Rumour GFC 2025 Player Trading, Drafting FA, Rumours and Wish lists Pt 2

• Thread starter Thread starter cats_09

If we're now putting our hand up for Jackson would that indicated that Reid isn't the done deal some think it is. I guess we can't do the deal unless WCE sign off but if we're giving up picks for him, it doesn't bode well for Reid as a future target.

The Flagmantle facebook page. It's where I go at all times for my Geelong related news.

Look, it's possible, but I'll be entertaining the idea when someone like Twomey or Cleary bring it to the mainstream.

Reid, Worpel, Butters, JUH, Oliver, and Rowell have at least least reached the mainstream, with varying coverage.

Doesn't mean any of them will happen, but it's a better source than some 12 year old on Facebook.

Geelong are a big club for clicks, as is a player of Jacksons calibre and contract.

If there's even a hint of smoke, that would get reported on.

I was more alarmed with SDK struggling under pressure and zoning off where he should had been tightening up to help Cos and co

Really looked like he has checked out imo and should just be in the ruck for the rest of the year …he isn’t a defender he needs solid people around him to make him work hard

Disagree with this comment Strange Cat: as SDK is more than capable 'of manning up' but the coaches are the ones allowing him to do what he doing at present. Just listen to his interview the other day and he made reference at least 3 times that he's really happy playing as a backman 'his way' and it was such an odd comment coming from a key backman but the very reason he said it at least 3 times 'worried me greatly' at the time. I know how SDK prefers at times to zone off and 'play his way' but the problem we have is when he gets it wrong it invariably costs us a goal, he did the same thing against the Woods last week a number of times of which we were very lucky to get away with. I think the coaches to some extent are allowing him to play this way to appease him but personally I think it BS 'playing his way' and I'd put a immediate stop to it coz it's hurting us 'bigtime'.

PS - Even back in 2022 when he played so well he would still allow his opposition opponent, who he was beating comfortably... to go up the ground unattended and win easy possession, thus allowing his opponent to gain confidence. So it has been in his mindset for sometime but now it's much, much worse, coz now it's not even up the ground and he really is costing us games with this mindset but as far as I'm concerned the coaches are to blame to keep allowing him to play this way. Quiet honesty, it's a very easy problem to fix as long as the coaches correct this issue and SDK follows suit which he is more than capable of doing.

Couldn't have said it better myself. Surely, SURELY he's not meeting any off ball metrics to offset the poor on ball metrics?

He doesn't pressure, he doesn't tackle outside a guy within arms reach, he doesn't contest enough for a kid his size.
I tired, i really did to stick up for Ollie Henry, his goals output the last couple years offset his deficiencies but it's time.
The kid is mentally not there and he's shirking footy, its bad at AFL level let alone lower levels doing it.

Time to give some boys a chance at it, totally get Jumping Jack and his point about team balance but with blokes coming back, Polk playing some good stuff at VFL level i reckon its time.
Hell even Stevens i'd be keen to give a chance in Clarky's spot.

We shouldn't die wondering, we need to keep regenerating talent through the list, we are not nearly good enough to lock in an unchangable 23.

This is Jay's stats but it doesn't tell the full story, he kicks goals and that's awesome, the marks and tackles that i love. You can't see the pressure but it's there. He does it well.

He doesn't just hit the ground and stop.
He chases and does the little things that Rohan did, i love that.
Give the kid a go!

View attachment 2312376
want to see. The little pressure acts don't show up herw

Wrote a piece on Jay Polkinghorne last night FootyLad0: as I've been ultra keen on him after we drafted him, then seeing his previous highlights. So what I wrote about last night after watching much of the Geelong ressies game against GWS who are undefeated is that Jay Polkinghorne is easily ability and talent wise our best young player in ressies. Referred to him ability and talent wise as very similar to Cooper Sharman for the Saints, so the kids got heaps of talent and my only concern outside him understandably still lacking high level experience is having a tank that's AFL ready which would be a hard ask given he has had only one 'light preseason' but also to take into consideration is that he is still only 18 years old!

