Autopsy Round 3, 2019: Fremantle v St.Kilda

• Thread starter Thread starter George

Great effort. Pressure good all day, lots of things to work on but the signs are good.

I watched the game at RSEA Park (AKA Moorabbin) it was FANTASTIC! Great atmosphere ..... cheap grog [emoji122][emoji122][emoji122][emoji122]
and great to be with other SAINTS! Okay, we lost, ( boo bloody hoo!) but the lads showed such effort and heart that I am excited about 2019! Go Saints!

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

Disappointing that we lost to Freo who are very ordinary side, especially considering they were missing their two first choice rucks and had their best player knocked out mid game. We were absolutely obliterated in the midfield - Jack Steven really is our most important player. I liked Marshall's game but holy hell our mids looked slow and ineffective.

Incredibly frustrating to kick 9.9 to Freo's 11.3 (taking out rushed behinds). And the amount of times we bombed it up the line to a pack was just infuriating. We absolutely have to bring Hind in who has shown an ability to break the lines and bring the ball in through the corridor.

Kent has been completely ineffective in the first three weeks and has to go. He constantly fumbles the ball, can't take an overhead mark to save himself and has 2 goals and 4 tackles from 3 games. Long comes back in for him. For a stoppage specialist Dunstan sure was useless in the middle. Time to stop persisting with the worst performing regular onballer in the AFL of the last four years and give someone else a run in the middle.

Next week I want to see

Out: Kent, Dunstan, Wilkie (has been okay but isn't needed against Hawthorn)
In: Long, Steven, Hind

B: Webster, Brown, Geary
HB: Hind, Battle, Savage
C: Sinclair, Steele, Acres
HF: Billings, Bruce, Gresham
F: Parker, Membrey, Long

Foll: Marshall, Steven, Ross
Int: Clark, Lonie, Newnes, McKenzie

We need another tall forward for the way we enter the attacking 50. I agree with another poster that mentioned that none of the guys playing forward know how to lead properly, 'tis true...but we also lack the mids who can stab a pass and hit a target lace out. Dunstan, Ross, and to a lesser extent Steele, are not great users of the ball. Sinclair can be good, but doesn't get enough, or do enough to get the ball...Acres fades in and out depending on what's going through his head, Billings and Gresh are good...but need more help. Stuv's got his own issues to contend with. The structures have improved out of sight, as shown today by how many players were down, yet we were still in it, that's an achievement and definitely something to play with...but we need better users for our leading forwards...or another tall who can bring it to ground when Brucey is being swamped. Membrey for all his talent isn't it...and Acres needs to be on a wing...he is not a viable forward option.

Ross is very much under the same amount of scrutiny. Going forward I think we need to phase both of them out of the midfield if we want to take the next step. However, he still had more clearances than Dunstan. As did Clark. Ross can do more than 1 position though.

Dunstan isn't our best performing inside mid. He is however one of the only few that play in the role. Marshall is doing more inside than Dunstan.

Sinclair might need a spell but Acres kicked a goal and directly set up at least 2 more. Sending them back to the VFL to play them as mids and then bringing them back in at forwards doesn't work and doesn't help anyone.
How and where does Ross do more than one position?
What position is that? Cause i see him struggling like hell to hold down the one position on the ground that he is supposedly suited to!
How this bloke continues to escape scrutiny has got me completely befuddled!
Your happy to pot Dunstan every week yet he is doing his role! What purpose is Seb serving at the moment? Besides padding his own stats!

Thats somewhat understandable when there is someone tall to mark it.
I cant understand why the players keep doing in what Bruce is in a 1 on 3.
Or when Lonie is in a marking situation.
if we are going to continue that, we need someone else to kick it aimlessly to.
Yeah agreed.. still believe their is a bit of the old mentality that creeps in from yesteryear when under pressure. Their defenders were the difference today.. positioned perfectly.

