Commentators don't like the booing of essendon at 1/4 time. Thoughts?

• Thread starter Thread starter mick500

Francis kicking the ball into Hurley's back from a couple of metres away was almost as embarrassing, you can see it at around 1.10 in this video.

Essendon were just lucky that we made almost as many mistakes as them in that first quarter and couldn't take advantage of it on the scoreboard.

There was a 5 minute period in the second quarter from essendon that was three stooges like comedy gold.
The interchange fiasco , kicking the ball into a teammate’s back , Hurley’s free kick tantrum , Stringer’s cameo around CHB , all just so so funny whilst Worsfold delivers an A grade stunned mullet performance in the meantime ...

It seems the commentators take issue with a club (any club) being paid millions of dollars, by us "plebs" to get the "privilege" of watching these players and using our voices to show our displeasure at the effort they put on, and listening to these commentatoes complain about booing, but not mention the disgraceful comments Eddie made about the disabled woman, the fact she was disabled made the comment much worse, but it was still a DH comment to make, but that's OK and doesn't rate a mention? It just shows the hypocrisy and how much better than the average punter they think they are. These blokes need a reality check.

Like the 47 yr old harmless crows supporter last year that got investigated for staying seated and muttering to hardwick "not so easy to win over here is it" and hardwick got in his face and the commentators were calling the fan a numpty and throw away his membership before they even knew what he said.

Thoughts?

FTR I think fans pay the money to go watch and they can boo a shit effort if they want. They are the ones who have wasted their afternoon and money on watching what they consider to be an unacceptable effort. If there's that many of them booing, maybe they aren't wrong.

90% of the commentators are ex footballers and trash as commentators on a million bucks a year and should consider themselves lucky to have a job at all.
I don't like the commentators, but for the life of me I will never understand the sense of entitlement some fat slob gets when they boo their own players.

Huge generalisation there when 40,000 or so people are booing. They can't all be fat slobs. It's not a "sense" of entitlement. They paid their money and spent their valuable time and effort to go support a team making an effort. They didn't see that. They booed. That's not a sense of entitlement. They are entitled to boo.

entitlement noun the fact of having a right to something. "full entitlement to fees and maintenance should be offered" synonyms:right, prerogative.

If the AFL want to ban booing, by all means do it. Until then the commentators should STFU. But the afl won't do it, because no one would turn up in protest.

Jono Brown was right, Essendon have a leadership problem, when your captain looks like a Worzel Gummidge stunt double you have problems.

Apparently there was a lot of arguing between Essendon players out on the field, a good captain would stamp that out but Worzel doesn't have the authority.
Bahahaha...Worzel, that’s gold!!

Huge generalisation there when 40,000 or so people are booing. They can't all be fat slobs. It's not a "sense" of entitlement. They paid their money and spent their valuable time and effort to go support a team making an effort. They didn't see that. They booed. That's not a sense of entitlement. They are entitled to boo.

entitlement noun the fact of having a right to something. "full entitlement to fees and maintenance should be offered" synonyms:right, prerogative.

If the AFL want to ban booing, by all means do it. Until then the commentators should STFU. But the afl won't do it, because no one would turn up in protest.
Yep, like petulant children. They think that because they pay a couple of hundred bucks a year it replaces thousands of hours of hard work, discipline and putting your body on the line. And when things don't go their way, they become abusive. So childish.

Whether you physically are a fat slob or not, if you think that slapping a few bucks down on a counter gives you the right to take out your frustrations on total strangers trying to do their best, then you do deserve the title.

Man, I wouldn't even do it to an opposition player let alone my own teams players.

Yep, like petulant children. They think that because they pay a couple of hundred bucks a year it replaces thousands of hours of hard work, discipline and putting your body on the line. And when things don't go their way, they become abusive. So childish.

Whether you physically are a fat slob or not, if you think that slapping a few bucks down on a counter gives you the right to take out your frustrations on total strangers trying to do their best, then you do deserve the title.

Man, I wouldn't even do it to an opposition player let alone my own teams players.
Sounds like you're arguing that players are entitled to a certain reaction from the crowd.

Nope. I am saying they are entitled to respect.

Seriously what sort of fairweather friend boos their own team when the chips are down? Like, shaming them is going to magically fix what are clearly bigger issues than any one individual? Why don't you just tar and feather them, put them in the town square and then throw eggs at them while they parade around?

In truth, such booing is an embarrassment to the club and nothing more. I would think many other paid supporters wouldn't want to be associated with it.

I have never understood the AFL media’s opposition to people booing. But by booing I mean this type. Not the Goodes stuff.

Noisy crowds and their reactions are part of the game’s identity. Can you imagine how dull games would be if everyone just clapped and there wasn’t stuff like this happening at times?

And seriously. It’s a ****ing sound. They’re getting paid big coin. I’m sure they’re all big boys who can handle it. If you were playing as shit as Essendon were yesterday you’d probably agree with it as a player. Unless they’re completely delusional and actually thought they were playing well. They had two players running off the ground while the ball was there. Comical scenes.

AFL players have it far easier than other sports when it comes to crowd reactions. Seen much harsher stuff in soccer, NBA etc.

