To come see if we are melting? I don’t get it........talk me through what possesses you to come and post on our board right this minute
Weird response to their post

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

the last quarter fade out was to be expected. They're a better running side and overran most seasoned teams last year in last quarters.

the slow start is a concern. it happened in the collingwood JLT game as well so possibly a trend emerging...

good - cripps, walsh, fisher, dow, newman, cuningham, mckay, murphy, thomas, simpson, setterfield
ok - weitering, jones, garlett, mcgovern, phillips, SPS, plowman
need more from - both curnows, fasolo, gibbons,

the biggest problem was sloppy skill errors with our entry into 50. tigers are a team that punish sides on transition perhaps more so than anyone else in the league.

charlie had a shocker, would have liked to have seen him more up the ground to get into the game. His best contributions were his inbound passes to setterfield (one which didn't count but should have). he has a really nice field kick. every effort should be made to have him the forward getting up the ground and leave the other 2 deep.

Middle qtrs were good, bookends poor.
Murphy in his 250th pulled out of too many contests again, he really must be one good knock away from retirement.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Imagine thinking that Murphy isn't allowed to smile after his 250th after all he has done for the club and thinking it's an acceptable thing to say.

What exactly has he done??
He has been smiling after every loss for 12 years 250th game or not.

I’ve played a lot of cricket and footy at a pretty decent level and I couldn’t give a **** how many games I’d played all I cared about was winning. I don’t stand around laughing and smiling with the other team after a loss.

But then again I’m not selfish

What’s the motivation in coming here? To come see if we are melting? I don’t get it........talk me through what possesses you to come and post on our board right this minute

Absolutely nothing wrong with opposition posters coming in here and posting respectfully and constructively.

fmd....ok, I've only been a poster for 6 months, but would like to think that I've contributed in the pre season fun and banter leading into the first round...who all of a sudden are these posters I've never even seen start throwing hand grenades during the course of the game...I was honestly astounded!!! Seiously, your either all in or all out as far as I'm concerned.

We had a fair dinkum crack for a couple of quarters, and a few straighter shots at goal in the 3rd could have swayed the momentum.....and we're talking about the team that finished 2018 two games on the top of the ladder opposed to a team that won two games with a dreadful %, so we have to put it into perspective.

The Tuggs were more structured and composed for the majority of the game...a lot like the Dawks that did the same thing in the JLT. We had 6....I'll say it again, 6 new players in our side tonight playing their first games, so it'll take time for us to get our shit together. Every AFL coach says the same thing.

Also, we had some players who had Barry Crockers...who need to have a good hard look at their efforts. Every player has a down game, but you still need to recognise how you can still contribute when you know your having a shocker. That's what the genuine A graders are able to do.

Jonesy likely to have a little holiday after those tossers Roos and Maguire have already hung him publicly....Gov to the backline next week if required and bring in Patty Kerr....who may be the rocket that Charlie needs, start putting in or this guy may take your place.

And anyone who uses Garlett as their whipping boy can well and truly gagf....he's being played in a position totally foreign to him, and right now looks out of his depth. Either give him a chance, or put him back into a position where he was drafted to actually play.

I was dows biggest fan at the start of last year. He fumbles WAY too much for a top line player. He is reminding me of a better sam kerridge. Absolutely killed us a few times tonight. He's set shot was horrid too.

Hope he pulls it together. Must be a confidence player because I've seen him do some judd like stuff.

I'm a Richmond supporter and I reckon Dows a jet as a neutral. Only second year....

Weird response to their post

Is it? Put it all into perspective, Richmond just won, rance is injured, what would drive him to come to our board and post here at this time?

Occams Razor would suggest he came to gloat or enjoy our misery then act like the benevolent conquerer.......

Unless there’s injuries I can’t see any players being dropped for next week. LOB apparently got a bit of it in the seconds and I’d rather him that Garlett *but* they’ll want to give a couple of these players a decent run.

The only possible change is Krooze coming in for Flip.

the only possible explanation for LOB not playing is his tank isn't up to it yet. wingers are only as good as their running power.

richmond have mcintosh, west coast have masten, collingwood have phillips. not particularly great or skillful players but they run hard and help provide numbers to contests. if LOB can't do that then he can't play wing, and we certainly shouldn't throw him in a role he's capable of yet. that'd be setting the kid up to fail.