We haven’t got another tall in reserve, so really need to tweak the plan, so entries are lowered. At the moment, we don’t really have a forward that can kick 50m ser shots with consistency, ala Buddy or Hawkins ect, so we’re constantly setup 15-20m leading zones.. we need to find that mid/s that is hybrid quick lead forward..

mate give me an attempt at a clearance over literally nothing. acres was an absolute passenger and so was sinclair. both should be dropped ASAP
Agree with this. The over hype of Acres on here is unbelievable. Does SFA will blokes like Dunstan at least gives it a go for the team week in week out
Favourite whipping boys DMAC and Geary keep us in the game with great defensive games and either get crickets or in DMAC's case calls to be dropped.

OUT coached again. with 6x6x6 Freo just kept hitting up going through CHF/FF .thats why they only kicked 5 points.
when the ball was going into there forward line , the kicker , just know that a player would be there
Go back and watch highlights
Our forwards , need to be trained where to lead and when its long top of goal square
All back men panic
get rid of our goal kicking coach
You see it but the coaches can’t. I’m guessing they also see it. Doesn’t mean our players are capable of doing it.

you know what ross only had it 20 times too. is he under the same level of scrutiny as dunstan?

both acres and sinclair were pushing up high. sinclair spent significant minutes on the wing. he's had a qtr and a half of good footy for the entire year. i'm a massive fan of his, but he's shockingly out of form right now.

i think dunstan is the best option for the inside role and no clark isn't it. if dunstan's 20 disposal and numbers that are far superior to clarks, isn't good enough, then clark right now isn't either right? its ross, dunstan, steele as the inside mids, then light years before we have another adequate option!!!

yes its not at the level we want it, but its the best we have. hopefully that changes. hopefully dunstan gets more and does more, or someone else does, but right now dunstan is literally our best performing inside mid. until that changes dunstan stays in.

meanwhile acres and sinclair should be sent back to sandringham to find form, as they're playing roles we do have flexability on.
So much this. Said after R1, fine drop Dunstan, but with Hanners out only Armo can be the inside pig.

No point saying, try someone there gameday. Coaches can see at training what players are capable of.

side topic, how do people see freo off-season, specifically the Neale move. they effectively gambled on losing neale to gain hogan and lobb. do people think it was effective today?

personally i think they've lost a lot of drive giving up neale. i'd have him before lobb and hogan combined.

hell i'd love neale at the saints! give our midfield some serious toe and ball winning ability.

Good question. Maybe pose it to the freo board. This is the saints board

We need another tall forward for the way we enter the attacking 50. I agree with another poster that mentioned that none of the guys playing forward know how to lead properly, 'tis true...but we also lack the mids who can stab a pass and hit a target lace out. Dunstan, Ross, and to a lesser extent Steele, are not great users of the ball. Sinclair can be good, but doesn't get enough, or do enough to get the ball...Acres fades in and out depending on what's going through his head, Billings and Gresh are good...but need more help. Stuv's got his own issues to contend with. The structures have improved out of sight, as shown today by how many players were down, yet we were still in it, that's an achievement and definitely something to play with...but we need better users for our leading forwards...or another tall who can bring it to ground when Brucey is being swamped. Membrey for all his talent isn't it...and Acres needs to be on a wing...he is not a viable forward option.
We don’t need another tall forward. We haven’t got one anyway and if anyone suggests moving Marshall forward then they don’t realise the value in the ruck. Doubt there are many if any changes next week. Jack May still not available. Hopefully he is because we win with him yesterday even though some thought it didn’t matter he was missing.

I’m pretty keen to see what Hind can do, his pace is a point of difference.

I don’t see more than 1 change other than Steven assuming he’s available, Clark comes out for Steven and you can rock, paper, scissors for the other spot with Acres, Kent, Parker and Sinclair.

