Oppo Camp Non-Lions Discussion 2025

• Thread starter Thread starter Jivlain

Baz the sycophant will no doubt play the mental health card as he always does to excuse his piss poor behaviour:

I don't buy for a second his pathetic mental health card speech he played at the AA event, which he exploits for personal gain and sympathy.

Can't believe the Vic media fall for this crap.

He can seriously go off rails if not for footy.

Forget about Jamarra, this will rival Ben Cousins spiral out of the game.

The more I think about it, the more Smith reminds me of Aker. As long as he is playing good football they will ignore the antics. At some point it will swing the other way as he pisses off too many people

When we play Geelong next, our players should get in his space, pretend they're holding a camera taking his photo, and say 'smile for the camera, Bailey'

I don’t think when you last won a flag matters when you’ve won 11 games out of 91 in the last 4 seasons. If you go to their last 100 games you end up with 13 wins.
They will lose one of their captains this year and another first round draft pick just asked for a trade. I don’t see a lot of light at the end of the tunnel at the moment and we as fans shouldn’t want teams stuck down the bottom with 1-4 wins a year in 3+ seasons.
You’ve got Tassie coming in. They’re going to take a lot of draft picks and a lot of available AFL players over the coming seasons. As we know all too well, trying to rebuild with a new club coming in is basically impossible. North and Richmond have at least got some really good talent that should have a natural progression over the next couple of seasons. I’m not sure I really see that with the Eagles.

This isn't a specific WC thing but...

Isn't that the intent of the system and the draft but? There's 18 teams in the comp so in a perfect system it should be 18 years between flags?

I'm not suggesting WC aren't shit - they clearly are. But the propensity to ask for assistance is more of a blight than father and son and academy if you ask me.

How much of this was self inflicted? Poor club management? List management? Culture? Coaching? The idea that you can just screw things up and then ask for help is crazy.

Yes the expansion clubs have created timing issues in the past and they will again in the future but I don't recall us getting hand outs when we bottomed out at the same time GCS and GWS rorted the drafts.

This isn't a specific WC thing but...

Isn't that the intent of the system and the draft but? There's 18 teams in the comp so in a perfect system it should be 18 years between flags?

I'm not suggesting WC aren't shit - they clearly are. But the propensity to ask for assistance is more of a blight than father and son and academy if you ask me.

How much of this was self inflicted? Poor club management? List management? Culture? Coaching? The idea that you can just screw things up and then ask for help is crazy.

Yes the expansion clubs have created timing issues in the past and they will again in the future but I don't recall us getting hand outs when we bottomed out at the same time GCS and GWS rorted the drafts.
Because I’m a boring retired man with too much time on my hands, I did this table comparing North Melbourne to West Coast…

NorthEagles
YearPositionYearPosition
20189th20219th
201912th202217th
202017th202318th
202117th202416th
202216th202518th
AFL Assistance
After four years of being uncompetitive, the AFL gave North an assistance package.
North got 3 end of first round picks over two years (‘22 & ‘23) and increased a rookie list.
They are on the way up now its taken three years to see any green shoots.

I think West Coast need an assistance package now just as much as North did in 2022.
The trouble is, Tassie Devils are on the horizon so the Eagles will face a severely compromised draft once the Devils arrive.
They need a strong package and they need one now.

I’d suggest a hybrid between Gold Coast assistance (Pick 1, 11, 19 and another 19 the following year) and north’s
Maybe picks 11, 19, and 20 this year as well as 19 next year. They should also be allowed some form of increased list size.
That’s my 2 cents.

Because I’m a boring retired man with too much time on my hands, I did this table comparing North Melbourne to West Coast…

NorthEagles
YearPositionYearPosition
20189th20219th
201912th202217th
202017th202318th
202117th202416th
202216th202518th
AFL Assistance
After four years of being uncompetitive, the AFL gave North an assistance package.
North got 3 end of first round picks over two years (‘22 & ‘23) and increased a rookie list.

I think West Coast need an assistance package now just as much as North did in 2022.
The trouble is, Tassie Devils are on the horizon so the Eagles will face a severely compromised draft once the Devils arrive.

I’d suggest a hybrid between Gold Coast assistance (Pick 1, 11, 19 and another 19 the following year) and north’s
Maybe picks 11, 19, and 20 this year as well as 19 next year. They should also be allowed some form of increased list size.
That’s my 2 cents.
Someone is going to get caught holding the proverbial "tassie entrance cap". If West Coast get a boost now it will just be whoever drops off next. Most likely looking like Essendon considering their expected departures this year.

There was no such talk when we were hit with the brunt of the GC/GWS expansion.

NorthEagles
YearPositionYearPosition
20189th20219th
201912th202217th
202017th202318th
202117th202416th
202216th202518th
AFL Assistance

That’s my 2 cents.

Hahaha, Love your work :)

My post wasn't necessarily aimed at WC's NEED or not... it was more aimed at this whole idea now that you can ask for assistance full stop. WC are shit no question.

The AFL have designed a system to equalise all clubs out over time. That's what the draft does. That's the cycle of age profiles does, blah blah blah.

If there are 18 teams then it sort of stands to reason that you SHOULD have 6 good years, 6 average years and 6 shit years.

