Autopsy Round 2, 2019: Essendon v St.Kilda

• Thread starter Thread starter George

I tipped the Saints win, but it happened very differently than I imagined. I thought Essendon would come flying out of the traps, after their first game mauling, but, in fact, they were dreadful first quarter and little better in the second. The game shouldn't have been so nervy in the fourth; the kicking accuracy wasn't good enough and Saints should have been out of sight.

2-0 is a great start.

Whilst 1 week is a long time in footy, no way Essendon was winning this match short of a repeat of 97 where 2 blokes grabbed the GF and said "follow me". Given the first half where 2 blokes trudge off and forget to play footy, then one goes through the wrong interchange entiely, 4 of them just stand there with thumbs up their arses watching a player run straight to the goal line and slot it; Essendon were and are playing insipid footy.

Like the GC game last week, we are actually playing like a team instead of say Rooey carrying us, where we can depending on things, flow and grow, this match Essendon had what, Stringer and 4 blokes who between than had 2 touches at half time? (exaggeration). What I was watching was Essendon reverting to kind, they did not show up to play at all, we didn't put the boot in as we should have been about 7 goals up at 1/4 time, and so since they were playing us, and since there's belief that grows with us being unable to do something, they gained some confidence.

Problem being, bogan with a bung ankle is not something to pin hopes on, and since they're a shit club playing shitly, they got within 2 kicks and lost by 3.

Of interest for me is if this demoralises them further and Melbourne trounce them, or if they build on the budding hope that they're not shit and they'll have about a 2 goals win next week.

The love for Parker we all undoubtedly have grows by the week.

In this weeks installment he made us love him even more by:

1. Scoring a goal and giving it to the injector fans behind the goal
2. Having the opportunity to hurt someone from the opposition and taking it in an aggressive but controlled way

He makes everyone from his teammates to supporters walk taller with his attitude. He never takes a backward step and is aggressive all the time. It's infectious stuff and he's an inspiration.
His son in the victory song nearly made me cry. I luv the guy.

Edit: now I find out it was Sav's boy. That in a way is even better. There seems to be a real sense of family building between the players.

He didn't seem to be on anyone. He was standing still a lot and a few times just pulled up instead of chasing. This week he was much better but against GC he was pretty crap.
The thing is we have a lot of scope for improvement , it's just good we are able to get some wins while still developing our game plan.

Acre's is the one for me , the guy could develop to be anything this year - he hit's his straps and teams are going to suffer.
Just having a forward line with genuine dangerous forwards is just great to watch.

I see a lot of people feel McKenzie isn't up to it , to me he is a integral part of the back line - the guy is aggressive and is a guy who can put eminence pressure on. The guy made mistakes , but he will also take the game on which we need.
Having only played 36 games if they give him the confidence of not being dropped every couple weeks , he has the ability to be a outstanding player.

We know during the year we will get injuries at this time bring in the guy's that are in form.
Of course the selectors will be watching everyone so if they feel someone should be dropped , I will support with what every they decide

Some great reviews in here. It's always great to beat Essendon. If I can take off my Saint's hat for just a second; I thought the 1 v 1 battle between Bruce and Hurley was fantastic. IMO the game is so much better when we can see these type of match ups.
Re: Deliberate OOB
How in the hell Newnes and Kent could be penalised defies logic. One was a toe poke trying to maintain possession and the other was a slam it on your boot quickly to get it forward. I would hate to see a Grand Final decided by one of these type of decisions.
I'm already looking forward to next week and I am also enjoying watching the replays of our games. Stark contrast from last year!

1554003376084.png
Disposal: Clark 23, Langlands 20, Austin 19. Goals: Young 2, Tahana, Pierce and Long.

Heard someone say Hunter was best on ground - to me going by the scores and possessions Austin must have been very good , when a mid only gets 4 more touches than backman in bad conditions.

I see Langlands might be showing something - would love to get a report from someone that was there.

A St.Kilda "supporter"

- First he posts on the Essendon board during the week -

Then he comes to our board...

On the other end is an Essendon supporter post-match;

(Barry Hall as coach and recruiting players who would 'die' for the football club among other things :tearsofjoy::tearsofjoy:)

It's all in a days work for BigFooty!
C'mon now, he's rusted on to Lincoln St, he said. [emoji23]

I couldn't relax until the siren.
Memories of Ryder to Gray haven't faded yet.

Same....only when the siren went could I fully relax.....logic was telling me that the Bombers couldn't/wouldn't kick enough goals to win(but you tell my emotions that).....but this at times isn't a logical game.

Yes....that night in Adelaide still haunts me.

Bombers autopsy thread is interesting. Not just the bagging of the game, but what they thought of a couple of our lesssrr known players - Marshall,
Quite honestly, each time I read some of their praise for our lesser-known players, I had to check the username. I thought one of us had gone over there to have a dig.

