Oppo Camp Non-Lions Discussion 2025

• Thread starter Thread starter Jivlain

So, are you saying that the player in question wasn’t playing football at any level? Then why did they test him?
There's a certain period post-retirement where they can continue to test.

Presumably it's to avoid players announcing retirement suddenly to avoid an upcoming drug test and then unretiring a short time later.

Related / unrelated, I'll give Beast mode one thing that he has on pretty much most of our current day players; he loved the club and put it ahead of himself and secondly, always left everything out on the park no matter what. Not sure you could say that about many on our list and I doubt we lose as many games as have this year if they had half the love and spirit that Rhys had even with all his shortcomings as a player.
He must be a good mate with you knowing him so well.

Related / unrelated, I'll give Beast mode one thing that he has on pretty much most of our current day players; he loved the club and put it ahead of himself and secondly, always left everything out on the park no matter what. Not sure you could say that about many on our list and I doubt we lose as many games as have this year if they had half the love and spirit that Rhys had even with all his shortcomings as a player.

I love your posts, a projection of your own feelings onto the personalities of people you've likely never met but talk about like old friends. I wish I was as creative as you McIvor!

So, are you saying that the player in question wasn’t playing football at any level? Then why did they test him?
yes and i dont know.
Assuming we’re talking about RM, that would contradict the words that came out of his own mouth on the Rip Through It podcast, that he was tested while playing country footy.

Honestly it makes no difference to me, anyone here, or anyone other than the player in question.
…and apparently no one else cares because other than the click-bait news report, the talk in the media has gone silent.

I forgot, you're the only one that knows anyone; best no one pass judgement or offer an opinion on anything to do with the club given you grace us with your presence on this forum.
No no no, really...I've only met Rhys a couple of times while he was playing NEAFL but I could not say or measure how much he loved the club compared to our current list of players like you can. I envy you knowing The Beast so well.

It's crazy comparing AFL numbers to NRL. I know the WA clubs have restrictions and other clubs divested theirs but NRL basically lives off their pokies (from the most recent figures I could find):
  • Bulldogs: $61m
  • Parramatta: $54m
  • Penrith: $47m
  • West Tigers: $46m
  • Roosters: $19m
Wonder how much AFL House gets for this...

It's crazy comparing AFL numbers to NRL. I know the WA clubs have restrictions and other clubs divested theirs but NRL basically lives off their pokies (from the most recent figures I could find):
  • Bulldogs: $61m
  • Parramatta: $54m
  • Penrith: $47m
  • West Tigers: $46m
  • Roosters: $19m
I was not comparing anything really.
Just pointing out only 6 of 18 clubs still get pokie revenue

For those that did not read the article some information below
My personal opinion is go where stadiums already exist.
So just consider Perth, Adelaide & Canberra
Tasmania obviously in consideration but no stadium confirmed. Option just use existing grounds with some upgrades..

1755142554821.png
1755142435140.png

1755142373817.png

1755142244906.png

1755142204194.png

1755142140035.png

1755142003572.png

Attachments

• 1755142244906.png
    1755142244906.png
    11.4 KB · Views: 2
Did he love the club or love his mates that are still in the club? I suspect it would be the second thing. I would guess that most players feel that way unless they play for the club they supported growing up.

I was not comparing anything really.
Just pointing out only 6 of 18 clubs still get pokie revenue
I was comparing them in my post... :D

Canberra getting the 20th team is a wonderful idea. Watch their GWS games. They know how to fill out a stadium better than western Sydney. And it's sure a lot better than a Darwin team. Also, no chance Tasmania gets a team. That stadium deal is a mess, which is probably why Bucks is jumping the gun now, because at least, the Tasmania team will get delayed. But i think it won't happen at all.
In the 70s and 70s footy was big in Canberra think Jezza.However the league guys developed it better with the Raiders.I have always thought a Canberra team was a better idea than west Sydney ot gold coast

We are all Swans, Crows, Giants and Demons fans over the weekend.

Love sitting back watching the rest of the round after a delicious Friday night win.
I suppose that is less painful than having to support Port, Blues, Hawks etc ...

Hasn’t GWS won something like 13 of the last 14 times against the Suns?

They must be a good chance today despite the injuries. Forward line looks fairly average though without Hogan

Maybe the good Toby Greene will show up today

And go Crows

Hasn’t GWS won something like 13 of the last 14 times against the Suns?

They must be a good chance today despite the injuries. Forward line looks fairly average though without Hogan

Maybe the good Toby Greene will show up today

And go Crows
Demons a sneaky chance against the Hawks today as well.