Autopsy Round 3, 2019: Hawthorn defeats North

I'm watching the game LE. He is more or less a non event for most of the game. Did get a few touches in the last so that's good but for someone who can't hit the side of the barn from 20m out, it's supposed to be ok because he's a really tall Cyril who is chasing and tackling and causing chaos and mad turnovers...... but that's not happening either and that's supposed to be his 'value add'.
300 meters gained yesterday, leads the club in forward 50 pressure acts.

For some reason his goal kicking yips have been conflated to mean that he just cannot kick the ball. From everything I've seen his field kicking is really precise, not sure the doom and gloom posters actually watch the game sometimes.

Also not sure on how the statistics are kept because I saw Nash lay a few more tackles than 1.

For some reason his goal kicking yips have been conflated to mean that he just cannot kick the ball. From everything I've seen his field kicking is really precise, not sure the doom and gloom posters actually watch the game sometimes.

Also not sure on how the statistics are kept because I saw Nash lay a few more tackles than 1.
What's getting to me I guess is the over the top talk...... like he's doing amazing things. He's doing the bare minimum. He's doing nothing that we shouldn't expect of anyone playing that position.

Talk of create speed, amazing handballs etc... I mean if he just happens to get a regulation handball in a goal scoring chain we have fans spruiking it like it was something uniquely individual that wouldn't have happened if anyone else was playing.

Sounds like I don't like him, I get it. It's not that though. Would be fantastic if he gets there. I just think he's not AFL ready. Some more Box Hill time should be in his future IMO. It's not doom and gloom posting it's discussing the team. I'd say the people posting like he's Cyril reborn are the ones perhaps not watching the game ;-)

Anyway, I'll leave it at that because he's doing his best and I have nothing against him so don't want to seem like I'm beating on him. If I keep going then the defenders keep going and round and round we go.

Great win but north were terrible and we definitely should have beaten the boys from Arden Street and glad we did. The goal from chad in the last quarter at the 16th minute mark was why we got chad wingard - electrifying. Breust wore his goal boots and just a reminder how important LB is for our scoreboard. Saints at Marvel next week won’t be easy but confident.

What's getting to me I guess is the over the top talk...... like he's doing amazing things. He's doing the bare minimum. He's doing nothing that we shouldn't expect of anyone playing that position.

Talk of create speed, amazing handballs etc... I mean if he just happens to get a regulation handball in a goal scoring chain we have fans spruiking it like it was something uniquely individual that wouldn't have happened if anyone else was playing.

Sounds like I don't like him, I get it. It's not that though. Would be fantastic if he gets there. I just think he's not AFL ready. Some more Box Hill time should be in his future IMO. It's not doom and gloom posting it's discussing the team. I'd say the people posting like he's Cyril reborn are the ones perhaps not watching the game ;-)

Anyway, I'll leave it at that because he's doing his best and I have nothing against him so don't want to seem like I'm beating on him. If I keep going then the defenders keep going and round and round we go.

Nobody is saying that he's Cyril reborn, literally nobody. You're creating this picture so you have something easier to work against. We're simply saying that in our game style to create forward 50 stoppages and keep the ball there, he is the best option that we have for multiple reasons which I will outline below.

He has quick hands, he gets the ball off to people in a chain very quickly. It's not amazing but it's a good thing to have considering he's top 5 in goal assists for the league.

He was beaten only by Tom Scully in repeat sprinting efforts yesterday, so he does create speed, and there were many situations where if you watch the game he continued to pressure the ball carrier through entire opposition chains of handballs until the ball was eventually turned over.

He's got tremendous endurance, which means that he can have a fourth quarter like he did. He can run out the game better than most and get ahead of his opponent. He can also get out the back quicker and exploit zones.

He's TALL, and as the game wears on you don't get any shorter. So when you couple that with the fact that he's able to run out the game better, he becomes even more valuable. You've got a 197cm bloke who is still running at the end of the game that can create leads and provide valuable space for his other defenders.

Even if you disregard all of that, there's no point looking for scapegoats in defense or attack because it's not our forward line who are struggling at the moment. It's our midfield. We're actually making better chances with our inside 50's than most, and we are the best forward pressure side in the competition with the second most tackles I50 and the second most goal assists.

Also - who replaces him in the side? Hanrahan? He's quick, good tackler but he's still very slight and hasn't got great endurance so we'd struggle to have him in the side for long periods and still keep the ball I50. Lewis? He's a great lead up mark, good goal kicker, but same goes for him - not the best endurance and nowhere near the level of ground ball player as Nash. Wingard isn't fit enough yet. Moore has endurance but isn't as quick. Schoenmakers isn't the answer and Ross is crafty but makes Eric Hipwood look like Jay Cutler.

