Alex Wright (Norwood)

Jack Tuthill

North Launceston

Ins:

Outs:

Michael Stingel (Norwood)
Tom Bennett
Corey Nankervis

* will only add confirmed as there are obviously heaps of rumours out there.

* post here and I’ll add on

TSL: Final Scores (Round 5).
Glenorchy 9.10 (64) d Kingborough 6.6 (42) (Anzac Day)
Launceston 10.8 (68) d Clarence 8.10 (58)
Lauderdale 11.8 (74) d Nth Launceston 8.10 (58)

On Anzac Day the Magpies led comfortably all day against the Tigers despite a few late Kingborough goals Glenorchy recorded a 22 point win at KGV whilst yesterday in very windy conditions, Launceston edged out Clarence late in the game at Bellerive to go home 10 point winners, relegating the Roos to a 0-4 start.
At Lauderdale's Skybus Oval, the home side ground out a 16 point win in somewhat of an upset over the undefeated North Launceston in the grand final replay, although in the notoriously blustery conditions that can prevail down there, the home side play it very well so it's not a huge surprise.
My tipping took a hammering this week with 1 out of 3!

TSL: Final Scores (Round 5).
Glenorchy 9.10 (64) d Kingborough 6.6 (42) (Anzac Day)
Launceston 10.8 (68) d Clarence 8.10 (58)
Lauderdale 11.8 (74) d Nth Launceston 8.10 (58)

On Anzac Day the Magpies led comfortably all day against the Tigers despite a few late Kingborough goals Glenorchy recorded a 22 point win at KGV whilst yesterday in very windy conditions, Launceston edged out Clarence late in the game at Bellerive to go home 10 point winners, relegating the Roos to a 0-4 start.
At Lauderdale's Skybus Oval, the home side ground out a 16 point win in somewhat of an upset over the undefeated North Launceston in the grand final replay, although in the notoriously blustery conditions that can prevail down there, the home side play it very well so it's not a huge surprise.
My tipping took a hammering this week with 1 out of 3!

I went to KGV on ANZAC day with my magpie mate. The wind wasn't much fun. The pregame ANZAC memorial was well done IMO. I though Kingston had a real crack but overall lacked a bit of class/experience. They look to be on the right track at least.

Clarence seem to be in a real hole at the moment. They don't seem to have the troops to challenge the current top 3, or 4. If they couldn't attract Grace back to Bellerive, they clearly have a problem. In the past they've bought their way to success. Has the money pipe closed?

I got the results right, more by good luck given the conditions & closeness of the scores. But I'll take it. :)

So what are the crowds like at the TSL these days?
Was just reading through the first 25 pages of this thread because there's nothing on TV, seems as though there's not much interest in the TSL anymore - if the lack of posters and frequency of discussion about the league is concerned.
I know the SFL's really struggling for crowds these days, it's certainly gone massively downhill since we came back to it in 2014.
From what I can see the playing standards are several times higher than SFL football but there seems to be a lack of interest, media enthusiasm about both leagues.

So what are the crowds like at the TSL these days?
Was just reading through the first 25 pages of this thread because there's nothing on TV, seems as though there's not much interest in the TSL anymore - if the lack of posters and frequency of discussion about the league is concerned.
I know the SFL's really struggling for crowds these days, it's certainly gone massively downhill since we came back to it in 2014.
From what I can see the playing standards are several times higher than SFL football but there seems to be a lack of interest, media enthusiasm about both leagues.

I wouldn't argue with what you say.

Its all the things that have happened in society, not just in Tassie, over the last 25yrs or so. Its probably worse now than then.

People lead very different lives now. Community sport of all types is struggling with that. Sport unfriendly work places & hours of work. Weekend work & shopping. The need to work more to pay the bills & do things like getting a house. So many family problems. The effect of drugs, alcohol, cost of living have all had a huge affect on families to. Those things preoccupy people like never before.

The AFL & TV viewing dominates now. So community sport & clubs which rely on families & kids, struggle. AFLTas only care about The FIFO clubs playing here, men & women, getting draft picks up & ready for export. Getting Government & AFL money to pay their wages & 'expenses'.

Politicians talk a lot. They have done SFA in regard to the values & benefits of family/kids involvement in sport & community clubs.

Just talk. Thats about all they do.

Meanwhile, the few volunteers remaining at clubs are getting older & fewer.

Does anyone know how Sam Siggins has been traveling at Lauderdale? He's nominated for the midseason AFL draft and was listed with the Crows a few years ago. Retired due to personal reasons and seems to want another crack. I know he had a crack in Geelong's VFL team last year, but obviously didn't work out.

What is the go here? A permit to play for DOSA whilst waiting for his body to come right and go back to North Hobart doesn't seem quite right.
I see Garland got BOG for DOSA against the Saints on Saturday. Booted 6 i think it was.
"Waiting for his body to get right" indeed....

I see Garland got BOG for DOSA against the Saints on Saturday. Booted 6 i think it was.
"Waiting for his body to get right" indeed....

Heard on weekend that he was going to play at Dodges before a few ex Nth Hobart boys got him to DOSA.

DOSA 4 from 4 top of the ladder
Nth Hobart 0 from 5 sitting on the bottom.

Personally cannot see him back at Nth Hobart, at least this season.

I wouldn't argue with what you say.

Its all the things that have happened in society, not just in Tassie, over the last 25yrs or so. Its probably worse now than then.

