Preview Round 3, 2019: Fremantle v St.Kilda - Optus Stadium, Sunday 7th April, 3:20PM AWST

• Thread starter Thread starter George

Who Wins?

• Dockers

Votes: 31 32.6%
  • Saints

Votes: 64 67.4%

Thoughts on Billings efforts so far?
To me he’s done nothing wrong and hasn’t done a real lot but he’s looked good doing it.
I think his field kicking has been a touch off, but that won't last. He's proving he's got the engine needed to play in the midfield which is a massive thing for his career going forward. Now he's got the base to really become something special, if he wants it enough. I see a lot of higgins in billings..

Two-thirds backing Saints on the poll, so there's a lot of confidence going into this. Let's hope you guys are right and I'm wrong. If the game was in Melbourne I'd be tipping Saints, but Perth is "hard yakka". Should be good viewing anyway.

Gresham in the midfield...now this may be the biggest call of all time, but i remember quite a few years ago a little forward pocket player was told he barely had the tank to go into the midfield full time.

Well he became a
2× AFL premiership player: 2007, 2009
2× Brownlow Medal: 2009, 2013
5× Leigh Matthews Trophy: 2007, 2008, 2009, 2012, 2013
3× AFLCA Champion Player of the Year Award: 2007, 2008, 2009
8× All-Australian team: 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011 (c), 2012, 2013, 2014
2× Carji Greeves Medal: 2007, 2009
4× Gold Coast Suns Club Champion: 2011, 2012, 2013, 2017
Geelong leading goalkicker: 2006
2× Gold Coast leading goalkicker: 2012, 2013
2× Marcus Ashcroft Medal: 2012, 2014

could be anything the kid

There's no office space next to Centrelink.
KFC on one side, bingo hall the other. Backs onto first choice liquor.
I dunno if it was somewhere different 25 years ago tho. Thats 2 generations back.
It was very short lived due to a change in government policy, went to quality assurance and axed 1500 inspectors.

Centrelink looks very familiar but the closed address of fryers street for my mob is all wrong, we had about six of these places set up around the state. They weren’t much more than office space for the regional vet and a few others plus a truckload of equipment. This definitely started life just to the right of Centrelink/social security, may have even been subletting from them which was pretty common amongst commonwealth departments at that time. The more I look at it Maude street looks just too familiar even down to the verandas.

But hey a lot can change in that time and Centrelink offices have a very generic look.

Longer available this week. Interesting to see if he comes back in. Personally would love to see Marshall left there. He’s so good around the ground.

I think his field kicking has been a touch off, but that won't last. He's proving he's got the engine needed to play in the midfield which is a massive thing for his career going forward. Now he's got the base to really become something special, if he wants it enough. I see a lot of higgins in billings..

Higgins is my comparison too. Similar players in that they're not very quick and not very in-and-under but extremely skilled. Higgins is also exceptionally clever and creative, which is the next step for JB.

I think Billings has been really solid this year which is a fantastic start.

But I genuinely believe he can become a game-breaker. Right now, I trust him to be in our top 5-7 players each week but don’t think he can win us a match should we need him to. If he can build confidence and really start setting up games, I think he can live up to the pick 3 we used on him.

Longer available this week. Interesting to see if he comes back in. Personally would love to see Marshall left there. He’s so good around the ground.
Longer will play VFL apparently.

I'd expect Pierce to go to Perth as an emergency and Marshall to play again.

Billy is never going to get huge stats, but if it were me picking the side I wouldn't pick him until he shows he can at least take a few marks around the ground. He averaged one mark a game last year.

We did well in the ruck just not in the hit outs..

Longer never plays again is my guess

Longer isn't terrible, he's just not great.

Same can be said for hickey.

BTW it's far too early to say anything at all definitive about Roma.

For instance, Billy has at times played games as good as mashall did on the weekend- and he's (supposedly) no good.

Kosi looked better than roo after they'd each played a year. Etc etc.

Longer will play VFL apparently.

I'd expect Pierce to go to Perth as an emergency and Marshall to play again.

Billy is never going to get huge stats, but if it were me picking the side I wouldn't pick him until he shows he can at least take a few marks around the ground. He averaged one mark a game last year.

Its a shame he had the hamstring injury as apparently he was the fittest he had been in the pre-season. This has been his problem as he always looks buggered when he gets to marking contests.TBH in past I think he simply hasnt worked hard enough. In any event its forced Richo to play Marshall which is a blessing really.

Feels like a massive game.

If we can be 3-0 going into a game against an undermanned Hawthorn who knows what the season could bring.

If we show up with our previous standard of interstate tripe then we undo all of last week's good effort.

I'm just praying they don't start drinking the bathwater like they did after the Richmond game in 2017

Its a shame he had the hamstring injury as apparently he was the fittest he had been in the pre-season. This has been his problem as he always looks buggered when he gets to marking contests.TBH in past I think he simply hasnt worked hard enough. In any event its forced Richo to play Marshall which is a blessing really.
Dinny reporting Billy Longer returning through the VFL this week.

Feels like a massive game.

If we can be 3-0 going into a game against an undermanned Hawthorn who knows what the season could bring.

If we show up with our previous standard of interstate tripe then we undo all of last week's good effort.

I'm just praying they don't start drinking the bathwater like they did after the Richmond game in 2017

Beat a fragile Hawks as well and we have the same wins as the whole of last year. Momentum leads to momentum.

One week at a time Gringo

Go hard or go home. I reckon we are a chance in both. Good enough reason to bank the points IMO. Enjoy our time when you don't turn up expecting to lose.

But everyone else still expects us to. I like being the hunter.

I have watched Sandy the last two weeks and if Austin is picked they are kidding themselves.

Would have to play Joyce ahead of him, on last weeks form would only consider Clark as an in
Was he no good?, I read he had 19 touches… I'd love to see him back in the side, was a revelation last year IMO.

At 23 - 24 he really should be breaking into the side if he's any good.

I think you'll find the reef isn't so close to Brisbane either. Brisbane has.......ummmm.... Australia Zoo, within driving distance.
Sunshine Coast to the north, Gold Coast to the South, Great Dividing Range to the West. There’s a lot to criticise Brisbane for but it’s location isn’t one of them.
Interesting fact is that there was a reef in Moreton Bay (Brisbane) but Joh thought it a great idea to sand mine it. You can still pick up bits of dead coral there.