There's literally no one who provides a better option than Nash for what we need in that role, clearly that's why he's in the side and not being dropped as you would like. You can't keep commenting about how poor he's been without providing a reasonable substitute, but you can't provide a reasonable substitute because there isn't one at the moment.

Nobody is saying that he's Cyril reborn, literally nobody. You're creating this picture so you have something easier to work against. We're simply saying that in our game style to create forward 50 stoppages and keep the ball there, he is the best option that we have for multiple reasons which I will outline below.

He has quick hands, he gets the ball off to people in a chain very quickly. It's not amazing but it's a good thing to have considering he's top 5 in goal assists for the league.

He was beaten only by Tom Scully in repeat sprinting efforts yesterday, so he does create speed, and there were many situations where if you watch the game he continued to pressure the ball carrier through entire opposition chains of handballs until the ball was eventually turned over.

He's got tremendous endurance, which means that he can have a fourth quarter like he did. He can run out the game better than most and get ahead of his opponent. He can also get out the back quicker and exploit zones.

He's TALL, and as the game wears on you don't get any shorter. So when you couple that with the fact that he's able to run out the game better, he becomes even more valuable. You've got a 197cm bloke who is still running at the end of the game that can create leads and provide valuable space for his other defenders.

Even if you disregard all of that, there's no point looking for scapegoats in defense or attack because it's not our forward line who are struggling at the moment. It's our midfield. We're actually making better chances with our inside 50's than most, and we are the best forward pressure side in the competition with the second most tackles I50 and the second most goal assists.

Also - who replaces him in the side? Hanrahan? He's quick, good tackler but he's still very slight and hasn't got great endurance so we'd struggle to have him in the side for long periods and still keep the ball I50. Lewis? He's a great lead up mark, good goal kicker, but same goes for him - not the best endurance and nowhere near the level of ground ball player as Nash. Wingard isn't fit enough yet. Moore has endurance but isn't as quick. Schoenmakers isn't the answer and Ross is crafty but makes Eric Hipwood look like Jay Cutler.

There's literally no one who provides a better option than Nash for what we need in that role, clearly that's why he's in the side and not being dropped as you would like. You can't keep commenting about how poor he's been without providing a reasonable substitute, but you can't provide a reasonable substitute because there isn't one at the moment.

On the money.

I'm watching the game LE. He is more or less a non event for most of the game. Did get a few touches in the last so that's good but for someone who can't hit the side of the barn from 20m out, it's supposed to be ok because he's a really tall Cyril who is chasing and tackling and causing chaos and mad turnovers...... but that's not happening either and that's supposed to be his 'value add'.

I'm not on the Nash bandwagon and to be entirely honest I don't think he's ready.

His first 2 disposals were kicks OOB and I was fuming.

Watching the game yesterday in person he started off by doing nothing to change my opinion yesterday until he kicked his first career goal in the 3rd quarter.

I'm hoping it flicked a switch for him because from then until the end of the game he seemed to have lifted and there were quite a few times he had the ball in hand and I was worried, however he pinpointed teammates through traffic and it looked nothing like him.

I'm still not convinced however he definitely showed me in that last quarter that there is something there, we just need to figure out how to harness it.

I'm not on the Nash bandwagon and to be entirely honest I don't think he's ready.

His first 2 disposals were kicks OOB and I was fuming.

Watching the game yesterday in person he started off by doing nothing to change my opinion yesterday until he kicked his first career goal in the 3rd quarter.

I'm hoping it flicked a switch for him because from then until the end of the game he seemed to have lifted and there were quite a few times he had the ball in hand and I was worried, however he pinpointed teammates through traffic and it looked nothing like him.

I'm still not convinced however he definitely showed me in that last quarter that there is something there, we just need to figure out how to harness it.

He kicked 2 goals last year mate.

So he did indeed, my mistake as I thought he popped that cherry yesterday.

Still seemed to have flicked some kind of a mental switch yesterday because I had to do a double take to make sure it was him that was actually kicking the ball.

Either way let's hope that he continues an upward trend because he couldn't get much worse.

Anyone bit worried o meara worpel and cousins will burn out by mid year. Carrying a heavy midfield load.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

I reckon they will harden up and get better. It’s they chance of a lifetime to be the engine room of the greatest modern team. I think they’ll rise to the challenge, not shirk from it.

In fact, I was thinking as I watched the game that we will easily have the hardest midfield for the next five years after this season. These boys are being forged in a red hot crucible and will become spectacular teammates.

And the post of the thread goes to rogiebear93. Well said :trophy:
tenor.gif

I already addressed what I believe the team needs up forward as a more pressing need and it isn't a pressure forward. I think we have that covered whether he plays or not. I'm certainly not creating a picture to work against either. I'm simply addressing the adulation he's getting compared with actual output. But anyway... moving on. :-)