Autopsy Round 2, 2019: Essendon v St.Kilda

• Thread starter Thread starter George

Except he wasn't terrible last week IMO.

Yeah, I'm ready to pot Dunny when ever I can, he's got terrible disposal for an AFL player but the way we are using him and his effort to get better are paying off. He's earning his keep at the moment. He's an awesome guy so hopefully he makes it to a regular spot and holds it for the year. I'd all but given up on him so it's good to see.

Now cooperrules don't take this literally, but Dunstan's disposal is ordinary, but like Dangerfield, can be an excellent inside mid even with that deficiency.

Helps we have mens bodies around him now as our potentials are getting to 23 and 24 y.o.
We need an inside pig. Until someone can replace him all we have is Armo. Clark will be eventually but not a like for like ATM.

None of Paton or Phillips can do that job and Hanners is injured.

Dunstan is undervalued by this forum.

Hahahaha that’s some of the funniest things I have seen this year .
I bet Lonie couldn’t believe it when they jogged off .

It's incredible footage...…….can't recall seeing that type of situation before.

Quite damning actually.

Total disarray. Woosha is losing his players. They need to turn it around or he's gone. IMO

Come on Melbourne. I'd love nothing better than for them to sack Woosha and reinstate Hird.

Can you post the original links for all your lovely gifs? I have an Essendon friend I want to razz.
Bruce screamer: https://giphy.com/gifs/1gdkPoCPl6VZj6wGm4

Bomber back pocket effective disposal: https://giphy.com/gifs/1Ajo4qPFAlSt5glQjH

Lonie tackle on Hurley, followed by Stuv's magic underground handball: https://giphy.com/gifs/1qWlovNSE1ThUOvP37

Bombers clocking out and heading home, angles 1 and 2: https://giphy.com/gifs/1kTLz2Js4UehciI0oI https://giphy.com/gifs/1RiiK3dEaaIwMgcOdc

Dunstan is our battering ram. There was a passage of play in the 3rd quarter where he put a block on Heppell for us to win the centre clearance, then when that clearance was turned over he followed up with a tackle on Heppell to win the ball back. He does need to get more of the ball but his body work is excellent and he helps us to get first use of the ball.
I agree with some his TOG is way too low and would love to know why. Ball use could be better and quicker to go when has free possesion, but he is a tough inside player and does a lot in the centre. Its not just when he gets a contested possesion, its also when he goes in hard and stops the oppo from getting a clearance and forcing a stoppage or loose ball a team mate can pickup. Steele i think is our only other tough inside player, so would be worried about leaving Dunstan out from the team. Would like Acres to develop his inside game as he's a good size for it but personally dont think its really his go. I thought Ross was originally an inside mid that developed his outside game in 2017, but last couple of years havent seen anything to suggest he can play that tough inside mid role

To be fair, it was a brilliant pick-up by Sincs at full speed (he was so clean all day!). The ball didn't seem to bounce up into his lap, he made it look better than it was.
Not wrong mate, that was a perfect collect at his bootlaces - he misses that and it's turn over city.

Any chance you can get the one when the Essendon guys Trott off leaving Lonie the time to pickup the ball and run off ? Never seen guys so keen to get off the ground before , one guy actually jogs right past the ball in an effort to get off lol .

Don’t Panic !!

It is a bad look but it was a free kick to Lonie so not as if he ran past a live ball but he should have been aware that there was no-one to man the mark. It's the restriction on runners not being allowed on the ground during general play so their focus was on the interchange while they were close rather than staying on and playing the game. Or Essendon are hopeless and this is just one of twenty dropped marks, missed handballs, missed tackles, kicking into a teammate 1m away or just running away from the ball that added to a very enjoyable day.

I agree with some his TOG is way too low and would love to know why. Ball use could be better and quicker to go when has free possesion, but he is a tough inside player and does a lot in the centre. Its not just when he gets a contested possesion, its also when he goes in hard and stops the oppo from getting a clearance and forcing a stoppage or loose ball a team mate can pickup. Steele i think is our only other tough inside player, so would be worried about leaving Dunstan out from the team. Would like Acres to develop his inside game as he's a good size for it but personally dont think its really his go. I thought Ross was originally an inside mid that developed his outside game in 2017, but last couple of years havent seen anything to suggest he can play that tough inside mid role

I think its very obvious why his game time is low and I reckon ive said it 20 times. He is a pure mid. Cant play elsewhere and if he plays in the midfield more than he does now then probably better players miss out. Its all about maths. He will continue with that game time baring an injury to another mid or learning to play elsewhere which isn't going to happen.

It's incredible footage...…….can't recall seeing that type of situation before.
That was right in front of me and I couldn’t work out what happened. I must have missed the whistle (and so couldn’t work out what D Mac was doing either). It was one of the strangest things that I’ve seen.

I’m sure it’s mentioned somewhere in the previous 29 pages but Parkers bump on Mcgrath was superb.

He’ll have a lot of defenders on edge this season, to have skill & flair with aggression is very rare.
Yep wait until he really gets a name. Opposition will start fretting and probably make mistakes just because of perceived pressure. He’s incredibly quick off the mark.

Come on Melbourne. I'd love nothing better than for them to sack Woosha and reinstate Hird.

Don't want either of them to win, personally.
I'm barracking for the draw.

Hmm the ones who were sinking the boots into Newnes last year have gone quite , it just shows he must have been carrying some injuries for most of the year that we didnt know about as he getting right back to his best of 2016.
Ps , Bruce is also going pretty good for a bloke that some wanted to trade
Go Saints
Newnes barely had a pre season. The question should Have been “why was he picked?”

Bruce was trade touted by some as a trade piece because of the number of talls we have. Fair to say it will be interesting to see where he is ranked at years end if he keeps it up