Oppo Camp The Non-North Footy Discussion & Matchday Chat Thread (NNFD&MCT) - PART X

• Thread starter Thread starter koshari

THIS. I said to a couple of colleagues at work about six or seven weeks ago that the Pies wont be in the grand final when they were three games clear, now I know there is still a way to go but my reasoning was towards the end of the year their older players will get found out in the bigger pressure games and finals.

They are a good side but again watching tonight, it was a combination of the brilliant two way running and pressure by the hawks that saw them completely and utterly destroyed and the sizzling pace by the hawks, good grief, some of those Collingwood players were so slow. All that and the Hawks still made some bad mistakes, if they had of cut some of those out it could and should have been in the 90 point range, something to think about.
They've been kind of average since Round 12. Only beaten sides in the bottom 8 since then.

The week they played us was the start of the form turnaround I think - took a great last quarter to get over even North, and important players started missing games for various reasons. I said a few weeks ago that they were getting a bit cute with selection and now they don’t have a team in form and playing cohesively when they need it. Defence without Howe is dodgy and the midfield is getting thumped.

Couldn't happen to a nicer club.

Not sure where this belongs, here or the Clarkson thread. Here will do.

I’d really love to have a coach like McRae. I know Collingwood are a big club, but they were in turmoil and predicted to be near the bottom when he took over and he shifted the narrative straight away by instilling expectation and belief.

He’s a dynamic and progressive coach who makes his own fortune and leaves no stone unturned in the quest to get better. I’m watching his press conference tonight and he’s angry, frustrated and not accepting what he saw tonight. Apologising to the 114,000 members and wondering if they bothered to sit through it all. He can be like that, but the guys respect him and believe in his method enough to know they need to turn it around in the coming weeks and it’s on them.

By contrast we have a bloke who, yes, achieved the absolute ultimate a decade ago.. But since then, what has he done to change his approach and be relevant anymore? He thinks that he can do what he did in 2005 with the same key people in charge and he thinks it will just happen again.. He sits there after losses that should piss him off and makes excuse after excuse to buy time, not holding anyone accountable. Not showing any visible disgust at what he witnessed to show the members he cares. Not setting any expectation or rewarding form in the 2’s. Not dropping people who need a spell. Not shaking it up on gameday. Just… not showing that he’s anything other than stubborn and irrelevant and goddamn it I do not want to hear about Hawthorn or Brisbane every ******* week. I don’t care.

Like, I look at other coaches and then I look at us and wonder what the **** we’re doing.
Are we a real football club?
“It takes four years and Clarkson missed half a year” oh come off it. We are chock full of top picks, 17th again and going nowhere.

Other clubs have demonstrated that it doesn’t have to be this way. Why can’t we?

At what stage do we get a version of Alastair Clarkson that starts acting like a real ****ing coach?

Of course he got Pagan to do the 100 year rev up. He doesn’t have it in him to deliver one. Better call in a proper coach to do the hard work.

Alastair - wake up.

I’d really love to have a coach like McRae. I know Collingwood are a big club, but they were in turmoil and predicted to be near the bottom when he took over and he shifted the narrative straight away by instilling expectation and belief.

He’s a dynamic and progressive coach who makes his own fortune and leaves no stone unturned in the quest to get better. I’m watching his press conference tonight and he’s angry, frustrated and not accepting what he saw tonight. Apologising to the 114,000 members and wondering if they bothered to sit through it all. He can be like that, but the guys respect him and believe in his method enough to know they need to turn it around in the coming weeks and it’s on them.

By contrast we have a bloke who, yes, achieved the absolute ultimate a decade ago.. But since then, what has he done to change his approach and be relevant anymore? He thinks that he can do what he did in 2005 with the same key people in charge and he thinks it will just happen again.. He sits there after losses that should piss him off and makes excuse after excuse to buy time, not holding anyone accountable. Not showing any visible disgust at what he witnessed to show the members he cares. Not setting any expectation or rewarding form in the 2’s. Not dropping people who need a spell. Not shaking it up on gameday. Just… not showing that he’s anything other than stubborn and irrelevant and goddamn it I do not want to hear about Hawthorn or Brisbane every ******* week. I don’t care.

Like, I look at other coaches and then I look at us and wonder what the **** we’re doing.
“It takes four years and Clarkson missed half a year” oh come off it. We are chock full of top picks, 17th again and going nowhere.