Now we have this interference when clubs have their down period... and it's a relatively new thing. It pollutes the cycle, and frankly disadvantages those who "only" have 4 year or 5 bad years (or whatever arbitrary line gets drawn this week) and fall short of warranting assistance.

Do the AFL want a system that means each team has both it's turn in the sun, and the corresponding bottoming out or do you want a magical fairyland where no one ever bottoms out and somehow everyone is in the top 8 because that's how this shapes up every year when someone has been down "long enough".

More over, does this interference - sorry assistance - get dished out to every club evenly or just the big clubs? And is the level of assistance the same or made up on the run?

I just think that we've spent a long time creating equalisation only to throw it out the window when it suits.

Goodnight, sweet Prince

Defender retires after three club career in three states - https://www.afl.com.au/news/1416516

Our top end drafting was not great for a few years there was it. Between Polecs and Aishs. League standard players but certainly not what you’d hope at the cream of the crop end of the draft. Shows how overrated picks can be.

Unless it's a father son or academy bid of course. Then they're a rort

Seeing we get little other assistance re the draw ,umps and what is out of or control you'd have to say we're the best rorters in the AFL with the cards we're dealt.

I don't think it's appreciated how much work and skill goes into rorting effectively. The only ones who despise rorting are those not in on it. And that's largely their problem.

Annable prime candidate for another rorting masterclass.

Seeing we get little other assistance re the draw ,umps and what is out of or control you'd have to say we're the best rorters in the AFL with the cards we're dealt.

I don't think it's appreciated how much work and skill goes into rorting effectively. The only ones who despise rorting are those not in on it. And that's largely their problem.

We grind for our rorts. Geelong roll out of their hammock on 0% interest mortgaged farm property and step right into the comfy shoes of a rigged draw. We are not the same.

rort.gif

Hahaha, Love your work :)

My post wasn't necessarily aimed at WC's NEED or not... it was more aimed at this whole idea now that you can ask for assistance full stop. WC are shit no question.

The AFL have designed a system to equalise all clubs out over time. That's what the draft does. That's the cycle of age profiles does, blah blah blah.

If there are 18 teams then it sort of stands to reason that you SHOULD have 6 good years, 6 average years and 6 shit years.

Now we have this interference when clubs have their down period... and it's a relatively new thing. It pollutes the cycle, and frankly disadvantages those who "only" have 4 year or 5 bad years (or whatever arbitrary line gets drawn this week) and fall short of warranting assistance.

Do the AFL want a system that means each team has both it's turn in the sun, and the corresponding bottoming out or do you want a magical fairyland where no one ever bottoms out and somehow everyone is in the top 8 because that's how this shapes up every year when someone has been down "long enough".

More over, does this interference - sorry assistance - get dished out to every club evenly or just the big clubs? And is the level of assistance the same or made up on the run?

I just think that we've spent a long time creating equalisation only to throw it out the window when it suits.
I basically agree with you, but following on from your argument in a perfectly equal competition each team should spend 6 years down the bottom each year.
Of course we don’t have such a comp and I’m not sure I want one. But North was down for four years before their assistance package and three years later their still in the bottom six with a long road ahead.
I don’t think any team should be in the bottom six for ten years.
Even with a decent assistance package, I think it will still be another four or five years before the eagles get competitive.
I think your key point is 100% valid. I think there needs to be a policy that is followed consistently by the AFL regarding assistance packages.
But what am I saying!? AFL consistent? 🤣

I basically agree with you, but following on from your argument in a perfectly equal competition each team should spend 6 years down the bottom each year.
Of course we don’t have such a comp and I’m not sure I want one. But North was down for four years before their assistance package and three years later their still in the bottom six with a long road ahead.
I don’t think any team should be in the bottom six for ten years.
Even with a decent assistance package, I think it will still be another four or five years before the eagles get competitive.
I think your key point is 100% valid. I think there needs to be a policy that is followed consistently by the AFL regarding assistance packages.
But what am I saying!? AFL consistent? 🤣
Consistency** requires clarity leads to gaming leads to 'unfairness' leads to 'something must be done' leads to 'something being done' causing 'issues that must be fixed' which cannot conflict with 'what must not be' which compromises the appearance of integrity leading to the avoidance of the appearance of hypocrisy producing 'secret herbs and spices' thus allowing for the appearance and spirit of consistency while maintaining the essence of inconsistency and the ability to please the special and valued few while creating angst for the poorer, the unwashed and the unfortunately located many...

Simples :cool:

** think for example the old rule re priority picks based on bottom four ladder position

Like most, if not all, I am not sure what the heck is going on within the 4 walls at Essendon but I must say Brad Scott was incredibly impressive when under the pump on AFL 360 last night. He was calm, articulate and fair in his assessment of a really difficult situation for any senior coach.

Which won't help him when the board decide they need another scapegoat.

Man, Essendon are in shambles. Scott is clueless as a coach, their players don't even want to be their and even their ex players are being lippy about how poorly the club is being run.
Not sure Brad Scott is clueless as a coach...he had a very impressive record at North Melbourne getting finals (including a Prelim from memory) out of a very ordinary list. I think it goes much deeper than him given Essendon haven't won a final since about 2004.