Oppo Camp Non-Lions Discussion 2025

• Thread starter Thread starter Jivlain

The talk is a swap of him and Curnow at Carlton. It might have been King and Cornes who discussed it, so if it was, there isn’t much in the way of intelligence with those two, so probably just made it up.

I’d personally prefer to pay overs in picks than give up someone who has talent and is local from the gcs academy and who would likely stay long term.

West Coast won the flag 7 years ago, last won a final 6 years ago, last made finals 5 years ago and are asking for assistance. They've been extremely shit for 4 years but I'd revisit this next year if I was the AFL.
I don’t think when you last won a flag matters when you’ve won 11 games out of 91 in the last 4 seasons. If you go to their last 100 games you end up with 13 wins.
They will lose one of their captains this year and another first round draft pick just asked for a trade. I don’t see a lot of light at the end of the tunnel at the moment and we as fans shouldn’t want teams stuck down the bottom with 1-4 wins a year in 3+ seasons.
You’ve got Tassie coming in. They’re going to take a lot of draft picks and a lot of available AFL players over the coming seasons. As we know all too well, trying to rebuild with a new club coming in is basically impossible. North and Richmond have at least got some really good talent that should have a natural progression over the next couple of seasons. I’m not sure I really see that with the Eagles.

I don’t think when you last won a flag matters when you’ve won 11 games out of 91 in the last 4 seasons. If you go to their last 100 games you end up with 13 wins.
They will lose one of their captains this year and another first round draft pick just asked for a trade. I don’t see a lot of light at the end of the tunnel at the moment and we as fans shouldn’t want teams stuck down the bottom with 1-4 wins a year in 3+ seasons.
You’ve got Tassie coming in. They’re going to take a lot of draft picks and a lot of available AFL players over the coming seasons. As we know all too well, trying to rebuild with a new club coming in is basically impossible. North and Richmond have at least got some really good talent that should have a natural progression over the next couple of seasons. I’m not sure I really see that with the Eagles.
+ Liam Ryan has asked for a trade to St Kilda.

West Coast won the flag 7 years ago, last won a final 6 years ago, last made finals 5 years ago and are asking for assistance. They've been extremely shit for 4 years but I'd revisit this next year if I was the AFL.
I really feel like "no finals for a decade" is a minimum threshold teams should have to hit before assistance but now it seems to be "bad for three years, no finals for five" and here, have three or four picks.

It's doubly annoying when we get thrown into the "received assistance" bucket when we got a single end of first round pick after 14 of 15 years in the wilderness compared to the lavishing of rewards on to teams since then.

I really feel like "no finals for a decade" is a minimum threshold teams should have to hit before assistance but now it seems to be "bad for three years, no finals for five" and here, have three or four picks.

It's doubly annoying when we get thrown into the "received assistance" bucket when we got a single end of first round pick after 14 of 15 years in the wilderness compared to the lavishing of rewards on to teams since then.
I believe it probably should be looked at a case by case basis for clubs.

It’s pretty obvious West Coast’s list is near devoid of mature, AFL standard players. Same can almost be said in terms of recently drafted players.

The problem for clubs that struggle to attract quality free agents or trade targets is, that it takes 6 to 8 years for a club building through the draft to become competitive and genuinely compete for the top 8. Not make finals, just to be competitive.

We’re 6 years on from Gold Coasts assistance package, and they had significantly more mature talent and young talent on their list at the time of their assistance package.

I don’t want to be seen as defending West Coast or any club, but they could genuinely go through two 8 year draft cycles before they become competitive without assistance, if they solely rely on the draft as a means to improve.

Or they need Chad Warner and 3 or 4 other quality free agents and trade targets to nominate them as their destination in a couple of years time.

Tbh, i don't mind them asking for assistance. My problem is that they're asking for assistance via free agency compo because they're trying to screw us with the starcevich deal. Fortunately the AFL won't tick off on that so if the eagles want starce, they will lose their pick 2.

Expecting 20 minutes from Kingy tonight on First Crack about Bailey Smith's intimidation of someone doing their job on a footy field!

