Is political correctness stifling debate?

The debate isn’t stifled.

Without my first sentence, written after the second was written, my question is dismissed as racist when the intention wasn't and it isn't.

That we need to have a ceremony of duck duck goose, knocking all the ways something might be twisted into racist, homophobic or otherwise allegedly bigoted on the head before getting to the actual discussion of the issue represents a constraint in my opinion.

Not everyone with a valid question or position is going to also have the forethought to provide a disclaimer before their involvement. I know it's important to small minded people that "their side" is seen as the intellectual one, the other guys are bumbling morons etc, that's not particularly inclusive thinking.

Without my first sentence, written after the second was written, my question is dismissed as racist when the intention wasn't and it isn't.

That we need to have a ceremony of duck duck goose, knocking all the ways something might be twisted into racist, homophobic or otherwise allegedly bigoted on the head before getting to the actual discussion of the issue represents a constraint in my opinion.

Not everyone with a valid question or position is going to also have the forethought to provide a disclaimer before their involvement. I know it's important to small minded people that "their side" is seen as the intellectual one, the other guys are bumbling morons etc, that's not particularly inclusive thinking.
Who dismissed it as racist? I can't see that anyone did as such.

Is there a discussion to be had about whether people who haven't grown up in a football culture, and potentially haven't experienced it, being the ones to enforce acceptable standards within it?
Yep. That is completely reasonable but it would be somewhat hypocritical given we're so happy to allow western militaries to dictate what happens in foreign nations with no real understanding of life and culture there.

I'll tag you the next time it comes up.
I think you're being dramatic. Most posters here would trust that you're not racialising the issue because they're familiar with you. Of course, there are other posters who we'd assume are using it as a cover for racism because that's what they always do.

I think you're being dramatic. Most posters here would trust that you're not racialising the issue because they're familiar with you. Of course, there are other posters who we'd assume that they're just using it as a cover for racism because that's what they always do.

The only intent I can control is my own, but I am subject to the assumed intent from others.

Many of the lefties lack self awareness.

This is how this plays out....

Random Poster: I am concerned about the levels of street crime in Melbourne town. Just the other day I was walking my dog, and was accosted by a group of teens. Can we have a discussion on this problem, and how we as a community can work towards a solution?

KV: Solution? You mean 'final solution' don't you! NAZI!

Gough: You're obviously a homophobe, and a bigot.

Chief: This is a private business and I can do whatever I want. If you don't like it go to stormfront.

Malifice: You're a RWNJ who enabled the christchurch shooter. I won't allow this place to be overrun by right wing extremists. Not on my watch!

Also, I'm a lawyer.

CM86: Did you kiss the teens on the mouth?

Whataboutist #1: Domestic violence is a far greater problem.

Yeah nah the debate flows smoothly and is not stifled.:rolleyes:

Many of the lefties lack self awareness.

This is how this plays out....

Random Poster: I am concerned about the levels of street crime in Melbourne town. Just the other day I was walking my dog, and was accosted by a group of teens. Can we have a discussion on this problem, and how we as a community can work towards a solution?

KV: Solution? You mean 'final solution' don't you! NAZI!

Gough: You're obviously a homophobe, and a bigot.

Chief: This is a private business and I can do whatever I want. If you don't like it go to stormfront.

Malifice: You're a RWNJ who enabled the christchurch shooter. I won't allow this place to be overrun by right wing extremists. Not on my watch!

Also, I'm a lawyer.

CM86: Did you kiss the teens on the mouth?

Whataboutist #1: Domestic violence is a far greater problem.

Yeah nah the debate flows smoothly and is not stifled.:rolleyes:

I don't agree with the point your making, but that's a pretty spot on parody of those posters haha

What a laughable post. It's always attacking black people/Muslims. There was a poster calling for the Sudanese in Australia to be eradicated/exterminated.

But sure, reasoned debate lol.

I believe he used the term eradicated, not exterminated, then clarified by saying he was talking about the problem being eradicated. But congratulations on going full KV. One person doesn't characterise a debate.

Yes, the poster definitely meant that. Similarly to Fraser Anning being blissfully ignorant to the meaning of final solution.

Absolutely.

Absolutely. You nailed it twice. Bravo for being a rational adult.

Seriously, what would some person from a very different culture make of our usual behavior at the football, and how could we expect them to make rational authoritarian judgements based upon what must appear to them as truly bizarre behavior? It's very poor personnel management.*

*I state this in the knowledge that there are intellectual juveniles out there who will automatically paint me as someone with a swastika tattooed on my forehead.

People publicly self-flagellating for completely normal behaviour at the footy. This is what we have come to.

Last week, watching the Lions (sixth on the ladder) get rolled by Carlton (stone-cold last), I found myself – late in the match – on my feet. First screaming BALL!! Then: FOR F---S SAKE!!!! And then, in case my feelings on the matter weren’t perfectly clear: BOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!​
I’m not proud of it. Emotion got the better of me. I was embarrassed in front of my young friend (although he thought it was hilarious). Was that antisocial behaviour?​

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl...-of-antisocial-behaviour-20190617-p51ygf.html

People publicly self-flagellating for completely normal behaviour at the footy. This is what we have come to.

Last week, watching the Lions (sixth on the ladder) get rolled by Carlton (stone-cold last), I found myself – late in the match – on my feet. First screaming BALL!! Then: FOR F---S SAKE!!!! And then, in case my feelings on the matter weren’t perfectly clear: BOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!​
I’m not proud of it. Emotion got the better of me. I was embarrassed in front of my young friend (although he thought it was hilarious). Was that antisocial behaviour?​

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl...-of-antisocial-behaviour-20190617-p51ygf.html

It's about MARKETING mate. It's about Disneyfication! Is it any surprise that Marvel is the hot spot?

It's about MONEY mate

Gillon's new masters at "Marvel" want to turn the football in to a McDonalds playground, so they can max out their $uggestible marketing audience.

Do you think these corporate scumbags are forking out money because they love AFL football?

The entire sport and industry is undergoing further GENTRIFICATION for corporate and political MONEY.

This is why we have the likes of Whately, Robinson, Maher etc. as the major voices in the media!!!! Honestly ask yourself this, do they actually provide any insightful football analysis EVER?! Anything?!

Hell NO!!!

Then why are they always there front & centre gobbling up a major slice of the media air time???!!!

Because they are $OCIAL MARKETEER$!

They are front line soldiers in the GENTRIFICATION of AFL football!!!!

As for political influence, do you seriously believe all those tens & tens of millions are forked over without a catch attached to them? Seriously?

I think you're being dramatic. Most posters here would trust that you're not racialising the issue because they're familiar with you. Of course, there are other posters who we'd assume are using it as a cover for racism because that's what they always do.
Reactionaries justify their hostility and views via preemptive grievance.

They are always under attack, being bullied, the left is ruining the world, it's the lefts fault they do bad things because the ess jay dubbyas are big meanies etc. etc.

The world as it stands is ruled by the right, who just * up constantly and still act like they are the ones being trodden on.