Autopsy Round 2, 2019: Essendon v St.Kilda

• Thread starter Thread starter George

I have to admit, for a moment there when Shiel was crying about his 'handball' that got called holding the ball, and just the general look on his face of "what the hell have I done?" - I actually felt sorry for him.

Then I thought about it and just said to myself "you reap what you sow Dylan... GO THE ****ING SAINTS"

We need three of him, luckily Predator can stalk the forward line for him and leave Gresh to the midfield. Still managed to come in with a goal in the most opportune time. The best thing is that we still haven't seen anything like Stuv's best yet. He's going to be getting better every week.
All the players I expected big things from this preseason are delivering too! The Jack attack is back and Jade has made a return to the middle like his junior years. Very satisfying to see Billings rack up 30 odd touches and hit 29 or so a week. Sinclair finally getting back to his 2017 form, Lonie back to his first year form. Everything's coming up Millhouse!

Blake Acres was quite rusty but the thing I like about him is his hands. He often marks the ball under pressure and can open the play up for us. Didn't have a great game but thought he made a difference - will definitely hold his spot. The moment where he went to ground in the marking contest last quarter was a forgettable one, but generally he had a good game.

Newnes I thought was really good at times but looked so PANICKY when we were under pressure. Would love him to iron that out of his game, just seems to rush decisions when the team are under pressure when he's a guy that we need to have a cool head. Gave away that dumb deliberate as well as a few other rushed kicks out of defence.

Savage I thought was enormous today. Demanded the football and was the steadier in defence. Fantastic game and seems fit as he's ever been, running back again and again to intercept.

Our forward entries in the first quarter, when we were dominating, were poor. We need to learn how to kill off a team that we are on top of, have a few set plays to kick easy goals.

Goat just seems to be like a cat, he falls and seems to trip back up onto his feet, he stuffs up and it comes off. He doesn't even know how GOAT he is yet.

Tough on newness, that kick was just a munted shank. They still don't like consistency the umps. One rushed behind is a free kick at goal and one is okay. Some deliberates are paid some not. They just flex the rules to suit themselves. It's like blaming someone when a pokies machine doesn't spit out a prize. The umpiring is just like an added chaos-ball like element in footy. They are just sitting there sniping the players with random acts of punishment.

Beating Essendon is so good.
Pair that with Melbourne getting thumped and it's been a great weekend.

Yeah, my Melbourne mates were intolerable last season. I was together with Hawks, Melbourne and Tigers supporters at a barbecue and the smart arse campaigners were winding my up about how shit the Saints were. They were all talking finals and saying how I mustn't have seen the Saints play a final in my life time and shit. ****ing Dees supporters are like someone come into money who shits on the poor.

Dees supporters are like someone come into money who shits on the poor.

The most perfect analogy I've ever read. Spot on.
And the worst thing is, half the time you don't even know they're Dee's supporters because they won't say a single thing about footy until the team looks good.

Says it all.

I love that our club is getting a legend like Nicky involved with mentoring Parker.

Not only does it mean a lot seeing Nicky so happy back at our club, but it is a great experience for young Parker getting to benefit from Nicky’s wisdom as both of them share being from WA and being indigenous.

Parker is a great story all round so far and I love that Nicky is involved as well as I struggle to think of a more universally loved figure than Nicky is with us Saints fans.

I hope it gives Nicky as much as it does Parker as Nicky has had some health and personal struggles since he retired and it would be great if plugging back into our club can be good for him.

We owe Nicky a lot as a club, he’s a club legend and it’s so good seeing him happy back home at the Saints.

What’s it like there to watch a game ?
Decent screens? Good sound ? Cheap beer?
It's a great set up 70's.....huge screen at the end of the room and TV's everywhere......heaps of tables and chairs…..cheap beer.....and a great sound system.

Absolutely thrilled to have won that game. Had to head to golf at three quarter time. Saw we won on my phone just as we teed off. And home again and just watched the last quarter. Tremendous result for us. Lots of improvement. Think we should have been 5 or 6 goals in front at quarter time. We just lacked that bit of confidence and belief early on. But that game will do wonders. Going to crack a nice bottle soon and watch it all again.

I know it is early in the season but I hope that settles down our supporters who have been restless. I am saying that as nicely as possible. Good on Richo. Am glad for him. Belief will hopefully now grow. Go Saints!!!

Just watched the second half.

Very impressed with our defence, disappointing was the kicking at goal, really should have been a five goal win.

But... when they got back to 8 down, we shut them down.

Would not have happened last year.

Some highlights

Bruces mark

Lonies tackle

Parker's crunch

Gearys third qtr defensive mark

Anybody want Parish over Gresh nowdays?

Again.... just wow

How good is it to be upbeat about our boys again.

Marshall just plays. Full stop. He is this good with 15 odd games, goodness knows what he might become

My boy lonie- brilliant. He's put the BS ducking and diving away and is now showing the player he can be

Savage really good today. He hit the contest really hard

So many more to mention. I cant fit them all in

But the big thing for me.... Parker the maniac gets to play in front of his friends and family at home in WA next week. That's gonna be a beautiful moment for everyone except the Freo guys whose ribs he breaks.

GO YOU FECKIN SAINTERS!!!!!!!!!!!

It's good we won , however more importantly we have had some games to sort out our structures and game plan.
Hopefully we continue improvement , we can't kick 16 points in our next game.

I expect no selection changes next week unless we have to change due to match up's.

Fremantle are running with 4 bigs in there forward line Taberner(1.99m) , McCarthy (1.93m), Lobb (2.07m) and Hogan (1.95m) with Darcy (2.01m) in the ruck.
So we will most probably run with another tall back , but I suppose we will see tomorrow when they play the Suns.

They do have a very good side , so we will have to really be on our game.
Hope the Suns punish them.

A quick shout out to Jack Steele, for putting Stringer down hard and giving away a 50 when it was appropriate to do so.
And Parker, for nailing McGrath on a hospital pass that he'll never forget.
Hardness is FINALLY back. We've needed more kent for some time..

Yeah Bruce got stuck into Ambrose for that hit on Billings where he ran past the ball. Also got stuck into the Essendon boys who were mauling Lonie after a Saints goal.

Good to see the boys standing up for each other.