Autopsy Round 20, 2025: Positives and Negatives vs Fremantle

Reading these posts of people losing their proverbial shit because we aren't very good right now is like seeing people complain because the sun is out. Everyone knew we'd be in for a rough year this year considering it's a new gameplan, Minis first year, We have pretty much the same cattle but older from last year.

We may have predicted some more wins but that would have been predicated on guys like Allen, Gov, Yeo, Waterman and Kelly having good seasons, not retiring/being bad at footy/Injured/Imploding.

Despite the results there has been clear improvement from the kids and in gameplan and it'll only improve with time, changing of personnel and experience.
Not everyone

Meanwhile we have:
  • Replaced our CEO
  • Replaced our head coach
  • Replaced our medical team
  • Replaced our strength and conditioning team
  • Twice split top 10 picks to bring in more talent
  • Taken a generational talent with pick 1
  • Moved on senior players (Barrass, Darling, maybe OA)
  • Targeted and traded in AFL quality senior players in the 26years+ category to fill a demographic gap (Hunt, Flynn, Baker, Graham, Owies)
  • Turned over our list significantly
  • Blooded nearly our entire list

Like... what more can we do?
Tim Gepp?

I firmly believe Tom Gross is best 22 and an out and out midfielder, I believe mini has stuffed up not playing him in recent weeks, play him as a HFF rotating through the midfield, to give him experience, I’m disappointed he hasn’t been played.

He shown plenty and got his contract extension.

He needs to bulk up and play on ball as that's where we need him. He doesn't have the tank to do that yet.

And we don't want to break him in his 1st season.

He will get a couple more games this season as a HHF. Kelly will go back full time on ball with Harley out with an ankle. No point risking playing our best player if he is proppy.

Those predictions are probably about right with a fit and firing Yeo, Waterman, Allen and McGovern. That’s an entire spine missing…

yes 49 points is probably a pass mark for a team 1-19 but even McQualter said the scoreline flattered us.
Port 12.15 v us including 2.6 in the 3rd
GWS 16.15 v us including 3.6 in the 4th

etc, etc
Can I just ask when was the last time a team kicked a perfect score? Like no points?

Can’t recall one, can you?

So hand wringing about what could have been is just that. Our two talls down back had less than 40 games experience between them. I think they did ok.

Well he had a stinker today.
Did he really have a bad day or was he umpiring to instructions. Lethal Leigh commented recently On The Couch that the AFL should tell the umpires how they want them to umpire and not the way they are being coached.
The obvious fix is to sack McBurney, hopefully shifting Kane sideways and appointing Swann helps to fix the problem.
Fingers crossed.

The result flattered us and should have been 100+ so not sure we should be high fiving ourselves about not doing as bad as North.
agree with this big time. Kinda sick of all post coming in and laughing at and finding solace in north, Essendon et al, while we are languishing 1-19.

Let’s fix our backyard first and foremost. I don’t really give a stuff about any other club

This might be controversial, but is Ginbey actually good? Like he’s obviously ok, but is he any better this ok?
Being asked to play as an undersized key position player after not having played previously as one is a big ask, especially for a 3rd year player in a team with little experience around him and the ball coming in clean. He has run and dash, takes the game on but makes some mistakes.

WCE_phil

Explain yourself about the fraud that is Matt Owies.

You either have absolutely no idea what you are doing as a recruiter.

Or you are lying and talking out of your ass about being a part of the eagles list management last season.

Show yourself.
You didn't really believe he was part of the recruiting team?

Gibney bashing is over the top.

As someone else posted look at the tasks he has had over the last 4 weeks (or so) and see how he has performed in a defence not getting a lot of support from up-field.

Cameron, Elliot, Cadman, Treacy. I think it fair to say he very much held sway in all of those contests (forget Cameron's purple patch at end of game) - holding Treacy goal less yesterday is no mean feat in a one sided game where the dockers had more forward 50 entries than us and, it has to be said, they had time to pick their targets.

no surprise the WA media is ignoring the fact Harley was boo'd and abused as he left the field injured by freo inbreds

If it was us it would be back page, front page. We'd never hear the end of it

no surprise the WA media is ignoring the fact Harley was boo'd and abused as he left the field injured by freo inbreds

If it was us it would be back page, front page. We'd never hear the end of it
I thought it was very odd on the broadcast when they showed Reid being walked off by the trainers and you could hear some booing, then it cut away and came back and Pav immediately said he wasn't booed and good to see Freo fans clap him off.

If he wasn't booed Pav, why was the first thing you instinctively did was to claim there was no booing, considering it's never mentioned in any other circumstance of a player being helped off by the trainers?

"Oh it could've been worse if they kicked straight" is the biggest cuck attitude going round.

They didn't, so it isn't. Grow a pair.

I'd like to counter with that if we'd kicked straighter, we would've won but unfortunately, that isn't even true.

I thought it was very odd on the broadcast when they showed Reid being walked off by the trainers and you could hear some booing, then it cut away and came back and Pav immediately said he wasn't booed and good to see Freo fans clap him off.

If he wasn't booed Pav, why was the first thing you instinctively did was to claim there was no booing, considering it's never mentioned in any other circumstance of a player being helped off by the trainers?
It was Schoey in fairness, but yes anyone claiming there weren’t jeers as he was helped off are probably the same people saying they’d genuinely prefer Murphy to Harley aka solely the Freo nuffs.

There was the standard polite applause too, it’s not like it was a universal showering of boos, but you’d have to be deaf and blind to have not picked up on the response.

Needed a stronger response to feces that were served up last week. That was a red line for me. Ive checked out this year.

Harley injured. Few youngsters hitting their limits in a long season. Wheels are wobbling.

Back of house has got some shit to sort out. Draft and trade period this year is the most significant in WC history with regards to getting it right with a mix of junior and senior talent acquisition. 4/5 immediate positive impact players.

WCE_syphilis needs to be sacked and banned for bringing the likes of Matt Owies to the Eagles. Cannot have his foolishness tolerated.

Me constantly showing vitriol about Harley’s draft class?

McKercher is a crab whenever I watch North, Watson is a flog and I doubt I’m the only person on the internet who thinks that, and beyond that I couldn’t pick the rest out them out of a lineup of one.

Genuinely not even sure who else was in the cohort. As far as light ribbing directled my way this one might be one of the more misplaced?

I’ve just googled the class and I reckon there’s about four non Eagles I have an opinion of, several of which I doubt I’ve ever posted (Morris and Freijah play good footy, better off saving the server space that posting that scorcher of a take).

Dude just take the compliment, don't have to take it too seriously yes Sheezle, Daicos, Ashcroft were in different drafts but same diff. It's good value. Vitriol done right. I also approve of the vitriol agains the umpires in the same threads you're just saying what everyone is thinking.