I don't get what has happened to Ross... he has completely dropped off. Has very minimal impact on games. It is very concerning
I think he was getting tagged this week, which would explain his dropped output.
His possession count have been lower this year, which matches our new gameplan being less handball happy, but he till influenced the first two games while tonight he went unnoticed.

side topic, how do people see freo off-season, specifically the Neale move. they effectively gambled on losing neale to gain hogan and lobb. do people think it was effective today?

personally i think they've lost a lot of drive giving up neale. i'd have him before lobb and hogan combined.

hell i'd love neale at the saints! give our midfield some serious toe and ball winning ability.

Neale is huge loss for them , think they will offer nothing more than the “ rope the dope “ tactics used
yesterday put numbers behind the ball try and score on the counter attack in low scoring affairs.
Marshall as a prospect murders their high priced Lobb for mine.

The other thing from the game yesterday is the ridiculous number of times players fell over is it a footwear
issue or surface.

Agree with this. The over hype of Acres on here is unbelievable. Does SFA will blokes like Dunstan at least gives it a go for the team week in week out
Favourite whipping boys DMAC and Geary keep us in the game with great defensive games and either get crickets or in DMAC's case calls to be dropped.

It's because Acrees is constantly being asked to play key forward and ruck when he is a midfielder. If he did the same sweet fa in the midfield arguments for him would disappear

Relax a bit a 5 point loss & a game we kicked ourselves out of it 2-5 3rd quarter & at least 2 out on the full says were not far off, also 31 points down at the 10min mark of 2nd shows we have some character & a game plan that works only issue in that period was our forwards pushing to far up the ground which played into Lyons hand he loves the 2 on 1 situation.

Not potting Marshall as i agree he's our best going forward but stats don't tell the story his around the ground excellent his center ruck work poor & that's were our mids got beat we are not getting first use of the ball.

I think he was getting tagged this week, which would explain his dropped output.
His possession count have been lower this year, which matches our new gameplan being less handball happy, but he till influenced the first two games while tonight he went unnoticed.
Everyone's possession count is down noticably from last year. I think it's just the game plan in generally doesn't create a lot of cheapies anymore.

Relax a bit a 5 point loss & a game we kicked ourselves out of it 2-5 3rd quarter & at least 2 out on the full says were not far off, also 31 points down at the 10min mark of 2nd shows we have some character & a game plan that works only issue in that period was our forwards pushing to far up the ground which played into Lyons hand he loves the 2 on 1 situation.

Not potting Marshall as i agree he's our best going forward but stats don't tell the story his around the ground excellent his center ruck work poor & that's were our mids got beat we are not getting first use of the ball.
We’re just not setup for winning the taps. The mids all defensive with gresh and other linebreaker cameo guys deep on defensive side

Marshall got a load clean taps but the only guys to tap to were freo.

He beat Lobb hands down I reckon but we don’t expect that to happen and it won’t most weeks

cant stand the dunstan hate on here whilst someone like acres and sinclair go completely untouched in criticism

dunstan equal highest tackles. highest contested possession. same number of clearance as steele.

dunstan is not the issue. he is playing his role.

if only some of the other blatant passengers start to take a leaf out of his book

He is a real trier but he hasn't improved in any discernible way since 2014.

Did you see the hit out stats in the Gold Coast game compared to clearances. Most overrated thing in footy.

Everyone's possession count is down noticably from last year. I think it's just the game plan in generally doesn't create a lot of cheapies anymore.
Thats true, but Seb's is most noticable.
Over preseason and the first 3 games, he hasn't gone over 30 which became standard numbers for him over the past 3 years. That would be part game plan and part him getting extra attention from the opposition without Stuv in there full time.
Interestingly, he has already had 10 running bounces this season (most in the AFL) when the most he has ever had in a full season is 15 (last season). He also hit 10 in 2016 but ever other year he has had under 10.
So he is playing a much bigger outside role this year and making his disposals count rather than gathering the cheap one-two possession he is known for. Also, past few years he has received criticism for being a stagnant midfielder and stopping play once he has the ball. It's good to see him backing in his run and carrying the ball forward more.