Round 3 Discussion (dedicated to WaynesWorld19)

What a boring Friday night

Only Piggy Oliver and Gawn but most teams have them as well.

I like to think of it as 74% of people won't have fat slob Oliver..

And 52% of people don't have Gawn.

It's fun to be different :moustache:

Not sure why u played Butters over Constable? Butters plays fwd and Kentstable mid. At least u have a deep midfield.
Checked my team, Duursma in def so just Walsh and Butters to worry about.

Was working on the theory of rookie good score/bad score as often happens, but Constable looks the real deal.
I'll field him next week and he'll score 40.

EDIT: Paid off with Scott, benched him after his ton cos rookies rarely follow up big scores. Can't win em all.

I never expected him to be a keeper - I dont think anyone did- more a step ladder to an expensive premo like Laird. It stll will probably work ok.

80-90 asverage is what I was hoping for,but he is looking well below that sort of form it seems.
He’s scored in that bracket 2/3 weeks. I don’t see the problem. He’s performing as expected.

Both will do well, but they were more excellent VC candidates than Capt
all good mate!...Macrae gonna go bang! as my skipper this week.
just want Gawn and Oli to kill it as well...
I'm a greedy campaigner sometimes!

I haven't followed Milera all that much, but I'm very happy with my new recruit
Based on last night, he was clean with his skills - so what changed this year?
4th year ...22 YO & that magical close to 50 AFL games (46) ......his fitness now is up to midfield status, and this year is his first full PS

Last 2 pre-seasons Milera has had knee tendonitus, which has restricted his PS workload ....this year he was winning all our time trials

Bigfooty tech support.

giphy-81.gif

Hey ! .....that's insulting all dogs .....they're much cleverer than Big Footy Technicians

Not sure why u played Butters over Constable? Butters plays fwd and Kentstable mid. At least u have a deep midfield.
I made the mistake of having Constable on the bench last week for o'l 28 point Scott ......never again

I never expected him to be a keeper - I dont think anyone did- more a step ladder to an expensive premo like Laird. It stll will probably work ok.

80-90 average is what I was hoping for,but he is looking well below that sort of form it seems.
Not pointing you out here, but a number of others have similar sentiments about him and I feel you have to be patient with him to get the best value out of your squad

Currently he has gone

81 + 97 + 68 = 82 avg

Nothing wrong with that at his price imo, had 3 different types of scores this season, 1 score basically at his average, another a little bit above his average and another a little bit below his average, his scoring deviation is only 29 points so far, hopefully he keeps that consistency up for the duration we need him for

Look at other popular rookies and midpricers down back

Mills, LOL :$
Williams, not bad, similar to Smith just 75k more, probably more considered in the sub-premium category though
Moore, going very well for his price, how long can he keep it up for or stay fit for?
Duursma, best performing rookie down there, much better Dreamteamer though, very strong mark and kick game that hasn't transitioned over to Supercoach as yet but should score consistently around 70-75 I reckon
Clark, not too bad for now at D6, should get 60s out of him most weeks which is acceptable, will look to upgrade him via cash from a bench downgrade unless a gun defensive rookie emerges
Scrimshaw, similar scenario to Clark, but I feel Clark has better JS
Collins, might have to play the long game with him, but an 80 last week was good, hopefully an above 50 score this week to get some generation moving along, as an owner I will work out whether
Burgess, long game too, scrape every dollar out of him, hopefully scores well in the next few weeks and get a 80-90 from him that will push him close to peak price I'd imagine once that big score comes out of his rolling average. His DPP allows a long hold too if needed if there's decent rookies available at the opposite end of the field so can swing him wherever needed, horses for courses here though, I like his flexibility and JS, wouldn't surprise me if I held him all season as a heartbeat/coverage/bench filler
Hore, unlucky fellas, he ain't making anything for now

I'd say Smith stays well before say a Clark and Scrimshaw, they're the two onfield defensive rooks I feel I need to move on first. We could very well upgrade Smith first due to his higher price, but I feel we aren't getting much value at all from that trade should he still average 80 odd as there'll still likely be underwhelming rookies onfield who you're prioritising to move on later who will be giving 50s/60s instead of 80 odd from Smith. Feel we're best to move him on late and just bank his points, like around his bye.

