Google it. It’s divided up between all the Vic clubs, except for North, who have Tassie.
I know Essendon have the Tiwi Islands.
Yeah see that is absurd to me.

LIVE: Adelaide v Carlton - Rd 5 - 7:10PM Thu
Squiggle tips Crows at 82% chance -- What's your tip? -- Injury Lists » -- All Rd 5 Games
Soccer Notice Image
FA Cup Semi-Finals ⚽ 2026 FIFA Series A - Socceroos friendlies ⚽ Europa - Rd of 16 ⚽ The Matildas x 2026 Womens Asia Cup ⚽ Conference League - KNOCKOUTS! ⚽ Conference League - Rd of 16 ⚽ Socceroos Internat'l Friendlies ⚽ Champs League - League Phase ⚽
Google it. It’s divided up between all the Vic clubs, except for North, who have Tassie.
I know Essendon have the Tiwi Islands.
That's a double-edged sword though.They enjoy all the benefits of having a Vic-Centric competition like playing home 80% of the year.
That's a double-edged sword though.
When a Melbourne-based club plays another Melbourne-based club, the home ground advantage is negligible – they have similar experience on the ground, similar sort of crowds, and no real travel time. On a scale of 1-10 the home ground advantage is like a 2 (since home memberships are more likely to draw a crowd than away memberships and GA ticket sales). Much like playing a local derby, WCE vs Freo, Adelaide vs Port, etc. especially if you share your ground with your cross-town rival.
I won't even begin to comment on MelbourneFC hosting games in Darwin or Alice Springs, Port getting others to host games in China, or Hawthorn/North hosting games in Tasmania.
When a Melbourne-based club hosts an interstate team, they'll have played almost as many games on the same ground, are experienced travellers and have a contingent of travelling or Melbourne-based fans anyway. It's basically a home away from home for the interstaters. In this case maybe the home ground advantage is like a 6ish out of 10.
When Geelong hosts a Melbourne-based club in Geelong, there's a definitive home ground advantage as far as ground familiarity and parochial crowd attendance, though the travel experience is probably less bothersome than flying interstate (though a more unique experience). That's probably an 8 out of 10.
Geelong hosting an interstate team in Geelong is probably the most similar home-ground advantage to a Melbourne-based club playing away interstate. Then you have a 2-8 hour flight/airport time, a bit of time on a bus, a parochial crowd and an unfamiliar ground to contend with. That's probably a 10 out of 10 home ground advantage.
So yes, Melbourne clubs don't travel as often. We also don't necessarily travel *well* when we do travel, and don't have the advantage of playing 11 games against teams that don't know our home ground at all. I'm not saying it's equal, but ignoring it is disingenuous too.
You could argue the rating out of 10 if you want. I'm not going to bother though, you get the gist.
No doubting there's something in it, but that's a little simplistic. It's worth less than a win each year on average if you compare Port's and Essendon's averages at the stadiums we played at last year.I’ve got a simple way to prove it’s an advantage
If port could play 80% of games at home , and Essendon could play 50% games at home ....
Do port and dons make that deal?
Port jump at it, and dons laugh at it. 100%.
As I’ve said having a afl stuffed with Vic teams has its advantages for the Vic teams so I’m not sure why we have to give them a leg up when having so many Vic teams doesn’t work for them in another area ie academy zones.

Having just travelled to our game today I have to say I'm not so sure. The train was full of Bombers fans. Lots adults in red and black with the kids in orange and grey though. Project cuckoo seems to be working.That's a double-edged sword though.
When a Melbourne-based club plays another Melbourne-based club, the home ground advantage is negligible – they have similar experience on the ground, similar sort of crowds, and no real travel time. On a scale of 1-10 the home ground advantage is like a 2 (since home memberships are more likely to draw a crowd than away memberships and GA ticket sales). Much like playing a local derby, WCE vs Freo, Adelaide vs Port, etc. especially if you share your ground with your cross-town rival.
I won't even begin to comment on MelbourneFC hosting games in Darwin or Alice Springs, Port getting others to host games in China, or Hawthorn/North hosting games in Tasmania.
When a Melbourne-based club hosts an interstate team, they'll have played almost as many games on the same ground, are experienced travellers and have a contingent of travelling or Melbourne-based fans anyway. It's basically a home away from home for the interstaters. In this case maybe the home ground advantage is like a 6ish out of 10.
When Geelong hosts a Melbourne-based club in Geelong, there's a definitive home ground advantage as far as ground familiarity and parochial crowd attendance, though the travel experience is probably less bothersome than flying interstate (though a more unique experience). That's probably an 8 out of 10.
Geelong hosting an interstate team in Geelong is probably the most similar home-ground advantage to a Melbourne-based club playing away interstate. Then you have a 2-8 hour flight/airport time, a bit of time on a bus, a parochial crowd and an unfamiliar ground to contend with. That's probably a 10 out of 10 home ground advantage.
So yes, Melbourne clubs don't travel as often. We also don't necessarily travel *well* when we do travel, and don't have the advantage of playing 11 games against teams that don't know our home ground at all. I'm not saying it's equal, but ignoring it is disingenuous too.
You could argue the rating out of 10 if you want. I'm not going to bother though, you get the gist.
Lol. Essendon has one of the largest followings in the league, and GWS as an expansion club has one of the smallest. They're not an example of anything at all at this stage, there isn't a large enough sample size to support an argument either way.Having just travelled to our game today I have to say I'm not so sure. The train was full of Bombers fans. Lots adults in red and black with the kids in orange and grey though. Project cuckoo seems to be working.