People lead very different lives now. Community sport of all types is struggling with that. Sport unfriendly work places & hours of work. Weekend work & shopping. The need to work more to pay the bills & do things like getting a house. So many family problems. The effect of drugs, alcohol, cost of living have all had a huge affect on families to. Those things preoccupy people like never before.

The AFL & TV viewing dominates now. So community sport & clubs which rely on families & kids, struggle. AFLTas only care about The FIFO clubs playing here, men & women, getting draft picks up & ready for export. Getting Government & AFL money to pay their wages & 'expenses'.

Politicians talk a lot. They have done SFA in regard to the values & benefits of family/kids involvement in sport & community clubs.

Just talk. Thats about all they do.

Meanwhile, the few volunteers remaining at clubs are getting older & fewer.
Unfortunately footy in Tassie is not what it used to be and sadly I think it will only get worse due to the changing lifestyles in our society as you pointed out. Both North Launceston and Launceston lost a lot of players over the summer to local leagues and it makes me wonder if interest in the TSL in the North has started to decline. Its hard to find many footy clubs in the state at all levels that aren't struggling for volunteers and quite a few are struggling with the very basics which of course is player numbers. I still keep an eye on the TSL and it seems a battle between North Launceston, Lauderdale and Glenorchy with North starting to look like the favourites again. I wonder how long they going to dominate this competition for and the same team winning the flag every year doesn't help public interest in the game. I thought North Hobart would have improved a lot this year as they recruited well and there seemed to be a good pre-season vibe about the club but it hasn't translated into on field results. While its disappointing the coast isn't represented in the TSL anymore there are some positives for the NWFL. Public interest is much higher with the local town to town rivalries being re-ignited and although the crowds at the games will never be huge again they are a lot bigger than they used to be for TSL games and the standard of games between the top teams is not too bad at all. If the senior men's Devils team gets off the ground it will deplete the local footy in the state of its best players which wont help anything in my opinion. I think the TAC Cup Devils team is enough as it gives the best young players a good opportunity to show their talent and get drafted. For any of the more talented players in the TAC Cup that miss out on being drafted, they should head to the VFL or SANFL to further their chances in my opinion just like Brody Mihocek, Jay Lockhart and others have successfully done.

The TSL is just a joke. 5 teams in the south & 2 for the north. Its structured to fail. AFL Tas don't care about Tasmanian football. Only about squeezing a few draft picks & sucking State Government & AFL funds to keep up their lifestyle. If kids have to leave to get noticed via the NEAFL/VFL again, they couldn't care less. The new VFL team will kill the TSL, for no real benefit to Tas footy.

Soccer & netball can maintain State leagues including the NWC. Why not NWC football clubs?

NHFC have lost their best developing players to the U18's. Thats put a big hole in them.

The TSL is just a joke. 5 teams in the south & 2 for the north. Its structured to fail. AFL Tas don't care about Tasmanian football. Only about squeezing a few draft picks & sucking State Government & AFL funds to keep up their lifestyle. If kids have to leave to get noticed via the NEAFL/VFL again, they couldn't care less. The new VFL team will kill the TSL, for no real benefit to Tas footy.

Soccer & netball can maintain State leagues including the NWC. Why not NWC football clubs?

NHFC have lost their best developing players to the U18's. Thats put a big hole in them.
Yes NHFC have lost all their best developing players to the U/18 program but so have the 6 other clubs. That cannot be an excuse for that footy club only winning 1 game out of its past 23.
The top 3 sides all have top end talent in the Devils program that would make there sides stronger just like the rest of the pack which everyone is referring to.
The Devils program puts a hole in all TSL clubs but the stronger clubs seem to recruit smarter to replace or fill a hole so to speak while there young players develop in that high performance environment.

Yes NHFC have lost all their best developing players to the U/18 program but so have the 6 other clubs. That cannot be an excuse for that footy club only winning 1 game out of its past 23.
The top 3 sides all have top end talent in the Devils program that would make there sides stronger just like the rest of the pack which everyone is referring to.
The Devils program puts a hole in all TSL clubs but the stronger clubs seem to recruit smarter to replace or fill a hole so to speak while there young players develop in that high performance environment.

Recruiting is one problem. NHFC has had severe financial problems over a long period & have only just righted the ship. Its hard to build from the bottom, to recruit rather than just develop. The best kids will now go & not play for their club.

The recruits they got have ended up going elsewhere. One club against 4 in the South, only 2 in the whole North of the state. That alone make things difficult, to say the least.

Geez you’re in some strife if your poor performance is put down to the absence of a few 17 and 18 year olds.

The club hasn't been in a position to buy recruits like Lauderdale.
We didn’t really hear much out of Lauderdale and their recruits throughout the off season until the teams were released for round 1. I guess that has seemed to work as their recruits have had strong starts to the season with very little pressure. North Hobart seemed to go the other way and announced every recruit that they signed very much like some other TSL clubs so they aren’t on there pattern alone. I wonder if this added pressure to recruits has effected there play season to date as they seem to be firing blanks all but Darley.

What club doesn’t get recruits? North Hobart got plenty, including one from Lauderdale, they just aren’t that good.

Good way to avoid the point.

Lauderdale were developing talent. When that didn't get them into Grand finals, they started to recruited interstate players.

It hasn't worked yet. Maybe they need to spend more?