News Izak Rankine, Gold coast holding Rankine to Ransom- #FreeIzak

• Thread starter Thread starter GROTTO

What will be the trade with the Suns? (Crows posters only, NO opposition supporters)

Anyone who says no jab no job can f!@k off in my book.
This is a new disease don't forget. The evidence at the time was that vaccination significantly reduced hospitalisation, death and probably viral transmission so it was a reasonable policy at the time.

With Omicron, the current evidence is that vaccination largely prevents hospitalisation and death, but has less effect on transmission hence the change in policy. As with all good science, opinion changes as new evidence emerges which is the whole point of ongoing research in science, medicine, climate change, football, tiddlywinks and just about everything else in the universe.

I'd trade our first next year for both of Sydneys first rounders this year. Give GC one of those picks and keep the other for Keeler (or if they believe we have someone better who is a power midfielder, do it). Our first next year is probably around 8-10 so would be tasty for a team that will probably have a high end pick next year.

We should cash in this year with some good picks. There is no guarantee that Francis will walk next year so unless our working behind the scenes says otherwise, we should try and get some elite talent in. The thought of Keeler and Filf roaming the ground in ruck and forward after years of Rob makes me happy.

As I say, unless we are dead confident of Francis, we should target a FA in 2023...even if we are confident, target a FA, swap our 2024 first and a player, preferably Rob ( nothing against him, better trade value with Goldenshowerstein coming to retirement)

Coirtesy of Jon Ralph..

Wreck It Ralph: The 2022 AFL Trade Period’s best-value potential moves ranked​

The big deals will get all the attention during AFL trade period. But clubs are working hard behind the scenes to secure this year’s Pat Lipinski. We rank the best potential bargains.

6. Izak Rankine (Gold Coast)​

He’s not on the top of this list because Gold Coast will ask the world for Rankine and eventually accept a first and second-rounder.

But for Adelaide, which has had decidedly mixed fortunes with recent high picks, it is worth the price.

He gives legitimate marketing power, he is 22, adds goal power, he takes attention off Josh Rachele as he enters his second year, and eases pressure on Matthew Nicks, who has a contract to 2024 but has only 18 wins in three rebuilding seasons.

Of his 241 possessions this year, 111 were score involvements including 29.21 and 25 direct score assists.

Izak Rankine won’t come cheap, but it will be worth it for the Crows. Picture: Robert Cianflone/Getty Images

8. Josh Dunkley (Western Bulldogs)​

What price do you put on Ken Hinkley extending his coaching career?

The Port Adelaide list team can’t bring in Josh Dunkley just to suit Ken Hinkley’s contract situation, but there is no doubt Hinkley will need a finals finish next year to stay at the club past 2023.

Port Adelaide believe Dunkley is worth one first-rounder given he is no longer contracted, with the Dogs asking for two first-rounders when Essendon tried to pry him out mid-deal in 2020.

He’s a damn fine player – 14 tackles, 23 possessions and a goal in the losing elimination final as one more example.

And, at Port Adelaide, he would perfectly complement the emerging mids in Connor Rozee and Zac Butters, with Ollie Wines still going strong and Travis Boak a wonder, but 34 years of age.

The Power should think about it this way – if they get an end-of-first-round compo pick for the departing Karl Amon they should be open to handing over pick 8 for Dunkley and sweetening the deal given the impact he would have in 2023.

5. Junior Rioli (West Coast)​

Junior Rioli might still stay at West Coast on a three-year deal rather than accept Port Adelaide’s four-year deal on bigger money.

But if he does request a Port Adelaide trade, given the Eagles offer is far from massive a second-round pick would surely suffice.

The Power doesn’t need the pick and they have vast cap space.

And they need Rioli.

Sam Powell-Pepper (24 goals) had a career-best year and almost all of Connor Rozee’s came from the midfield (15 were from round 11 onwards) but Robbie Gray and Steven Motlop retired and Orazio Fantasia didn’t play a single minute of senior AFL football this year.

Port Adelaide would depend on Rioli to be injury-free, after hamstring issues this year, and settled off-field given the passing of his father and his desire to set up his family and support his mother.

But if Port Adelaide can get him right, he’s all upside and a chance to meet his potential after an admittedly much-hyped career for a player who has never averaged more than 1.3 goals a game.
Hmmm - seemed to have missed the fact that Rankine is also out of contract. The contrast to players leaving GWS for Vic clubs will be interesting. Presumably will be justified as GWS doing this to control the salary cap, so should be thankful for a generous 4th round offer from the Vic clubs

I'd trade our first next year for both of Sydneys first rounders this year. Give GC one of those picks and keep the other for Keeler (or if they believe we have someone better who is a power midfielder, do it). Our first next year is probably around 8-10 so would be tasty for a team that will probably have a high end pick next year.