I still can’t get over how Eagles fans were torn to shreds by the media for their booing of Jobe Watson a few years ago.

Oh the commentators don't approve now? Well I also don't approve woman glassing, teammate wife cheating, peptide doping campaigners to commentate our great game. So how about that?
Yeah isn’t the moral compass of ex footy players just hilarious?

More than happy to bag fans for nothing incidents like this. Yet always going out of their way to embrace ex players who have glassed women, stolen friends wives and so on.

It seems the commentators take issue with a club (any club) being paid millions of dollars, by us "plebs" to get the "privilege" of watching these players and using our voices to show our displeasure at the effort they put on, and listening to these commentatoes complain about booing, but not mention the disgraceful comments Eddie made about the disabled woman, the fact she was disabled made the comment much worse, but it was still a DH comment to make, but that's OK and doesn't rate a mention? It just shows the hypocrisy and how much better than the average punter they think they are. These blokes need a reality check.

Like the 47 yr old harmless crows supporter last year that got investigated for staying seated and muttering to hardwick "not so easy to win over here is it" and hardwick got in his face and the commentators were calling the fan a numpty and throw away his membership before they even knew what he said.

Thoughts?

FTR I think fans pay the money to go watch and they can boo a shit effort if they want. They are the ones who have wasted their afternoon and money on watching what they consider to be an unacceptable effort. If there's that many of them booing, maybe they aren't wrong.

90% of the commentators are ex footballers and trash as commentators on a million bucks a year and should consider themselves lucky to have a job at all.

You’ve waited a long time to premise something with Hardwick in it, but i digress. Commentators should actually just focus on being able to call a game objectively and correctly without trying to invent shit (yes Derwayne Russell, i’m looking at you from the paint with my Elvis hips shaking and baking) or orgasiming over certain favourites.
And there’s too many past players in the box.
And yes, there’s nothing wrong with booing. It’s not racist, or derogatory. It’s a clean, non offensive way of registering of complaint or putting a view accross.

Sent from my iPad using righteous Bhodi manpower

Not everyone is a precious petal like you.

The players get paid hundreds of thousands of dollars a year because people pay to watch them. I don't think they'd be complaining when they kick the winning goal and they have 40k people cheering their name. Maybe we should play in empty stadiums if we don't want any feelings to get hurt.

Their arrogance and disdain for the general public was on full display just then after the north Brisbane match . Fans on the oval as they are allowed to be and dermott says about Brown "well we are getting a few people hovering around us now and if they want to see what a coat hanger looks like, just walk past this bloke" and kelli underwood tried to be a normal human being and said well we might get moving cos there's a few circling around to grab your autographs I think to which dermott brereton replied "Ahhhh... Not to be."

Absolute flogs.

Not everyone is a precious petal like you.

The players get paid hundreds of thousands of dollars a year because people pay to watch them. I don't think they'd be complaining when they kick the winning goal and they have 40k people cheering their name. Maybe we should play in empty stadiums if we don't want any feelings to get hurt.
Not sure you can read. Clearly the booing fans are the precious ones, I don't have a cry and a whinge when players don't perform.

Guessing you do, snowflake?

You’ve waited a long time to premise something with Hardwick in it, but i digress.

Sorry mate, I can see how you would reach that conclusion but that's not it at all . It's the commentators and ex footballers disdain for the GENERAL PUBLIC I'm talking about. I remember that incident, not because it involved hardwick in anyway, but because it involved a supporter of my club and I watch their matches. I'm sure most clubs could come up with similar stories. That's my point, it's their disdain for the GENERAL PUBLIC. Not just essendon fans, not just the crows fans, not whoever that women who flicked the coin supported. The general public. We are ALL beneath them in their eyes.

Sorry mate, I can see how you would reach that conclusion but that's not it at all . It's the commentators and ex footballers disdain for the GENERAL PUBLIC I'm talking about. I remember that incident, not because it involved hardwick in anyway, but because it involved a supporter of my club and I watch their matches. I'm sure most clubs could come up with similar stories. That's my point, it's their disdain for the GENERAL PUBLIC. Not just essendon fans, n
Mate, players are going to play footy and fans will turn up whether you feel respected or not. Get over yourself.

Sorry mate, I can see how you would reach that conclusion but that's not it at all . It's the commentators and ex footballers disdain for the GENERAL PUBLIC I'm talking about. I remember that incident, not because it involved hardwick in anyway, but because it involved a supporter of my club and I watch their matches. I'm sure most clubs could come up with similar stories. That's my point, it's their disdain for the GENERAL PUBLIC. Not just essendon fans, n

The AFL is the biggest boys club in Australia. Look at them weaseling a way for Hird to return etc. They don’t GAF about you or I, only the $ they can wring out of us.
They actually think they can tell us what to think and do “at their product”.

Sent from my iPad using righteous Bhodi manpower

Not sure you can read. Clearly the booing fans are the precious ones, I don't have a cry and a whinge when players don't perform.

Guessing you do, snowflake?
Booing = crying and whinging.

Yeah those poor players with all their hard work that they only do because they get paid hundreds of thousands a year. Showing your frustration at a lacklustre performance that you're paying to view by booing them clearly means you're an ungrateful fat slob.