Coach Michael Voss - Stats, history, articles, videos

Gee Average teams like Geelong pretty sure those comments need reviewed.
Geelong has been almost the benchmark club of the Afl in the last 20 years, they will there again this year at the business end of the year.
If l am not mistaken Geelong beat Adelaide over there recently?
I’m talking about this year not the last 20 years.

Any team that has been beaten by Carlton and StKilda, away from GMHBA stadium, is average in my opinion. Ten home games at GMHBA flogging teams like Freo and Melbourne will guarantee them a top 8 position no doubt.

Beating Collingwood at the G will help as well...!

Just saying...

Geelong definitely didnt punish our skill errors, they were terrible by foot.

Adelaide were running at circa 75% by foot at 3qtr time and we were low 50s.

Foot skills improve dramatically when you run with the ball. Adelaide run with the ball in hand quite a lot against us.

The reason being that when a player starts to run with the ball the opposition defence panics. Players get lost in the transition from zone defence to one on one defending. it also brings the targets closer to you and the space at the back of the zone becomes available. A ball carrier who is able to run away from their opponents gets time to assess their options, it takes the pressure off the kicker, so they are more likely to see a target than to kick to a contest or opposition player.

If you can't run and carry the footy then you will be stuck kicking the ball up the line into heavy congestion and do exactly what the defending sides are trying to make you do. Most of the time this is us.

We ran and carried the ball a lot against the cats for us and what followed was that the targets opened up and space came about. Adelaide ran and carried a lot against us and our defence had little chance on stopping them.

Our issues are not just foot skills. It's our inability to create targets to kick to. This inability comes from our inability to run with the footy in hand. Against Geelong, they failed to defend this and are that little bit slower so we were able to do it. When we tried to do it against Adelaide they just run us down, on the flip side when they started to run it and run in waves they just gained ground on us, we could not get near them.

Yes defensively we failed against Adelaide as well, we should have manned up the outlets and tried to stop their run game and make it an ugly game for both sides. So there were two main reasons we failed against the Crows. Being too slow and trying to play a fast team's game style and being too slow in general.

So coaching and leg speed. Long story short, if you can't and don't run with the footy, your kicking efficiency will be poor. You must carry the ball to create options to give yourself a chance to hit targets and go with a high kicking efficiency.

Yes this does come back on Voss. He has not prioritised leg speed and kicking skills with his team selection and with his direction to the recruiting staff.

Geez I wish we were as average as Geelong.

Voss the player = An all time great.
Voss the person = Widely respected
Voss the coach = Meh

Tis the reality of the situation. Albeit he's better performed in front of the media than some of our recent coaches but I think if I'm a player and you realise this guy is not the greatest at tactics, not coaching skills, not coaching or guiding my line coach to be in synch, then what really is he doing as head coach?

So coaching and leg speed. Long story short, if you can't and don't run with the footy, your kicking efficiency will be poor. You must carry the ball to create options to give yourself a chance to hit targets and go with a high kicking efficiency.

Yes this does come back on Voss. He has not prioritised leg speed and kicking skills with his team selection and with his direction to the recruiting staff.
Agree we lack players that can run for a whole game and create options and opportunities. How much of our list issues is due to Vossy or Nick Austin’s doing is hard to tell gb.

Ollie has the running capacity and runs to make position. Cottrell can run but seems to have to play a defensive role (looked great passing to the forwards when we had the run of play). Elijah has terrific skills and can create opportunities. It would’ve been great to see Jagga’s evasive and distribution skills.

Unfortunately, we don’t have enough and maybe another 3 or 4 that can run and carry might be the difference. Cody Walker due in 2027 season would be a great addition in this regard.

You can assess the future of the club by the order of the impending sackings.
If Voss is sacked & Austin, Lloyd and the assistants remain we will not break this 30 year cycle.
If Voss is sacked after the above, we can move forward
Think the logical order should be…

Remove Lloyd asap (think just about everyone agrees with this)

Let the new HoF be part of decision making for any changes in list management, HC and assistants.

Likewise, HC needs to be sorted before assistants - he’ll be part of decision making for any changes in assistants.

Geelong will be in the mix in September again this year, the good teams don't peak in April.
Well coached & talent identification is superior to most clubs, in a challenging competition they are the benchmark club to aspire to.

From someone on the weekend who would know. Nothing we don’t already suspect but interesting to hear it from another perspective.
  • Voss is not perfect but he’s not the biggest problem
  • inconsistency across his tenure due to fluctuating factors some which he doesnt directly control. ie. injuries; list gaps; big contracts; also identified adding “layers” to game plan was messy.
  • playing group is connected and together. enough talent on the list but big discrepancies in hunger/ commitment across the group. Mentally fragile - not just from a toughness perspective but the ability to fulfil basics week to week.

From someone on the weekend who would know. Nothing we don’t already suspect but interesting to hear it from another perspective.
  • inconsistency across his tenure due to fluctuating factors some which he doesnt directly control. ie. injuries; list gaps; big contracts; also identified adding “layers” to game plan was messy.
  • playing group is connected and together. enough talent on the list but big discrepancies in hunger/ commitment across the group. Mentally fragile - not just from a toughness perspective but the ability to fulfil basics week to week.

I’ve suspected this, good to know I’m not imagining things.

I’ve said it before, but there’s a few of our blokes who dont care about winning that much.

The issue is that if someone doesn’t have the ability to fulfill the basics week on week and they continue to be selected thats 100% on those that continue to select them.

Imagine how disheartening and/or frustrating it is for those giving it everything every week knowing that conditional players will continue to be selected if they turn up on the day or not.

3-5 record this year and the smallest injury list we’ve had in years. No, I reckon Michael Voss is just a really shit coach.
Where do you rate him on the shitness scale compared to Malthouse, Bolton, Barker and Teague ?

I can’t actually rate it mate. But yikes, what a list of incompetence. :(

This is pretty close to an oxy moron. Enough talent on the list but mentally weak and unable to perform basics week to week?

Seems to me this is well within the expectations of a coach.

The issue is that if someone doesn’t have the ability to fulfill the basics week on week and they continue to be selected thats 100% on those that continue to select them.

Imagine how disheartening and/or frustrating it is for those giving it everything every week knowing that conditional players will continue to be selected if they turn up on the day or not.
Couldn’t have said it any better. Bravo. :clapping:

Sure he is not the biggest problem but he is a big part of it. All coaches face injuries and list gaps but they do a far better job of managing that. If you are getting beaten regulary and adding layers to your game plan is considered messy then you have the wrong game plan. Of course our players are mentally fragile because the list consists of 95% beta males because that's who the club chases. They need their social justice warriors. Even so a big part of coach/coaches job is to get the players in the right frame of mind. There are lots of factors that come into a coaches job and from what I see Voss is lacking in a lot of those factors. The saving grace is Graham Wright he has the resume on the board of being successful. Whether or not the board will let him do it is another story.

Please go back and tell them point 2 is a cop out of the biggest degree.

I don’t think we have enough talent, or more accurately that this group has the right mix of talent.

A lot of good inside midfielders, but not enough skilled running players to match the top teams in my opinion. Also our non Harry/Charlie forwards are inconsistent and below par.

We got some talent but we also have serious gaps in talent that can get exposed as it did last Saturday.

Sounds like someone needs to go light a freakin bonfire and gather the boys to sing kumbaya.

There's a huge gap between players that want to play vs players that feel like playing.

This football club has more drama than a soap opera.

Our methodology for development is when someone breaks a leg in the seniors.

Coach Michael Voss - Stats, history, articles, videos