AFLW NMFC AFLW 2025 | 27 straight wins | 29 games unbeaten | Back to Back premiers 2024/25 | Invincibles | KLWT is a Roo w/ #37

Was just looking through the fixture for our prime time games… you know considering we won the flag undefeated and all…

What’s considered a prime time game in the AFLW?

The fixture is ****ed.

That said, I'm looking forward to watching some actually competitive North Melbourne football this weekend when me and the family drive down to Geelong.

Side note; can anyone recommend where to park for the game?
Can always get a park in the side streets between Pakington St and Latrobe Tce for an AFL game. Clarendon Hotel opposite the ground used to do a good feed, but changed ownership and looks completely different now.

Another question about Geelong (I haven't been down to Kardinia Park for a game in over a decade); are they likely to let people on the ground after the game for kick-to-kick? Does anyone know?
I’m not sure but I don’t recall it happening. There’s plenty of space outside the ground. It’s a nice stadium as a fan, just the location is inconvenient.

Opening game - Carlton vs Collingwood.

Advertising on buses with AFLW players- Collingwood

That premiership really opened up a lot of commercial doors.
The best AFLW season performance by a side ever and we are licking boots and taking scraps.

I guess this is also where we do non-North W chat - if the two games last night are any guide, the standard has jumped and the perennial competition leaders will have to improve too (every day, TM Crock) to stay in front. Four pretty meh clubs up to now were scheduled to kick off the season and there were players in all four sides lighting it up, and more signs of playing to systems.

Agree it was good to watch last night , however, at team can only play to its best if the opposition lets them. With the gap between the top 3-4 clubs and the rest of the comp being larger than the teams playing last night the defensive pressure applied by these 3-4 clubs will tell how much these other teams have improved.

I only watched the second half of the Carlton Collingwood game.

Carlton looked ok.

Collingwood looked like they didn't have a coordinated method of moving the ball and merely went from one contest where it would be made someone else's problem to the next contest to make it someone else's problem.

probably need a few round to really sort out whether there has been improvement or the top 3-4 sides are still a cut above.

I want to stomp them all.

I want us to become completely undeniable. We simply have not garnered (intended) the level of respect in the league befitting our performance.

I only watched the second half of the Carlton Collingwood game.

Carlton looked ok.

Collingwood looked like they didn't have a coordinated method of moving the ball and merely went from one contest where it would be made someone else's problem to the next contest to make it someone else's problem.

probably need a few round to really sort out whether there has been improvement or the top 3-4 sides are still a cut above.

I want to stomp them all.

I want us to become completely undeniable. We simply have not garnered (intended) the level of respect in the league befitting our performance.
Yeah, Collingwood fell away. Like North in the men’s, when you aren’t much chop you absolutely cannot afford to have key players out of the team, and find it hard to sustain performance. Early in the game I was frankly shocked by how decent they were looking.

I think and hope North is good enough that having a few out won’t be an issue.

Opening game - Carlton vs Collingwood.

Advertising on buses with AFLW players- Collingwood

That premiership really opened up a lot of commercial doors.
Mate of mine worked at the Hun for a long time. He referred to it as The Comic. Anyway, one year as the first round of finals in the mens approached the Hun ran a ridiculous number of Collingwood stories. I was stirring him about this and his response was that the footy writers didn't think Collingwood would do much so they were targeting their supporters with stories while it was still relevant. I'm thinking this is probably the logic behind this advertising approach. Well, that and muscle memory probably kicking in a bit as well as it also speaks to a wider modern day AFL held belief that footy can only be successful if the big teams are involved. Not much point flogging Collingwood in the advertising in rd 10 when they've won three-fifths of f##k all.

I was impressed with Carlton last night, and of their run and handball through the middle which was a little reminiscent of us last season, defensively they looked a little more solid and structured as well, albeit it was against last years wooden spooners, who were really disappointing after a positive first quarter. The younger McKay didn't look too bad either, I thought she had a most impressive debut and was far better than Centra for Collingwood. All in all, a positive opening night for the Blues.

Yeah, Collingwood fell away. Like North in the men’s, when you aren’t much chop you absolutely cannot afford to have key players out of the team, and find it hard to sustain performance. Early in the game I was frankly shocked by how decent they were looking.

I think and hope North is good enough that having a few out won’t be an issue.

My feelpinion here is we are not near satisfied with where we are at.

The opportunity that sits with the women that pull on the blue and white is to be remembered as the best team of the opening parts of this league.

Teams are gonna come for our queens this year.

I reckon we are absolutely ready for it too.

I was impressed with Carlton last night, and of their run and handball through the middle which was a little reminiscent of us last season, defensively they looked a little more solid and structured as well, albeit it was against last years wooden spooners, who were really disappointing after a positive first quarter. The younger McKay didn't look too bad either, I thought she had a most impressive debut and was far better than Centra for Collingwood. All in all, a positive opening night for the Blues.
I didn’t see that game, but did catch quite a bit of WCE and GC. I didn’t get the impression North have much to fear from either

Is Vikki Wall injured, would have thought her fitness would be pretty good seeing she has only just finished playing in Ireland ?
Not injured but crock said they were going to give her more training time before playing

And to reward the players who have done the full preseason

Hopefully back next week

Not injured but crock said they were going to give her more training time before playing

And to reward the players who have done the full preseason

Hopefully back next week
I really liked that - choose what is best for the culture you want. Looks like he’s the only coach to feel that way but I guess he’s in a position where he can.

Thought the Collingwood Carlton game was interesting. The Blues certainly seem quicker and more agile than they've been, and they have nicely skilled players (Hill, Fitzpatrick, McKay) through the middle/front of the ground. I think they are a little vulnerable down back from what I saw - Cordner and Hendrie (?) looked a bit shaky under the high ball and were easily pushed aside by Frederick.

Collingwood looks pretty average although Violet Patterson looked tough and defensively minded, and Ash Centra looks a little like a young Garner the way she marks the footy. Outside of that they seem to have Bonnici in the middle and not much else.

Didn't see much of the GCS vs WCE game but Havana Harris (great name) looked OK, and Ella Roberts is a gun.

Will be very interesting to see if we have rested on our laurels as I agree with H2h; if we haven't done anything to improve our game, we might find more of a challenge than in the past.

Zippy Fish (what a name) playing her first game of AFLW tonight having been recently drafted by the Swans, was outstanding. Lightning quick with great skills. She fell only one possession short of the debut game record (with her 25). A young girl drafted from Newman in NW WA.