I think with holding Smith, I might need to make 2 downgrades to get to my first upgrade (so will need to use an extra trade likely), but I feel the more points onfield from keeping him long term is far more valuable for now. Will prioritise moving on bench rookies like Atkins who might only have 100k growth in them or an underwhelming Setterfield type for downgrades if possible around round 5-6 to get a fund going, then pull the trigger up on whoever round 6-7. Midfield rookies should make heaps this year to fund forward/defence upgrades if needed too.

Not pointing you out here, but a number of others have similar sentiments about him and I feel you have to be patient with him to get the best value out of your squad

Currently he has gone

81 + 97 + 68 = 82 avg

Nothing wrong with that at his price imo, had 3 different types of scores this season, 1 score basically at his average, another a little bit above his average and another a little bit below his average, his scoring deviation is only 29 points so far, hopefully he keeps that consistency up for the duration we need him for

Look at other popular rookies and midpricers down back

Mills, LOL :$
Williams, not bad, similar to Smith just 75k more, probably more considered in the sub-premium category though
Moore, going very well for his price, how long can he keep it up for or stay fit for?
Duursma, best performing rookie down there, much better Dreamteamer though, very strong mark and kick game that hasn't transitioned over to Supercoach as yet but should score consistently around 70-75 I reckon
Clark, not too bad for now at D6, should get 60s out of him most weeks which is acceptable, will look to upgrade him via cash from a bench downgrade unless a gun defensive rookie emerges
Scrimshaw, similar scenario to Clark, but I feel Clark has better JS
Collins, might have to play the long game with him, but an 80 last week was good, hopefully an above 50 score this week to get some generation moving along, as an owner I will work out whether
Burgess, long game too, scrape every dollar out of him, hopefully scores well in the next few weeks and get a 80-90 from him that will push him close to peak price I'd imagine once that big score comes out of his rolling average. His DPP allows a long hold too if needed if there's decent rookies available at the opposite end of the field so can swing him wherever needed, horses for courses here though, I like his flexibility and JS, wouldn't surprise me if I held him all season as a heartbeat/coverage/bench filler
Hore, unlucky fellas, he ain't making anything for now

I'd say Smith stays well before say a Clark and Scrimshaw, they're the two onfield defensive rooks I feel I need to move on first. We could very well upgrade Smith first due to his higher price, but I feel we aren't getting much value at all from that trade should he still average 80 odd as there'll still likely be underwhelming rookies onfield who you're prioritising to move on later who will be giving 50s/60s instead of 80 odd from Smith. Feel we're best to move him on late and just bank his points, like around his bye.

I think with holding Smith, I might need to make 2 downgrades to get to my first upgrade (so will need to use an extra trade likely), but I feel the more points onfield from keeping him long term is far more valuable for now. Will prioritise moving on bench rookies like Atkins who might only have 100k growth in them or an underwhelming Setterfield type for downgrades if possible around round 5-6 to get a fund going, then pull the trigger up on whoever round 6-7. Midfield rookies should make heaps this year to fund forward/defence upgrades if needed too.

tl; but did read

I only need to play 2 of Durrsma, Clark & Scrimshaw on-field - Loop one each week with Horehole.

BSmith is currently my D4. He'll be making way for Lloooyd next week because A) I have the $$$'s and B) because I prefer a 110 average over an 80 average. I realise he'll make another 100-120k before the byes but a good rookie can make that much in a week or two whilst only averaging 10-15 points per week less.

I never want Snott mentioned again.
Or at least put an advert in the paper, advising us of any further gastro attacks or ingrown toe nails .....or an argument with his girlfriend

Waiting till final teams are announced then I'm pulling the trigger on 2 trades that will make or break my season

Heeney and Gawn to Relton and Pattison

Thoughts Gresh_Magic ?