Autopsy Round 3, 2019: Fremantle v St.Kilda

• Thread starter Thread starter George

I’ve got question marks on Steven returning this week. But if he thinks he’s ok, then straight swap for Kent for mine. WHAT IS GOING ON WITH COFF... can the campaigner pull his finger out? Hope we’re not coaching the flair out of him.

Long needs to come back in. Possibly for Sinclair or Acres, depending on match ups.

I’ve got question marks on Steven returning this week. But if he thinks he’s ok, then straight swap for Kent for mine. WHAT IS GOING ON WITH COFF... can the campaigner pull his finger out? Hope we’re not coaching the flair out of him.

Long needs to come back in. Possibly for Sinclair or Acres, depending on match ups.
Some info on Coff in the Zebs thread..

Still very flat. My god a win would have been massive for this group as well as setting up our year.

Again a lack of exposure cost us but it will come.

It's because Acrees is constantly being asked to play key forward and ruck when he is a midfielder. If he did the same sweet fa in the midfield arguments for him would disappear
He is not an inside mid and hasn't shown he can play outside either. When he plays there he confuses the forwards with his erratic and crazy entries.

They are trying to get some utility out of a player who is very quickly becoming a major disappointment.
He has so many making excuses for him that others are never afforded.

Relax a bit a 5 point loss & a game we kicked ourselves out of it 2-5 3rd quarter & at least 2 out on the full says were not far off, also 31 points down at the 10min mark of 2nd shows we have some character & a game plan that works only issue in that period was our forwards pushing to far up the ground which played into Lyons hand he loves the 2 on 1 situation.

Not potting Marshall as i agree he's our best going forward but stats don't tell the story his around the ground excellent his center ruck work poor & that's were our mids got beat we are not getting first use of the ball.
Yup I though Marshall was great but how many times did Freo fly out of the centre from a good tap.

What was (again) evident was our lack of contested pig in the middle! It ain’t ever gonna be Dunstan. Maybe Steele however his contested numbers are not trajecting upwards. Gresh is leading the club with about 10.7 per game whilst other teams have multiple players +15! Marshall & Billings average is top 5 at the club. Must take a punt on someone like Hopper, who is out of contract at years end. Wave big coin in his face & see what happens.

We lack class and composure across every line of the ground. I think the players who look classiest at the Saints are Gresh and Billings. Not much finness anywhere else on the field. Bruce, Geary, Dunny, are like taking a hammer to a sword fight. Not much class about them but if they glance your head you know about it. We play with massive heart and try our guts out but there is a distinct lack of quality nearly all over the field.

Probably need 3 or 4 class mids to replace what we have, Long or Young to start playing in the forward line and get Carlisle back to mop up in defence. Defence is actually doing incredibly well as far as what we have to work with though.

Clark is all class but he is just a lad. So is Coffield. I want to see both players in the team as much as possible.

But we do need more midfield class and polish. I love Steele but he’s a hard grunt player. This has to be a recruiting priority for us.

Some observations from yesterday, albeit from the top of the bleachers.

- Our work rate was good as a team, most of our goals were from effort rather than system.
- Marshall was dominant in the ruck but we were outgunned in the centre clearance. Time and again Fyfe or Mundy would shove their opponents and make space for themselves or a teammate to run through and they won the clearance. This needs to be addressed soon as we were torched in this area, some bigger bodies need to be in there.
- The myriad of complaints about our bombing into 50 is a reflection of a fairly static forward structure. Bruce preferred to stay close to goal and did not offer much movement, our forward line needs more mobility. There is a place beckoning for young King when he is available.
- Our defence in unheralded but they were brilliant yesterday. Wilkie has a sweet left foot and is a credit to our recruiting team and Battle looked strong in contests. Everyone played there part, McKenzie is full of courage and should be retained and Geary reads the play so well.
- The umpires had a direct influence in the first 3 Fremantle goals and that was enough in the end in a close game
- Billings and Gresham are both maturing to the next level this year and will have a strong influence on our performances
- Sonny Walters is a jet and is great to watch in full flow

Some things were obvious to me.. we were outmuscled in many one-on-one contests, we are not strong overhead- most have trouble grabbing a strong mark. Dumb coaching early- midfield played a defensive game and we didn't get any run and spread, the forwards played from behind, and rarely led hard to provide an option. A lot of structural things didn't work. We need class in the midfield, and badly need a CHF if we are going to kick reasonable scores looking forward.

Haven't seen any love for Lonie. Thought he tried everything in the 3rd to get the ball going. I don't knew what changed but he's a different player. Can't wait for him to get more midfield minutes and see some magic.

I felt Hunter looked good, should be paying for experience. Acres isn't a 3rd forward, has it every worked well when he's done that?

I wouldn't be opposed to longer, with Marshal moving forward to help our structures, but Marshal should always be playing.

Drop Kent, Sinc. Might be time for young and someone.

Parker is where Lonie was 2 years ago (trying to do too much, but he's a lot quicker so it's less noticeable).

Kudos to the back line for holding up when Brown went down.

