Unofficial Preview Preliminary Final: Lions v Pies - 5.15 Saturday 20 September

• Thread starter Thread starter Sproj

Our best jumper is our home one, so i'm happy to hear this.

So am I.....I'm more than happy for us to wear the red jumper during the season proper but when it comes to finals we

should always wear our maroon brisbane jumper, we are competing as the Brisbane Lions. It's who we are today.

..just my two bobs worth on that.

So am I.....I'm more than happy for us to wear the red jumper during the season proper but when it comes to finals we

should always wear our maroon brisbane jumper as we are competing as the Brisbane Lions.

..just my two bobs worth on that.
Let's not forget that Fitzroy was originally a maroon team as well. Even their anthem says they wear maroon and blue, which is ironically our home colours.

IMG_4447.jpeg
FAGAN OFFERS TRIBUTE TO THE FOOTY GODS BY MAKING NO CHANGE! THE FOOTY GODS GIVE THEIR BLESSINGS TO THE LIONS!

IMG_4501.png

Who goes to Sidebum do you reckon? Always annoying when he gets going.
Berry on the wing, No giving away 50 meter penalties though Jarrod.

Howe is a pretty big in for them
A good player when he is fit.
If fit his intercept marking could be a problem for us.
He is also 35years old. Last game Aug 22nd.

Hopefully he plays like his last 4 games when he was subbed off for those 4 and had a total of 2 marks in 4 games.

Last 3 v Pies at the MCG

2023 GF loss by 4 points, 2024 loss by 1 point, 2025 Win by 27 points

Lions players should be confident but not overconfident.

Only a 4-quarter pressure/tackling effort will get the win
Like a lot of AFL games this year if teams are off 5 % no matter the ladder position, they struggle to get the win.

Let's not forget that Fitzroy was originally a maroon team as well. Even their anthem says they wear maroon and blue, which is ironically our home colours.
This!
When I was a kid in the ‘60s my first footy jumper was maroon and blue with a white FFC on the front.
Was never a big fan of the red.
They changed it when colour tv came in didn’t they?

This!
When I was a kid in the ‘60s my first footy jumper was maroon and blue with a white FFC on the front.
Was never a big fan of the red.
They changed it when colour tv came in didn’t they?
Great to see that jumper in action in early 2000s with especially Browny n Chrissy wearing it against Pies at the G.

Our best jumper is our home one, so i'm happy to hear this.

My favourite jumper by far is the red one.

The red and royal blue jumper with the gold FFC logo or the gold Fitzroy lion is a thing of beauty.

My favourite jumper by far is the red one.

The red and royal blue jumper with the gold FFC logo or the gold Fitzroy lion is a thing of beauty.
The Fitzroy jumper is beautiful, but with the arrival of colour TV, at the club they did have a momentary lapse of reason in terms of the shorts.

Weather forecast for tomorrow evening continues to improve.
12° , gentle NW breeze , cloudy but no rain.

Unlike tonight's game . Strong wind and a wet second half.

The Fitzroy jumper is beautiful, but with the arrival of colour TV, at the club they did have a momentary lapse of reason in terms of the shorts.

There's some pretty good footy being played there. Main difference is the disposal skills.
And well umpired. Interesting to see the differences though; out of bounds - no insufficient intent rule, throwing the ball back to the wrong player after a free - no problem, not having to stand on the mark when the player runs off their line.

We beat this mob last time because our big forwards kicked eight goals between them. Morris must fire and the other two must also hit the score board if we are to repeat the dose.

We can win either way, with our small forwards kicking most of the goals too.
Just need our big forwards to bring the ball to ground and not allow Moore and Howe to mark everything.
Even better if both our talls and smalls hit the scoreboard.