But outside his undoubted talent which is glaringly obvious, he did execute an awesome tackle against GWS at centre half forward that immediately resulted in a Geelong ressies goal. That type of tackle suggested he can really nail a 'big tackle' as he is extremely strong for his size and has lots of power as he needed both athleticism, strength and power to nail that tackle the way he did.... stopped the guy in his tracks, it was brilliant! He also took a couple of excellent contested marks leading up to the wing/half back line when we were struggling to get the ball forward which was also ultra impressive.

Pretty sure the only actual link to him was a very reliable Carlton ITK telling us we were shopping Conway around, which must mean we're bringing in a ruck somewhere right..... right?

Shopping Conway around means we plan to upgrade our rucks. It doesn't mean we are spending 1.7mil a year to do it.

Nah we certainly showed interest in TDK (as any club doing it's due diligence would). The club has been in regular contact with his manager along the way.

I've asked around re the Conway stuff and it was shut down as not true (being traded). The Conway situation is nowhere near as bleak as some in here have suggested. He could've played a lot more footy than what he has but the club has been ultra conservative at any sign of stress on his body. I think we'll see him and Edwards play a good chunk of footy in the second half of the season.

Conway can barely blow out a candle endurance wise. Being 'conservative' is just a PR line to protect him and the club. He's not fit enough to play 1s at this stage or he would be playing.

Apart from Jackson's manager wanting a contract upgrade no there's nothing to it. And with Darcy crocked and untraceable they can't afford to trade Jackson anyway.
That’s why I have taken everything stated on player A or B, that they’re a lock; I can’t see most of any of it actually happening. We don’t have much to offer in the way of picks, so any early release is fanciful.

Apart from Jackson's manager wanting a contract upgrade no there's nothing to it. And with Darcy crocked and untraceable they can't afford to trade Jackson anyway.
No haven't you heard, for the 5th time they have got him to drop weight and fix his issues, In fact he is so healthy that Freo are going to trade him out for cheap to keep the competition even.

The Flagmantle facebook page. It's where I go at all times for my Geelong related news.

Look, it's possible, but I'll be entertaining the idea when someone like Twomey or Cleary bring it to the mainstream.

Reid, Worpel, Butters, JUH, Oliver, and Rowell have at least least reached the mainstream, with varying coverage.

Doesn't mean any of them will happen, but it's a better source than some 12 year old on Facebook.

Geelong are a big club for clicks, as is a player of Jacksons calibre and contract.

If there's even a hint of smoke, that would get reported on.
Question, why would you go to that page for Geelong news?

Let’s say both Reid and Butters stay at their clubs next year. I don’t image we could bring both in at once at the end of 2026, from trade assets and/or salary (Port will match). Now it would be a great problem to have if they both picked Geelong. We can dream hey!

Long way to go, but if we land Worpel, one of Reid/Butters, Conway holds up, then we have all bases covered for a sustained run. The only hole is someone to replace Jezza in a few years.
Conway out for the season without playing a game, we need to seriously invest in another option, Stanley will finish up at the end of the season..

That counters earlier news from today that Conway & Edwards will be seen in the second half of the season

..and to be clinical… we need to start to see Conway …and preferably Edwards too ..although he has more time on his side. Conway could shout down all the speculation..come out and remind all why so many we positive about him. If we cant then we have to start to thinking about hard choices that might have to be made at some stage. He is contract till 2027 and he is still only 22 but that reasoning runs out sooner or later if he doesn't start to play. No one is expecting him to be Gary Dempsey at 22 but im betting we need to see him playing to be able to plan.

Not shocked to see Hawks offer Worpel something. Like I said at the time some of the media outlets dropped him being locked to us. It’s not the case, Saints the ones pushing hard. And I don’t believe he will be coming to us.

Absolutely no news from my sources about Jackson. I wish, he would be perfect and I’m sure [PLAYERCARD]Chris Scott[/PLAYERCARD] would be having wet dreams over him with our midfield but zero news.

Feels like a Freo thing to generate clicks using the Geelong name.

I’m sure on Gettable they’ll push Reid to Geelong harder this week. That’s the number one story and all of us dopamine riddled rats are desensitised to it.

JUH chatter will start up again soon after his respite. So that will scratch our itches.