Votes: 137 56.8%
  • Jack Graham

Votes: 93 38.6%
  • Nathan Broad

Votes: 6 2.5%

Dunno Rod, Pies haven't played yet. Let's not put the cart before the horse.

Was just saying this to my best mate. On the strength of the Pies last three games last year, we're in strife - but not if they come out and play like garbage tonight.
Have to be on your A-grade game every week in this comp.

Our premiership was 18 months ago ……. seems a stretch still basing things on that.
I'm with Rodney Dangerfield, the signs were there late in the season. The final v Collingwood was not an aberration, there were warning signs late in the season in wins against Geelong, Essendon and the Bulldogs that we were not as dominant as once thought!
We had Geelong and Essendon beat, took the foot off the pedal and they came back into it. The Bulldogs game is the only one when we should've lost.

Was just saying this to my best mate. On the strength of the Pies last three games last year, we're in strife - but not if they come out and play like garbage tonight.
Have to be on your A-grade game every week in this comp.

If we are going by last year, we should be very confident. There are no form lines and JLT means jack shizer. I'll give you a stat, Carlton scored less against us this year in R1 than last year when they had a worse list. Let's just play it by ear and see what happens.

Reckon Garthwaite will need another run in the VFL. Balta is probably best player for Cox. Played back for much of last year, is tall and springy enough to spoil him and would run off him as soon as the ball hit the ground. But who plays second ruck. Do we bring in Chol against Grundy. Does Balta come in to ruck when Cox does. Interesting at selection table.
How did Markov play in the VFL. Reckon his pace would be handy.

Love it how snags has already taken out goal of the year this year. Must feel good doing 2 in a row so early on in his second season. What a legend

that was a ridiculous goal haha he has a knack for it

Our premiership was 18 months ago ……. seems a stretch still basing things on that.
I'm with Rodney Dangerfield, the signs were there late in the season. The final v Collingwood was not an aberration, there were warning signs late in the season in wins against Geelong, Essendon and the Bulldogs that we were not as dominant as once thought!
My point is that midfield depth wasn’t an issue in 2017, so why is it now, when you could argue we have strengthened it?

Geelong kicked three late goals against us and the scoreline flattered them. Against the Bulldogs and Essendon we had top spot sewn up and had absolutely nothing to play for and IIRC Essendon could’ve made finals had they beaten us. In that game we were missing Prestia, Lambert, Cotchin, Butler and Astbury and we still won. Essendon kicked the last four goals of the match after we had well and truly put the cue in the rack. Surely our performance against Hawthorn in the final suggests we were going half arsed in those final fixtures given that we turned it on that game and blitzed them.

Do you honestly think Collingwood are a 40 point better side than us? We beat them twice last year and had the more dominant home and away season. They were white hot that night and we were clearly carrying players that weren’t fit. Lambert had surgery three weeks prior, Dion’s hamstring was playing up, Dusty had a corked thigh, Astbury was hospitalised because of gastro, Graham’s shoulder was crook, Cotchin had hamstring soreness, etc.

Someone might have mentioned it before but has Moore played down back in the VFL at all? Fantastic athleticism, quick as lightning. Could he play a role down back for us?

My point is that midfield depth wasn’t an issue in 2017, so why is it now, when you could argue we have strengthened it?

Geelong kicked three late goals against us and the scoreline flattered them. Against the Bulldogs and Essendon we had top spot sewn up and had absolutely nothing to play for and IIRC Essendon could’ve made finals had they beaten us. In that game we were missing Prestia, Lambert, Cotchin, Butler and Astbury and we still won. Essendon kicked the last four goals of the match after we had well and truly put the cue in the rack. Surely our performance against Hawthorn in the final suggests we were going half arsed in those final fixtures given that we turned it on that game and blitzed them.

Do you honestly think Collingwood are a 40 point better side than us? We beat them twice last year and had the more dominant home and away season. They were white hot that night and we were clearly carrying players that weren’t fit. Lambert had surgery three weeks prior, Dion’s hamstring was playing up, Dusty had a corked thigh, Astbury was hospitalised because of gastro, Graham’s shoulder was crook, Cotchin had hamstring soreness, etc.

In a few words … because OTHER teams have strengthened their midfields.
I never cease to be amazed how every time a team gets close to us, it's us taking our foot off the pedal or some excuse, like we are entitles to or are a given to win by 40 points every week. And we never dare mention the losses or analyse them- all aberrations - all of them. I don't give a **** who we were carrying with injury, once you cross the line you are fit to play, you don't get to whinge afterwards. If so many players were fit well the club ****** up and you should be disappointed in the match committee.
Do I think Collingwood are 40 points better than us - no - but there is a case to be made they are better than us. They played in a grand final (were 60 seconds away from winning it) and they beat us when it counted and have improved their team.
The signs were there late last year, but you don't want to acknowledge it and can't conceive any team is in our league.
There were some poor signs again last night. Face it, Carlton were mocked all week on here and wouldn't get within 15 goals of us posters said. Well????

I've read a few opinions on replacing Rance for the year and I like a lot of them.
Garth is the obvious one, but given he's coming off injury, I'd wait until he's had a bit of VFL match fitness rather than rushing him in.
I'm not sure where Miller is up to? More of an Astbury stopping type than a Rance anyway and not really what we need?
Chol has probably looked better back than he has as a forward but is he reliable enough to get a shot ?
And Balta has always reminded me more of Rance than any other player but I think it's more important for the long term that he develops in his current forward/ruck role rather than getting thrown back.

Personally I like the idea of Grimes, Broad or Vlastuin playing taller, K-Mac offering defensive support & Ellis, Bolton, Menadue, Markov, Naish or someone being added to the team. Astbury can take Cox next week, what other tall spuds really need minding?
Then rethink for any teams with 3 genuine tall forwards and choose the most inform tall backman to add for that game.

I reckon Miller's a way off yet. And yep, more in the dour mold than the attacking mold.

I quite like Chol as a fullback. Massive leap and long arms. He gets to a lot of contests. Doesn't pull the ball down that often. If his going for the spoil, then that's different. Bit like Liam Jones, IMO.

But for mine, Garthy is the pick. Just a question of match fitness.

On the Pies, Mihocek is 192cm and underrated. De Goey 191cm. Hoskin-Elliott 186. Stephenson 189cm. Elliot has that leap. Don't believe the Collingwood "small forward line" BS. They're all quick. Astbury and 5 x Grimes would be the ideal backline match up.