I love how every shit Carlton supporter decides to come out the first game of the year if we start to lose... really... we are young... we won two games last year... it’s not going to change over 1 pre season... but seriously have a think about your comments before you post... derogatory comments cannot help and mates me think of you are Carlton supporters or just trolls trying to bring us down... might be a smart though of us all to sign up as opposition members and post that they are shit to see if we can bring their confidence down... but really!!! If I told everyone we would win the possession count, and most of the stats that count in afl but not the game would we have taken that...? I think so...
As for Charlie... wow do we have short memories... what happened
I love how every shit Carlton supporter decides to come out the first game of the year if we start to lose... really... we are young... we won two games last year... it’s not going to change over 1 pre season... but seriously have a think about your comments before you post... derogatory comments cannot help and makes me think if you are really Carlton supporters or just trolls trying to bring us down... might be a smart thought of us all to sign up as opposition members and post that they are shit, to see if we can bring their confidence down... but really!!!
If I told everyone we would win the possession count, and most of the stats that count in afl but not the game would we have taken that...? I think so...
As for Charlie... wow do we have short memories... what happened last we when we played the pies in the practice game??? Did he not come off early because of an injury concern... clearly he was hurt but still a big focus for the tigers to have Rance on him all night... he will get better... Most important thing tonight is no injuries and being able to play together again... team cohesion is very very important...!!!!!!!!!!!
What I cannot stand though is the commentary... Richmond this Richmond that every call from the umps is wright cause it went Richmond’s way... anyone would have thought it was Richmond’s home game...
Go Blues

I think everyone is entitled to have a say and to be able to vent their emotions.
Some people need to get things off their chest.
If you heard everything that came out of my mouth during a game like tonight's and every other game over the past 19 years for that matter you would crucify me.
After the game and the next day it's pretty much all good.
And I think the word troll is used far too often on here.
The sun will come up again tomorrow.👍

Our small forwards are going to hurt us real bad

Adelaide pick and big cash should go to fixing that

We have no pace in Fasolo, Ed Curnow or Gibbons

Main point is that we now have a midfield, which is excellent. Just need time to learn each other's tendencies.

Pls stop the Ed forward thing, it's horrible. He is a scrappy hard ball winning tagger, that's it.

Something NQR with Charlie???
Curnow going back to late last season after he had some really good games became far too worried about his man and playing like some not letting things come to him naturally.

Was more of the same tonight. Was like he was thinking of how he was gonna kick the footy before he even took the mark.

Richmond also have a great defence and we still looked like a confused team structurally up forward. But still would have liked to have seen him clunk a mark or two inside 50 in the 4th. With Rance gone there was an opportunity.

Hardwick rates their performance a 4 out of 10. Bit of perspective.

Hardwick's own rating is nothing more then wishful thinking on his part.

Their key mids all had 30 touch games, they got 3 chance goals from an underdone Lynch and the umps gifted them a 4 goal head start. Things ain't ever going to go much better than that for you, 8/10 game for the tigers.

Our small forwards are going to hurt us real bad

Adelaide pick and big cash should go to fixing that

We have no pace in Fasolo, Ed Curnow or Gibbons
I seriously can’t undsrstand how we haven’t found at least one handy small forward.

I thought our pressure was better tonight but Richmond still had it far too easy down back.

So the fox footy match review panel has given Jones a week

Who comes in ?

Marchy not ready. Macreadie not ready

Goddard ?

Also Garlett for O’Brien

Phillips for Lobbe, Kruz.....CAS???

I’d keep Fas and Gibbons in the side but piss Ed off back into the midfield

Charlie needs a real kick in the ass

I didn't think Jones moved of his line ..nothing in it ..I may need to take onother look.

Faz and Charlie having poor games REALLY hurt and possibly cost us the game.

Having 2 forward targets contributing nothing makes it almost impossible to win.
Our midfield would do good work getting the ball in their direction and pretty much every single time it would result in a turnover and Richmond rebound...meaning our mids then had to run back hard defensively straight away.

If they did their jobs and actually kept the ball moving in our direction, took a few marks, kick a few goals etc it would have been a different game.

I'm a Richmond supporter and I reckon Dows a jet as a neutral. Only second year....

There's a few opposition supporters who rate some of our players more than a few of our own supporters. It's quite a weird thing for me. Have to recognise what you have before you lose it I think.