Review Preliminary Final, 2025 - Collingwood vs. Brisbane Lions

• Thread starter Thread starter ZoBlitz

Who were your five best players against Collingwood?

at the ground you see all the somewhat silly things harris does to keep energy up in the side - cheering when the opposition shanks a shot at goal, little fist bump behind play if a player had covered their man in the last f50 entry etc. its a little unconventional but his leadership in the second half of this year has been second to none.
Dad's performance in the final series is as close to perfection for a defender as possible. In awe of this guy and I imagine Geelong's Neale will have some sleepless nights this week. I am even having sleepless nights forcing myself to stay in bed and away from the TV replays. How blessed are we to have such a wonderful human as our leader.

BTW Cornes .....Harris should have been AA last season you Nuf Nuf.

I've been watching footy for a little while now, and I find I can't help but compare these young guys to players I've seen along the way. I've said for a while that Logan Morris gives me Jack Riewoldt vibes, but Ty Gallup now has me thinking of Stewart Loewe, once he is a fully mature body he will be a beast

What a win, what a team, what a time to be alive.

Wasn’t there a small group here earlier in the year, saying the premiership last year was a fluke, we are still no good, Fages still can’t coach, waste of a list etc?

Surely those guys get their accounts deactivated at this point.

GO LIONS!

When the lions had the family day in Melbourne this year I brought in my gf footy record and got players to sign it. When I went up to Gardiner he said “I am not in there mate” and I said “you are” (there was a little player profile of him)

I then said to him “how about this??? If you win the grand final this year I’ll get “dizzy” tattooed on me” he laughed shook my hand and said “deal”

I have a lot of tattoos so getting silly or weird tattooes isn’t new to me

I told my wife this story last night she looked at me, didn’t say anything and then walked off….. she must think it’s a great idea 👍🏻

I don’t like him much at all. Was a lot better last night though, he still mentioned the Elliot freekick, then proceeded to say ‘he didn’t want to talk about it’ 🤣🤣
To be fair I think he was asked about it. Which is unsurprising too.

Personally I like him. He was a smart player and (I think I am correct in saying) that like fages he comes from a teaching background.

To be fair I think he was asked about it. Which is unsurprising too.

Personally I like him. He was a smart player and (I think I am correct in saying) that like fages he comes from a teaching background.

Narr he says ‘I thought you were going to ask me about the freekick’ - then go asked, I think? I’d have to listen again. Recollection is, he raised it.

That's what i remember

Some serious Mark Howard lowlights on Fox last night; from pondering how big Pendlebury's injury would be for next week (pretty inconsequential I'd say), to calling a Pies half time lead like they'd won the grand final. Add in Jack Reiwoldt and Jon Ralph's efforts to stir up controversy over a pretty standard call and I'm actually looking forward to listening to a Ch.7 call next week.

What a win! What a club! What a night! I thought last years prelim was something extra special but last night matched it. To beat that lot and with so many players out and losing Berry before HT as well. So much fight and character in this team.

The Lions crowd were amazing - so much noise and passion. Was a pleasure to wave goodbye to the Pies fans with ten mins to go.

So excited with young Gallop. You can see his confidence growing with every mark and goal. He belongs on the big stage. Will Ashcroft was enormous and so much better than Nick Daicos last night.

Wilmot is just a pleasure to watch. Dash - dare - and reads the play so well. The new Chrissy Johnson.

Fort was enormous last night - the tap for Bailey's goal was so good. So happy for Oscar now he gets to play in a GF after missing out last year. He is playing a role as well - Gallop and Morris can fly for marks with Oscar taking the bodies of the defenders.

Finally Andrews and Gardiner were immense down back. They couldn't get past the best defender in the AFL and Gardiner played his best game in a long time. They have a bigger job this week but Geelong will be very worried about Harris.

Really feeling for Berry. Great team man and whoever replaces him will be ready and hungry. Not sure I would risk Lachie. It's a GF no risks. Look at Pendlebury and Michocek last night.

Maybe Conor McKenna?

Well done Fages and the boys on a great win and a third straight GF. What a time to be a Lions supporter.

Get this framed and give it to Ralphy for Christmas.

View attachment 2432376

11 goal to 4 second half 😂.
A 'missed' free in the forward line. Dream on ...
David Schwarz taking down Ralphy on SEN this morning. The Ox said it wasn’t a free. 😂

Edit: I hope the AFL come out and say nothing on this. Move on, nothing to see here.

I don’t like him much at all. Was a lot better last night though, he still mentioned the Elliot freekick, then proceeded to say ‘he didn’t want to talk about it’ 🤣🤣
He also said he would be barracking for the Lions next week. You don’t often hear that from an AFL coach come Grand Final time. McRae is a Brisbane Lions Legend.

Hard to hate McRae. An absolute star in his press conference.

It’s a lot easier once you realise he’s a fake nice guy…under pressure his real personality comes out…he tries to project a Fages-like persona but it’s inauthentic

Ty Gallop's last kick for goal was a thing of beauty!
That kid is growing in confidence in front of our eyes. Once the mark stuck against Suns and he kicked that goal, he realized he belonged.

He's going to be a beast of a player for us - what a time to arrive as a key forward for this line up. Majestic.