Non Lions Discussion 2019

There'll be a morbid fascination for many, me included, with this game next Friday night, particularly the loser.

I can't wait. The over-focus on essendon last week irritated me but I'm ready for it if they keep losing. May even watch 360 to see how morose Robbo is.

Goes to show how messed up the AFL media is that focusing on and discussing issues with losing teams is more important than recognising and discussing the fortunes of sides turning things around and doing good things i.e. Lions, Saints, Dogs, Port, Suns (this week).

I have no doubt the bigger stories this week will be about Essendon, Melbourne and now Richmond.

Goes to show how messed up the AFL media is that focusing on and discussing issues with losing teams is more important than recognising and discussing the fortunes of sides turning things around and doing good things i.e. Lions, Saints, Dogs, Port, Suns (this week).

I have no doubt the bigger stories this week will be about Essendon, Melbourne and now Richmond.

No doubt. Negativity sells - people are happy to pile on other teams and no one wants to spend a lot of time hearing about how good other teams are.

Case in point - I know I am going to enjoy a bit of the essendon pile on this week.

For me this pretty much sums up a lot of the issues i have with AFL broadcasting, and sports broadcasting in general in this country. After getting more and more into NFL in the last few years, the broadcasting standards make the comparison even more stark. The focus has shifted more and more away from the sport in australia for reasons unknown to me. From my interactions with people who watch footy (and cricket pre this years channel 7 broadcast which improved things dramatically) very few seem to enjoy this sort commentary and most just complain about it, but broadcasters seem to do nothing to change it.

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2019-04...ion-sports-commentary-cynthia-banham/10957316

To be fair, the woman who tossed the coin at the North v Lions game should also have copped a whack, which begs the question, why on earth are people invited to flip a coin, who for the most part, do a pretty average job.

For me this pretty much sums up a lot of the issues i have with AFL broadcasting, and sports broadcasting in general in this country. After getting more and more into NFL in the last few years, the broadcasting standards make the comparison even more stark. The focus has shifted more and more away from the sport in australia for reasons unknown to me. From my interactions with people who watch footy (and cricket pre this years channel 7 broadcast which improved things dramatically) very few seem to enjoy this sort commentary and most just complain about it, but broadcasters seem to do nothing to change it.

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2019-04...ion-sports-commentary-cynthia-banham/10957316

I was talking about this with my mate on Saturday night and expressed the same thoughts. Watching NFL and MLB sports shows and broadcasts is just an altogether different experience. There's certainly issues with the US broadcasting philosophy, but one thing is certain - they don't let muppets near the product as there is too much at stake. Everything is on point and they don't approach any topic blithely or make any offhand remark that could be misconstrued. The overall professionalism is significantly greater than anything we produce here.

Michael Christians explanation on his rulings from the weekend really actually clarified things for me to be honest.

It clarified that he is indeed the most incompetent peanut I have ever laid my eyes on. Watching him justify his decisions is infuriating.

To be fair, the woman who tossed the coin at the North v Lions game should also have copped a whack, which begs the question, why on earth are people invited to flip a coin, who for the most part, do a pretty average job.
Why does it matter?

Michael Christians explanation on his rulings from the weekend really actually clarified things for me to be honest.

It clarified that he is indeed the most incompetent peanut I have ever laid my eyes on. Watching him justify his decisions is infuriating.
I listened to the Cox situation and l am not so sure anymore. It was clearly intention as the ball wasn't anywhere near him. He basically gave a block but because he is so dam tall it looks like the top of his shoulder his his neck/chin area.

re the coin toss ... even if you *do* practice it because you know you are going to be doing it on the weekend ... it is a bit hard to practice what it feels like to do it in front of 50,000 people and with television cameras in your face and knowing that, right now, there are millions of people watching you ...is it any wonder that they sometimes fumble the toss?

If ever there's any noise about a poor coin toss - let's all recall Tim Paine's effort to open the second? third? test against India over the most recent summer - was a brave moment of gamesmanship lol :)

But yeah, I don't really care - it's a coin toss in a footy game ffs :D

Coin toss, it doesn't matter how it comes out of the hand, it's 50/50.

I reckon we need to do a Big Bash and adopt a 'Valley's and Flats' approach with a sherrin - will solve this pressing issue of wonky coin tosses ;)

Or take the angle of English County Cricket - just let the home side choose what end to kick to. The number of days when there's an X-goal breeze going one way that swings around during the match would be pretty small. I think the coin toss is completely over-rated and irrelevant. It's a PR exercise, and very little else.

Largely agree - my only issue with that one is I reckon that it would make Geelong's home ground advantage at Kardinia even greater in the first quarter given how strong the weather can be. Maybe the away team can pick?

But also, who cares!