Has anyone actually looked how the Vic clubs are running their NGA academies in terms of how they are getting kids from Immigrant communities playing footy?I haven't seen anyone talk about the governments plan to spread immigration to more regional areas, alot of these immigrants would be eligible for the NGA I'm unsure how this would affect the other states but In Victoria the Bulldogs tigers and hawks share the majority of the regional areas, so the question is will the academy review take this into account?
From a Jake Niall article last year, most Vic clubs have spent more time investigating the backgrounds of kids in the TAC cup system, rather than trying to identify young talent and nurturing it through an Academy.
I wonder how much contact and training good quality kids in Vic spend with their AFL club academy as opposed to training with their TAC cup team?
Well first of all I didn't state my position on that nor did you reply to what I said, I'm asking does the governments plan for immigration affect the review in anyway? And to follow up not every one in the NGA are an issac quaynor the majority of them do actually benefit from the programs such as Collingwoods other NGA recruit atu bosenavulagi who came from a rugby background right up until 2 years ago believe then joined our academy and got drafted theres no way you can say that's not a good thing, Sydney got issac Heeny at pick 18 the academy's help everyone, the one change I would recommend is that all indigenous kids should be eligible to be in an academy I'd just love to see more aboriginals footy players the interstate teams would split their states and the Victorians would probably have to change up the southern academy's and the northern territory zones so that each academy had a fair amount of indigenous population, other then that I'd keep it the same tbhHas anyone actually looked how the Vic clubs are running their NGA academies in terms of how they are getting kids from Immigrant communities playing footy?
From a Jake Niall article last year, most Vic clubs have spent more time investigating the backgrounds of kids in the TAC cup system, rather than trying to identify young talent and nurturing it through an Academy.
I wonder how much contact and training good quality kids in Vic spend with their AFL club academy as opposed to training with their TAC cup team?
Up north in our club academies, our kids are playing in our teams against the other northern academies, and now against the TAC cup teams, then they play in the new Div 2 academy series which includes TAS and NT. The best kids make the combined Allies team for the National Champs. After the National Champs, the better kids from each academy play in their NEAFL team.
What's the point of the NGA academies if the TAC cup system is already doing the same job? Other than to give the Vic clubs a free hit at a quality kids already in the system.
Yeah, my response wasn't really a reply to your original post.Well first of all I didn't state my position on that nor did you reply to what I said, I'm asking does the governments plan for immigration affect the review in anyway? And to follow up not every one in the NGA are an issac quaynor the majority of them do actually benefit from the programs such as Collingwoods other NGA recruit atu bosenavulagi who came from a rugby background right up until 2 years ago believe then joined our academy and got drafted theres no way you can say that's not a good thing, Sydney got issac Heeny at pick 18 the academy's help everyone, the one change I would recommend is that all indigenous kids should be eligible to be in an academy I'd just love to see more aboriginals footy players the interstate teams would split their states and the Victorians would probably have to change up the southern academy's and the northern territory zones so that each academy had a fair amount of indigenous population, other then that I'd keep it the same tbh
I did not know that Qld was already completely zoned, if that's true the Qld teams should probably get an academy in the NT like the vic clubs hopefully its discussed in the review.Yeah, my response wasn't really a reply to your original post.
It was more another rant that the NGA's are a rort to appease Eddy.
A lot of fans of Northern clubs, especially those of us who live up here and are converts to AFL and were born and bred with League view the NGA's as a rort and another leg up for the old VFL clubs.
In QLD the whole state is already split in to zones for the Suns and Lions, ever kid, whether they're indigenous, from a non english speaking background or immigrant community, or not, falls in to one of two academy zones. It's just that most don't play football.
Just speaking for our (the Lions) academy, we're basically pulling kids away from sports other than league or union. If it wasn't for our academy, Hipwood would be playing cricket. We have another kid on our list, in our reserves who came from an elite athletics back ground. And each year we have kids in our academy who have to choose between our academy and State level cricket. We almost got one elite junior, Kalyn Ponga, to choose AFL over League, but we couldn't offer the 19 year old $600k a year, which is what he got signing for Newcastle.
Their entire purpose is to protect the northern academies.What's the point of the NGA academies if the TAC cup system is already doing the same job? Other than to give the Vic clubs a free hit at a quality kids already in the system.
Has anyone actually looked how the Vic clubs are running their NGA academies in terms of how they are getting kids from Immigrant communities playing footy?
Up north in our club academies, our kids are playing in our teams against the other northern academies, and now against the TAC cup teams, then they play in the new Div 2 academy series which includes TAS and NT. The best kids make the combined Allies team for the National Champs. After the National Champs, the better kids from each academy play in their NEAFL team.
What's the point of the NGA academies if the TAC cup system is already doing the same job? Other than to give the Vic clubs a free hit at a quality kids already in the system.
100%agree .The whole thing should be wound back, and the AFL should manage these academies themselves. GWS/GC should get a few players as compensation for not getting FS, and all NSW/QLD clubs can gain a bit from the AFL giving their players '3rd party deals' for appearances/coaching.
The whole thing should be wound back, and the AFL should manage these academies themselves. GWS/GC should get a few players as compensation for not getting FS, and all NSW/QLD clubs can gain a bit from the AFL giving their players '3rd party deals' for appearances/coaching.
Do you really think AFL will change it.100% disagree.
Why change something that's working.
Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
If the AFL are running it then they are changing it.Do you really think AFL will change it.
Based on a BF post ?If the AFL are running it then they are changing it.
Isn't that the whole base of BF.Based on a BF post ?
You mean AFL make decision based on reading our post. Are you kidding me ?Isn't that the whole base of BF.
I don't.Is just a footy forum , you don't need to read every post too seriously .