Preview Round 2, 2019: Hawthorn v Western Bulldogs, 31 March 3:20pm AEDT @ MCG

• Thread starter Thread starter Gralin

Agreed. Nash has amazing pressure which is what we need, however poppy has this also.

In Chad, Out Nash

Nash will have many more opportunities though.

Scully will not play for at least another 3 matches. Expect him to be cherry ripe for the cats.

KOLOKOTRONIS

Sure about that ?

From the sounds of it his skills are there at training, sure he will be a bit rusty but if he's fit enough they might just slot him straight in.

I expect he is fit enough as it is Scully we are talking about
12 months since his last competitive game, imo there is a snowball's chance in hell that he comes straight into the senior side

You can watch Clarko's interview last night on here

Nice little snippet of him and Kennedy at the jumper presentation before the game as well

15 minutes in he comments on Wingard and Scully, doesn't rule out either of them coming straight into the senior side

Nice little snippet of him and Kennedy at the jumper presentation before the game as well

15 minutes in he comments on Wingard and Scully, doesn't rule out either of them coming straight into the senior side

At any point does Carey suggest that Clarko couldn't successfully coach at any other club except Hawthorn? I'm always riveted to his insightful analysis of the game of AFL. :think:

It depends on your point of view. It could have run into three other previously superstitious people as well. So it ain't all bad.

The rabbit would have to be hopping mad or it use to be, sadly

Thanks Gralin. There aren't many people that I can listen to in Footy Media these days, but I could listen to Clarko for hours on end. I hate that show with Watson, Carey & Luke Darcy, but Clarko even made them seem somewhat 'normal' during that interview. I guess he is of similar vintage to me, so I find myself agreeing with a lot of his views on the way the AFL are trying change things up too.

Loved the 'I can't even pronounce his name properly, so I just call him CJ' bit. He is such an asset to our footy club. Will be extremely hard to replace!

Clarko on CJ, "Hes a little ripper". Did lol at Clarko calling him little.

If fit Scully and wingard play afl - can’t see them ever heading down to box hill.

A bit of competition for spots is only healthy - but reckon will be conservative and give them another week.

Think if we shut down the bont and macrae we win - and we should be able to limit both. Hawks appear a lot quicker this year so doggies pace doesn’t concern me. Our backline should be too good for their forwards and we still have enough talent up forward.

Only concern is a let down after a big and hard fought win last week. Could be a few sore bodies and hope the youngsters haven’t got ahead of themselves.

The good thing about Cousins game on the weekend is he put up career high numbers in disposals, marks, tackles and goals from about 80% of game-time. He might just be the player who keeps Howe out of the best 22.

His smother, then Nash pick-up and quick hands for Cuzzies 2nd goal was super...

I loved that even though he's getting on he still has his classic orator's voice!

Rd2 odd milestone: Burgoyne brothers (Peter 240 games, Shaun 359), become 2nd PAIR brothers in VFL/AFL history to 600 games. Best Pairs: 710 - Madden 599 - Burgoyne 578 - Nankervis 555 - Cornes 552 - McVeigh 533 - Coventry 520 - Shaw 518 - Richardson 513 - Wakelin 499 - Rocca
Won't be a surprise to see the Rioli name in there eventually

Jeez if Scully gets named to play this week i may fly over to Melbourne for a day trip to watch the game, am so so so pumped to see him run out in the Brown and Gold!

I heard second hand that Wingard WILL play this week and Scully will debut vs North Melbourne.

I was told that the preference is to throw Scully in the AFL straight away. Reason being that if he's going to break down again (they don't think he will) they want it to occure in the AFL not VFL.

Grain of salt needed of course

I wish people would stop resoundingly stating Scully and Wingard won't play til 'x' round - present the information available and stop guessing.