How and where does Ross do more than one position?
What position is that? Cause i see him struggling like hell to hold down the one position on the ground that he is supposedly suited to!
How this bloke continues to escape scrutiny has got me completely befuddled!
Your happy to pot Dunstan every week yet he is doing his role! What purpose is Seb serving at the moment? Besides padding his own stats!
In the spirit of being fair and balanced, they are both average.

What was (again) evident was our lack of contested pig in the middle! It ain’t ever gonna be Dunstan. Maybe Steele however his contested numbers are not projecting upwards. Gresh is leading the club with about 10.7 per game whilst other teams have multiple players +15! Marshall & Billings average is top 5 at the club. Must take a punt on someone like Hopper, who is out of contract at years end. Wave big coin in his face & see what happens.
I was just about to post about Steele as well. Once again he hasn’t gone on with his awesome end of season form. He’s been ok but he and Billings are averaging the same amount of contested possessions a game so far at under 9 which just isn’t acceptable. Even Clark came in and had 9.

We need to find ourselves a Worpel/Constable type in the draft. Ball magnets with questions about their kicking because how often do we see them come in and not be bad kicks. They just rack up possessions and give their team a chance. Still a massive need all these years later.

Haven't seen any love for Lonie. Thought he tried everything in the 3rd to get the ball going. I don't knew what changed but he's a different player. Can't wait for him to get more midfield minutes and see some magic.

I felt Hunter looked good, should be paying for experience. Acres isn't a 3rd forward, has it every worked well when he's done that?

I wouldn't be opposed to longer, with Marshal moving forward to help our structures, but Marshal should always be playing.

Drop Kent, Sinc. Might be time for young and someone.

Parker is where Lonie was 2 years ago (trying to do too much, but he's a lot quicker so it's less noticeable).

Kudos to the back line for holding up when Brown went down.
Marshall is a terrible forward. He either rucks or he doesn't play.

He is not an inside mid and hasn't shown he can play outside either. When he plays there he confuses the forwards with his erratic and crazy entries.

They are trying to get some utility out of a player who is very quickly becoming a major disappointment.
The anti acres feeling is strong he was far from the worst. Kent and Sinclair would be lucky to hold there spots, Dunstan was ok and Ross didn't have a great game.

What was (again) evident was our lack of contested pig in the middle! It ain’t ever gonna be Dunstan. Maybe Steele however his contested numbers are not trajecting upwards. Gresh is leading the club with about 10.7 per game whilst other teams have multiple players +15! Marshall & Billings average is top 5 at the club. Must take a punt on someone like Hopper, who is out of contract at years end. Wave big coin in his face & see what happens.

I've said for the past 2 off seasons that our most pressing need isn't outside run and skill but an inside brute who can get the pill, knock blokes over and then get away from a stoppage. What Billings is doing now is what I'd hoped he would develop into... the outside silk. We just need to get him the ball more often, in better positions and with less pressure. That's what a big nasty inside mid with some power could do.

In the meantime, Dunstan has played 1 good game & 2 ordinary ones... I'm hoping the the old man Dave puts together a few decent performances at Sandy to put pressure on Spook. I reckon Dave probably has Spook covered for pace and he's a massive improvement disposal wise.

Standing by for the anti-Armo barrage in 3...2...1

What was pretty apparent yesterday was that we have too many players with low footy intelligence (or that panic under pressure). I think we will see that improve greatly when Hanners gets into the side... we just need a few older heads around to calm things down (especially late 1st quarter and early in the last). Especially in the midfield where no one seemed to identify what Freo were doing with their wingers and how easily they were getting centre clearances for most of the day. Missing Stuv obviously didn't help here at all.

As oppose to keeping it predictable and bombing on their heads every game like our other kids do ...
it’s be nice for him to actually play as an inside mid

Can you tell me an example of a player being confused due to his crazy and erratic entries? Was the forward confused when his lead was actually honoured and Acres nailed him in the chest instead of moonballing it like the others?
I disagree. I think he has proven he can play outside.
He has been underwhelming but so were all the forwards.

Ross was regularly going with two spare behind the ball. He also almost always had a spare on the fat side of the midfield.

Surface apparently is like the MCG. Mix of synthetic and grass.
Neale is huge loss for them , think they will offer nothing more than the “ rope the dope “ tactics used
yesterday put numbers behind the ball try and score on the counter attack in low scoring affairs.
Marshall as a prospect murders their high priced Lobb for mine.

The other thing from the game yesterday is the ridiculous number of times players fell over is it a footwear
issue or surface.

Thinking about the game today, I think it was just a shoot-out with two ordinary teams. Some of our ball movement coming up the ground looked more like school kid footy where the ball just tumbles along in the general direction, and whoever manages to get the loose pill, then bangs it on their foot with no thought.

It's because Acrees is constantly being asked to play key forward and ruck when he is a midfielder. If he did the same sweet fa in the midfield arguments for him would disappear
Hes a pure mid were screaming for a big body in there and he plays forward ruck.

Our club is dumb as ****.