Definitely Savages boy , Parker's kid is younger.

I think Dmac played on Tippa , although its hard working it out watching it on tv . Maybe Gears was on Fantasia , not really sure.
Thanks BT. Hard to know there when you’re just ball watching ... and shaking with nerves! Tip had absolutely no influence, good role by whoever that was.

Im watching the game now & what is noticeable is our structure & displine for the defence (across the whole field) to keep its shape has drastically improved. Pretty much shutting Essendon down when they try & counter. Playfair might now be getting the support from other line coaches & the players?

WTF has Bro been banned for? I demand a re-trial. If he was baiting Essendon fans, that's a noble cause and shouldn't attract a full day.

So, I couldn't watch it live, and instead used Kayo (awesome service) to watch it that night, without knowing the result. Then as I said, spent my time indulging on the Essendon board's autopsy. I've only just really caught up here.

I'd said before the game that it'd just be a great game to watch, and it really was. I'll admit that I was doubtful after last week. But having heard you guys, I dared to begin to dream we could win this one, like the faint glow of tinder being breathed to life. It was great to see that it came true.

Oh, and didn't we all love that, after the game, sure enough, there was Dermott on Fox making it all about the Dons and how disappointing they are? Barely a whisper of acknowledging that we're making all of the pundits look like fools.

I absolutely love Matty Parker, and everything he brings to the team. Great story, great passion, absolutely raw but undeniable talent, and it's clear that he lifts everyone around him. He also seems to have the ability to step up in big moments, and when he does he brings everyone up with him. Also love the relationship that he and Winmar seem to be developing, must be great for both of them. Hope he plays 200 games for the club and becomes more than just a cult hero, because you can see how in his eyes and in his ferocity how much it means to him.

Would it be wrong to demote Dunstan from number 7?

Time for a small gripe, even though I’m very happy with the effort & the win, we need to be smarter. With 1.22 left in the 2nd quarter, Savage has a kick from a mark about 80m from goal.... WE NEED TO HONOUR THE LEADING FORWARDS, NOT JUST DUMP IT TO THE TOP OF THE SQUARE. This was such a waste! Look at the space Acres was leading in to. FMD, there’s a hole about 30m in diameter in front of him. Be smarter. Would have been another goal.

Tidy up the inside 50s. Be smarter, honour leads
View attachment 645278

Looks like 4 Bombers are clearing space to direct it there and cut it off to me. Sit a high ball in there and one blocks, one runs in a takes the mark.

Dropping kent is laughable

Kent 1.3
Lonie 0.0
Parker 1.0

Yeah lets drop kent.

Battle isnt a backman
Lonie isn't really playing as a small forward though. He's up the ground setting up like a forward flanker but playing more like wingman. Parkers pressure game makes scoring less relevant.

Just wanted to share this from our game review. Hope you guys enjoy.

There was a moment that kind of made me sick in the third quarter, when Dyson Heppell took a handball from Mark Baguley and snapped a goal.

“A captain’s goal!” barked one of the commentators. Yeah, it was a nice snap – I’ll give you that.

Then in the fourth quarter, Heppell took a nice mark running with the flight of the ball inside forward 50. Again the commentators waxed lyrical about leadership and how the players should follow Heppell as he was setting the example. He went on to miss the goal badly, but that’s not the point.

The point I want to make is that during the third term, there was another instance where leadership was on display. You had the two captains in a one-on-one duel running inside the Bomber forward 50. Jarryn Geary v Dyson Heppell. The ball coming in was a true chaos ball, floating through the air to the advantage of nobody.
But Geary made that ball his.

With the game tightening up, and the pressure increasing, Geary took a great one-grab contested mark with the Essendon captain as his direct opponent. The unsung St Kilda captain beat the lauded Essendon captain hands down, but where were the gushing praises from Brad Johnson and Paul Roos? Where were the plaudits for the effort of Geary in demonstrating guts, timing and leadership? Where were the endorsements of his captaincy?

Jarryn Geary is the most unheralded captain in the AFL, to the point I reckon that the commentators didn’t even realise how big a moment that was. That was the St Kilda captain standing up when his time came. That was someone who leads by example doing what earns him the respect of his players.

That, my friends, was leadership.

Anyway, link to the entire game review is in my sig. Nice win, and 2-0... must feel nice after the negativity. Cheers

On SM-G930F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Great post, thanks.

Unfortunately Geary is often potted by his own supporters too, so it’s no real surprise that he is often underrrated by outsiders and commentators.
He’s obviously not by the players he plays with though.

I was at the game so saw some of the very good things he did, but watching at home today on replay I saw some seriously excellent efforts.
Sure his kicking can be a bit iffy occasionally ( name me one player who never makes mistakes) but his heart, effort and commitment to the cause cannot be questioned. He’s tough as nails.

Roo was a bloody big act to follow, but he seems to be really growing into the role.