Round 6 - Other Game Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter TheCount

Live sport is all about the emotional highs and lows, expressive crowds are good for the game and part of the fun. So many people want to lose all the colour and personality of the game because they don't want anyone to feel uncomfortable for 30 seconds. A perfectly well behaved crowd that only ever cheers or claps sounds like the most boring crowd on earth.

Heard Whateley saying that it ruins the AFL that 2 champions were booed... why even have a scoreboard? They can just take turns kicking goals at either end for the crowd.

I don't understand the obsession with taking all of the life out of sport, it's supposed to be removed from real life, but they are obsessed with removing the magic and making it real

Heard Whateley saying that it ruins the AFL that 2 champions were booed... why even have a scoreboard? They can just take turns kicking goals at either end for the crowd.

I don't understand the obsession with taking all of the life out of sport, it's supposed to be removed from real life, but they are obsessed with removing the magic and making it real

Generally have plenty of time for Whateley but I can't believe he of all people is making this out like this is some sort of slight on ANZAC day or the AFL, or that the ANZAC day medal has any more meaning than a token BoG award for a random game in April. Thought he would be more self-aware than that.

The 2 Soldiers behind Pendlebury were pissing themselves laughing, its disgusting these journalists are almost speaking on their behalf.

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/af...a/news-story/d846bab72320d86318e3ebfe8d6b586b

AFL CEO Gillon McLachlan says he won’t tell fans not to boo and understands the “emotional” response of Bombers fans who jeered heavily after the Anzac Day game.
Essendon fans felt “the rub of the green went against them in the last quarter”, according to McLachlan, who said there will be a review of the game’s umpiring decisions in the coming days.
He also said he felt attendees weren’t booing Scott Pendlebury during the Anzac Day Medal ceremony, but instead responding to the emotion of the ending of the match.

“Essendon supporters feel that the rub of the green went against them in the last quarter,” he said.

“I’m not going to get into the ins and outs of free kicks, that’ll be assessed overnight and tomorrow. But I know that’s the consensus, and I accept that, and they lost by four points.

Was watching this game with a mate and when they kept missing the htb frees i said you watch theyll end up paying 1 right at the end that isnt a free thatll decide the game. It didnt really decide the game either of them but it made it near on impossible for bombers. Im all for putting the whistle away but itll always look worse when they pay 1 that isnt there after missing so many we are used to being a freekick

They definitely booed heavily when pendles took the medal which was a bit of a shit move given how good he is, but surely Buckley having a shot back should have been the end of it? Either way, it was good theatre. Instead, we get a whole week of moral bloody outrage.

Yeah in all fairness no issue with Buckley firing back only to receive even louder boos. That was great.

Wish they would get rid of Matthews from all TV. I get he's a legend but he sounds like an old man with no idea what's happening anymore. He literally adds nothing to the coverage of modern footy

How many of the current commentators going around do add to the coverage?

I’ve only been watching parts of this match, but I’ve seen Rozee flop 3 times

Pittard is a waste of organs but the frees against him are sad.

I thought it'd be vaguely interesting to see if Port can keep us off the bottom of the ladder, but it's not. Liked the look of Tarryn Thomas, but I'd only continue watching this match at gunpoint.

How many of the current commentators going around do add to the coverage?

Probably for about 10s Dermie makes a good point about a forwards leading patterns before he goes off on a tangent...

That's pretty much it.
Bartels pretty good actually.

Cameron Lings the worst, sounds like they dubbed over the original broadcast and added him to an AFL for children version.

Can you imagine how infuriating it would be to live with Bruce? I reckon his cat would be about ready to drown itself in its milk if it’s asked one more rhetorical question

I really feel like you'd grow to enjoy all the rhetorical questions though, wouldn't you?

Doesnt matter a **** but that miss at the end put us back to 18th our rightful home
We deserve to be there. We're the most uncompetitive team in it at the moment.