We should cash in this year with some good picks. There is no guarantee that Francis will walk next year so unless our working behind the scenes says otherwise, we should try and get some elite talent in. The thought of Keeler and Filf roaming the ground in ruck and forward after years of Rob makes me happy.

As I say, unless we are dead confident of Francis, we should target a FA in 2023...even if we are confident, target a FA, swap our 2024 first and a player, preferably Rob ( nothing against him, better trade value with Goldenshowerstein coming to retirement)
Would be ironic if with the Dawson pick we pick up Rankine as well

Really ! .....your link was supposed to indicate "no injury history to see here" .....my recollections are different and are supported by his early games played record

1662980352830.png

ADELAIDE v Richmond,
Saturday, 7.40pm, AAMI Stadium
The Crows are hoping to renew acquaintances with former teammate Kane Johnson this week, even though the Richmond midfielder is in some doubt with a hamstring problem
1662980898989.png

1662981229880.png

Reckon that would be pushing it too far, pick 12 for Rankine would be fair

Giving us that pick in the 20s for Lyon that they weren't going to use would have been fair, they gave us pick 43. I mean that pick might still be 15 so it isn't like we are being unreasonable, happy to give them a future third because I hear they might need points for a whole bunch of gifts next year.

We should 100% be waiting for the gws trades to go down before we even think about closing the Rankine deal.
If those guys can walk for peanuts as proven quality the AFL and the Suns can take exactly what we want to give for Rankine.
No way in hell is it anything in the top 10.

Reckon that would be pushing it too far, pick 12 for Rankine would be fair
Which you would think would be gettable from GWS if we look to split #5.

Playstation trade time

Crows
Out: F1 (1-12)
In: Rankine, Freo F1 (6-18)

Freo
Out: P14 & F1 (6-18)
In: Jackson

Out: Jackson
In: Crows F1 (1-12)

Suns
Out: Rankine
In: P14 (If comparing to Cameron trade seems fair)

I'm probably talking out my arse tho

Edit: Maybe a few later picks to Freo from somewhere.

Playstation trade time

Crows
Out: F1 (1-12)
In: Rankine, Freo F1 (6-18)

Freo
Out: P14 & F1 (6-18)
In: Jackson

Out: Jackson
In: Crows F1 (1-12)

Suns
Out: Rankine
In: P14 (If comparing to Cameron trade seems fair)

I'm probably talking out my arse tho

Edit: Maybe a few later picks to Freo from somewhere.
We make out like bandits in that deal

People arent saying they are outright busts though..

Just first round busts.. in that they were taken in the first round and havent lived up to the value of a forst round pick..
a lot are saying bust because they havent burst onto the scene like Nick Daicos or JHF. I think we overstate the value of a first round pick. We equate first round picks to potential star, but looking at drafts a decade ago (players have already retired or nearing retirement) we can see that around half the first round picks never amount to much.

Id rate Doedee, Rachelle as draft hits
Milera, Fog, Thilthorpe, Pedlar as potential hits
Jones, McHenry as Average
McAsey, Gooch as draft fails

Farknell. On Footy Classified just finished a segment on how wonderful it is with Hopper and Taranto going to Richmond (“congratulations to Richmond” was the term used) they end by asking if it’s a problem that GWS are losing all their players and the conversation quickly turns to the Suns losing Rankine.

a lot are saying bust because they havent burst onto the scene like Nick Daicos or JHF. I think we overstate the value of a first round pick. We equate first round picks to potential star, but looking at drafts a decade ago (players have already retired or nearing retirement) we can see that around half the first round picks never amount to much.

Id rate Doedee, Rachelle as draft hits
Milera, Fog, Thilthorpe, Pedlar as potential hits
Jones, McHenry as Average
McAsey, Gooch as draft fails

Besides GWS and GC who had numerous picks in that time, many other clubs have 4 “average” to fail picks?

And no we are not calling bust because they haven’t burst on to the scene, that’s a furphy to try and demean the criticism.

Gallucci is a bust. We overlooked quality players.
McAsey is no where near it and has been on the list for 3 years. We overlooked quality players.
Jones and McHenry been on the list for longer and are worse than average footballers that would attract zero interest if they were looking to leave. In Jones case we overlooked Butters.

But hey, what does it matter, it’s only 4 first round picks in a short space of time.

Besides GWS and GC who had numerous picks in that time, many other clubs have 4 “average” to fail picks?

And no we are not calling bust because they haven’t burst on to the scene, that’s a furphy to try and demean the criticism.

Gallucci is a bust. We overlooked quality players.
McAsey is no where near it and has been on the list for 3 years. We overlooked quality players.
Jones and McHenry been on the list for longer and are average footballers that would attract zero interest if they were looking to leave. In Jones case we overlooked Butters.

But hey, what does it matter, it’s only 4 first round picks in a short space of time.
We based our rebuild on going to the draft with early picks. No big deal that a lot of them suck.