1757480467189.png

Bailey Smith is a real Derek. A complete loser who is just lucky he plays AFL. I have no doubt he'd be a proper crackhead living in a caravan park if not for the support he gets in the AFL system.

Baz still on the moreton bay bugs hey

Someone at the cats needs to wise him up that he’s abusing a geeolong addy photographer. The sort of person who is essential to maintaining surf coast omertà.

And not just any photographer; a highly respected professional and experienced one with a successful career spanning 3 decades in and around regional Geelong.

Elixuh Saints are leaking that SOS had NOTHING to do with the nepotism package for JSOS. Instead their genius idea is to say that.... it was all Grubby Gubby Allen's idea!

View attachment 2422197

Also some funny detail later:

View attachment 2422200

Joke organisation.

‘Hot damn jack is really good that this negotiation business, it’s like he knows the maximum we’re willing to pay him’

And not just any photographer; a highly respected professional and experienced one with a successful career spanning 3 decades in and around regional Geelong.

Interesting little section from the herald sun article I'll just leave here:
Wynd spoke to Geelong media officials after the incident.

“I said it’s unacceptable, I don’t come to work to get sworn at

“He’s sworn at people three times, me twice and an ABC female reporter.

“Bailey needs to remember I’ve been invited there by the football club to photograph training.

“I’m not there photographing him leaving his house or with his girlfriend

“I’m just doing my job, photographing his job and it’s not in his private time.

Wynd said she would not lodge an official complaint at this stage and would continue to attend Cats training.

“I will be interested to see what happens with me in the coming weeks at training,” she said.

“I think he should be spoken to.

“I’ve been at the Addy for 25 years and I’ve never been sworn at by players at matches or training before.

“I think I’ll be a little on edge at his reaction when he sees me next.”

Zach Merrett has apparently met with Sam Mitchell, how does that deal get done? 5 time B&F winner, 3 time AA, turning 30 in a couple of weeks, rarely misses games, contracted to the end of 2027.

Hawks currently have 8, 26 & 55 as it's first 3 selections... future 1st involved?

View attachment 2422227

What a campaigner and I bet the Vic media completely gloss over it.
Will be interested to see if the AFL slap him with another $2K fine for this one. Dimma got fined after fox footy showed him raising the middle digit despite it now appearing in the broadcast.

Baz the sycophant will no doubt play the mental health card as he always does to excuse his piss poor behaviour:

I don't buy for a second his pathetic mental health card speech he played at the AA event, which he exploits for personal gain and sympathy.

Can't believe the Vic media fall for this crap.

I think it is entirely possible he has had a lot of serious mental health challenges and that simultaneously doesn’t excuse him being a massive w***er.

I dare say that mental health challenges and being a w***er/lashing out because you think people are out to get you, go hand in hand.

I'm not excusing him btw just stating that its possible his mental health or a mental disorder (if there was one, which should not be public knowledge unless he shares it) could be contributing to him doing stupid shit.

I dare say that mental health challenges and being a w***er/lashing out because you think people are out to get you, go hand in hand.

I'm not excusing him btw just stating that its possible his mental health or a mental disorder (if there was one, which should not be public knowledge unless he shares it) could be contributing to him doing stupid shit.
Sure, but people have a right to feel safe at work.
And if the AFL is fair dinkum about being a standards setter
women especially need to be respected by AFL players.
Kenny copped a $20,000 fine to miming an aeroplane
What sort of fine do we expect Bazlinka to get?

Its been the same since he got drafted and mental health was why he couldn't go interstate. Or the non-drinking thing before he turned into a big part of the party trouble.

Definitely a guy who wants all the highs of the AFL life and all the praise but just is shit to anyone who doesn't want to do things his way.

Reports from his Bulldogs days suggest he is just a really shit and immature person. Doubt anything has changed.

When you see him interviewed looking into his eyes he just looks like he’s still a boy and has never grown up past about the age of 16/18.

I'll be listening to SEN well tomorrow. After the hysteria over Rayner this week, or the hysteria over Merrett wanting to leave Essendon today, I'm expecting a serious response from Whateley and Dwayne tomorrow.

Edit: will also be interesting to hear Kingy's take on intimidating someone in their workplace...