Toast Welcome to Freo Murphy Reid - pick 17 of the 2024 Draft

• Thread starter Thread starter Tonga Bob

Hes the smartest footballer I have ever seen. I dont mean for a first year player. He is the smartest footballer I have ever witnessed.

Iv played a couple of WAFL games myself, I like to think I have a good understanding of decision making under pressure. Its something im always keeping a close eye on.

Murphy Reid makes better decisions than I can sitting with a birds eye from the couch.

He is a genuine freak.

I noticed in his recent media that he referenced that he isn’t quick. I am sure that is correct but I have not noticed it on the field, when he competes one on one he always seems to hold his own and has made some great runs down the wing, I certainly never get the Sonny or Raz lack of pace feelings.
And a very very quick brain!

I have watched the highlight at 17 seconds about 5 times and it still makes no sense. Reid handballs with his left hand over his right shoulder, on the boundary line, in a way that gives Darcy space. Slow it down and you see that, at the moment of making the handball, Darcy is not in his line of vision. Alll this is done in a split second.

I reckon only about 5 percent of players in the AFL would go for that handball, and not many would make it. The kid's a freak.
Most footballers I can see what they need to do with the ball. He does thing I don’t expect.

Reid makes decisions that are totally out of box yet exactly what is needed.

Amazing footy brain.

Most footballers I can see what they need to do with the ball. He does thing I don’t expect.

Reid makes decisions that are totally out of box yet exactly what is needed.

Amazing footy brain.
This.

What impresses me most is the way he influences the field position of other players using nothing but disposal.

Unlike other players, the guy does not ever pass to a team mate

No -- he only ever passes to a team mates best advantage.

He passes the ball slightly to your left, you run slightly to your left to receive, and in the process you receive the ball while also avoiding all opposing players around you.

That's why he gets so many score assists... He directs the players around him by passing.

Every time he disposes of the ball, he's moving his team mates around the field like they were chess pieces, in order for them to be in the best position to score.

Some may say big deal, that's what all players should do.

But if you watch him, after he disposes of the ball he will also sometimes point to where it should go next. Where other players kick to advantage to ensure their team keeps possession, he seemingly is passing to advantage to set up an entire sequence of linking play. It's like he already has a second pass in mind when disposing of it.

How the hell can this guy plan two or three moves ahead, on a bloody football field FFS? Nobody's ball movement system is THAT good

That is not just talent... That is goddamn '4D chess' level genius.

This.

What impresses me most is the way he influences the field position of other players using nothing but disposal.

He passes the ball slightly to your left, you run slightly to your left to receive, and in the process you receive the ball while also avoiding all opposing players around you.

That's why he gets so many score assists... He directs the players around him by passing.

Every time he disposes of the ball, he's moving his team mates around the field like they were chess pieces, in order for them to be in the best position to score.

But if you watch him, after he disposes of the ball he will also sometimes point to where it should go next. Where other players kick to advantage to ensure their team keeps possession, he seemingly is passing to advantage to set up an entire sequence of linking play. It's like he already has a second pass in mind when disposing of it.

How the hell can this guy plan two or three moves ahead, on a bloody football field FFS? Nobody's ball movement system is THAT good

It's actually reached ridiculous levels, how can a first year player be that good at it.

Part of me still says his physical attributes will limit his ceiling, the other part says jeez the guy is so good at 18, the sky is the limit.

This.

I mean I agree, but telling the receiver where to go next in a fundamental skill for all AFL players. Literally, the guy that has passed the ball to you has the best view of the field behind you and has time to assess the situation. They should always be giving the receiver a general direction to go next.

You see this from Treacy all the time, the guy is an elite pointer.

1753998827933.png

Oh My God Omg GIF by The Office

It's actually reached ridiculous levels, how can a first year player be that good at it.

Part of me still says his physical attributes will limit his ceiling, the other part says jeez the guy is so good at 18, the sky is the limit.

He doesn't yet have the body of a professional athlete, a few more preseasons. Sky is the limit. Imagine when he has the talent for those little taps to his own advantage and the strength to move his opponent away too.

I don't read Damo all the time but I've noticed he's very bullish on Freo, more than any supporter I know. Picked us to make the GF, got laughed at for tipping us to beat the Pies, when he was pretty harsh on us last year ( if he did mention us at all)