Other clubs have demonstrated that it doesn’t have to be this way. Why can’t we?

At what stage do we get a version of Alastair Clarkson that starts acting like a real ****ing coach?

Of course he got Pagan to do the 100 year rev up. He doesn’t have it in him to deliver one. Better call in a proper coach to do the hard work.

Alastair - wake up.
He rides on luck. Luck runs out

Alastair - wake up.
This. We are mikes away from other good teams. The Hawks are playing another sport compared to us. It’s so demoralising as a supporter.

Gordon Narrier was the 97th player taken in that draft. Absolutely the least of anyone's problems.
given he was part of a pathways program i agree in isolation barely contributes to our issues but the issue is its part of our bigger issues, talent identification is a desert at arden st, and whilst it would be unfair to single out Gordo there a congaline of draftees that are .01% chance at best, River Stevens is the latest example, i got more chance of being the next pope than this bloke has of making an AFL career .

But like Mahony, Drury and the dozens of other blokes that have marched before him its just a massive waste of resources with zero payback that could be directed at blokes with a scerric of a chance. i actually reckon this is where on the rare occasion Banga might be a chance, at least he had some real world form.

Gordon Narrier was the 97th player taken in that draft. Absolutely the least of anyone's problems.
Successful clubs don't lose interest just because it's a late or rookie pick.

Every selection is a potential AFL player and should be taken seriously.

Pies fans are livid. They've won as many games this year as we have in six. Shows how bad we are .
And we've lost last two games to Hawks by around 100. So a 10 goal loss would actually be a sign of improvement!
Pies fans are livid as they see the writing on the wall. They've lost to Hawks, Brissy, Freo and GC in the last five weeks, and they've got Adelaide away next week, and Melbourne who almost beat them last time in round 24 so can't rest players. Saw a Reddit post saying that technically, the Pies could drop out of the eight. Unlikely, but them finishing 5-8 exposes them to away elimination finals. Five weeks ago they were three games clear on top.

It would be nice if they did finish 5-8 and get the Bulldogs in the first week of the finals..

I did read the McRae apology to the supporters and think to myself "must be nice", meanwhile our club only apologizes to the players for someone being grumpy 4 years ago.

My whinge aside, great seeing the Collywobbles in full flight.

If we had a premiership side with this level of experience underperforming this badly I’d expect apologies and public slamming of players to come pretty quickly too. A discussion about Collingwood is as non-North as it gets so no, it’s not the place for yet another whinge about Clarkson.

Alastair - wake up.
I really don't think that you can compare Clarkson and McRae.

McRae took over a side that was near the bottom of the ladder but had only played in a grand final a couple of years earlier. He also inherited a gun father son in Daicos.

Collingwood are also able to keep topping their playing list up with players from other clubs.

The press conference that McRae did last night he is able to do because he has a mature list that he can put a rocket up.

Our playing list is a lot younger and is a team that is trying to learn how to win and putting a rocket up them would have the opposite effect.

I really look forward to having the days again when we can go to games feeling confident.

I really don't think that you can compare Clarkson and McRae.

McRae took over a side that was near the bottom of the ladder but had only played in a grand final a couple of years earlier. He also inherited a gun father son in Daicos.

Collingwood are also able to keep topping their playing list up with players from other clubs.

The press conference that McRae did last night he is able to do because he has a mature list that he can put a rocket up.

Our playing list is a lot younger and is a team that is trying to learn how to win and putting a rocket up them would have the opposite effect.

I really look forward to having the days again when we can go to games feeling confident.

The opposite effect?

Mate how much worse can it get? We’re already at 17th. Worth the risk.

We have enough mature players now and enough games under the belt of the young players to absolutely start expecting more.

North absolutely can be compared to Collingwood. That is, if we want to be a professional organisation as well. There’s no comparison at the moment because we are not one and don’t aspire to be one.

Got to laugh about these guys on 7 talking about how good it will be to see Cameron kick 100 in the season.....

Only problem is the past ton goal kickers did it in seasons...not finals like it will take cameron to do if he gets there.

But don't let it get in the way of their story 😆

Only problem is the past ton goal kickers did it in seasons...not finals like it will take cameron to do if he gets there.
I dunno… 25 in 3 weeks with * and Tuggers? Kicks an average of 8.3 a game is totally possible. They’ll feed him at every opportunity. I believe it may be history