Review Preliminary Final, 2025 - Collingwood vs. Brisbane Lions

• Thread starter Thread starter ZoBlitz

Who were your five best players against Collingwood?

That kid is growing in confidence in front of our eyes. Once the mark stuck against Suns and he kicked that goal, he realized he belonged.

He's going to be a beast of a player for us - what a time to arrive as a key forward for this line up. Majestic.

Yeah, it can't be underestimated how good he and Marshall have been these last two games. Finals pressure gets to most, let alone kids.

What they did last night was exceptional. Ty especially - he looked every bit the dominant key forward on the ground.

Surprised at the Zorko votes. Yes he gave them a 4-goal head start, but he clawed it back himself in the second half - he was involved in what felt like every scoring chain. Live and die by the sword etc.

Gardiner immense. Best game for the club.

One big thing I noticed with Ty was his composure, started with that quick snap, then a great side step for the second, awesome contested mark, then went back for a shot that we shouldn’t see miss but often do and never looked like missing it.

Well what a night. Players walking off at half time thinking well reckon thats the last of our petrol tickets used up. This team is just bloody unbelievable with the fight, the ticker, the desperation, the heart, the intestinal fortitude to just want to keep having a crack and not throw in the towel. Thats the 5th time this year i thought we were shot and then the boys come out and do that. What spirit this group has. Just want to give a shout out to Darcy Fort, i thought his game last night was awesome, sitting in the stands i maybe wrong but i thought he had some decent impact on the game.

The highlight of the night for me though had to be sitting next to Dalions and his 91 year old mother. What an awesome night for them flying down from Brisbane. Awesome to catch up with people from Big Footy and unbelievable how they were designated seats next to us. Just an absoulute joy it was to catch up with fellow big footy supporters and chat with them. Your mum looked so happy Dalions. The trip worked out so awesome for you both. Hope the flight back goes well and hopefully see you next week.

Hope you don’t mind the intrusion though wanted to say congrats. You guys just bat so deep in the middle that we couldn’t keep up with you. All this talk about “Mr September” Jai Newcombe while you have Cam Rayner who just lifts in the big moments.

I hope you win next week. Nothing but respect for your club.
Incredible username mate

oFTlnPTU.jpg

IMG_4447.jpeg
We approve.

Well what a night. Players walking off at half time thinking well reckon thats the last of our petrol tickets used up. This team is just bloody unbelievable with the fight, the ticker, the desperation, the heart, the intestinal fortitude to just want to keep having a crack and not throw in the towel. Thats the 5th time this year i thought we were shot and then the boys come out and do that. What spirit this group has. Just want to give a shout out to Darcy Fort, i thought his game last night was awesome, sitting in the stands i maybe wrong but i thought he had some decent impact on the game.

The highlight of the night for me though had to be sitting next to Dalions and his 91 year old mother. What an awesome night for them flying down from Brisbane. Awesome to catch up with people from Big Footy and unbelievable how they were designated seats next to us. Just an absoulute joy it was to catch up with fellow big footy supporters and chat with them. Your mum looked so happy Dalions. The trip worked out so awesome for you both. Hope the flight back goes well and hopefully see you next week.

Fort is great in finals isn't he. Even against Geelong, he was one of the few who noticeably stood up watching it live.

I’m coming to you from my bad faith chamber.

I’ve never been more embarrassed than reading some of the comments in the second quarter and at halftime. Ladies and gentleman, 𝑰 𝒔𝒆𝒆 𝒊𝒏 𝒚𝒐𝒖𝒓 𝒆𝒚𝒆𝒔, 𝒕𝒉𝒆 𝒔𝒂𝒎𝒆 𝒇𝒆𝒂𝒓 𝒕𝒉𝒂𝒕 𝒘𝒊𝒍𝒍 𝒕𝒂𝒌𝒆 𝒕𝒉𝒆 𝒉𝒆𝒂𝒓𝒕 𝒐𝒇 McIvor. 𝑨 𝒅𝒂𝒚 𝒎𝒂𝒚 𝒄𝒐𝒎𝒆 𝒘𝒉𝒆𝒏 𝒕𝒉𝒆 𝒄𝒐𝒖𝒓𝒂𝒈𝒆 𝒐𝒇 Nunez 𝒇𝒂𝒊𝒍𝒔, 𝒘𝒉𝒆𝒏 𝒘𝒆 𝒇𝒐𝒓𝒔𝒂𝒌𝒆 𝒐𝒖𝒓 𝒇𝒓𝒊𝒆𝒏𝒅𝒔 𝒂𝒏𝒅 𝒃𝒓𝒆𝒂𝒌 𝒂𝒍𝒍 𝒃𝒐𝒏𝒅𝒔 𝒐𝒇 𝒇𝒆𝒍𝒍𝒐𝒘𝒔𝒉𝒊𝒑. 𝑩𝒖𝒕 𝒊𝒕'𝒔 𝒏𝒐𝒕 𝒕𝒉𝒊𝒔 𝒅𝒂𝒚.

Every match day it’s like it’s some people’s first time watching the lions. Steel yourselves.

At the game. Didn’t feel once that the Lions were going to lose. Pretty much complete control and although Pies came out hard in second it just felt like they spent all their fuel tickets trying to claw themselves back.

Clugga clear BoG. Won’t get the freedom against the Cats.

Howe was underdone. I don’t think Neale or Berry plays. Bringing injured or underdone players is just a recipe for disaster.

Will be a tough battle next week. Not super confident but then again it’s the Grand Final. Anything can happen.

Hopefully I can bring my entourage and cause a stir at the MCG this weekend! Bring it home Lions. Cheer them on!

Howe was underdone. I don’t think Neale or Berry plays. Bringing injured or underdone players is just a recipe for disaster.

I think this is true until you’re faced with what we are which is having run out of depth due to injuries.

Narr he says ‘I thought you were going to ask me about the freekick’ - then go asked, I think? I’d have to listen again. Recollection is, he raised it.

The press conference was ending. I thought he raised it purely so he could put the kerfuffle to bed - "it did not effect the result, the best team won".

Collingwood fans are going to crap their pants the next time we name a key forward they've never heard of. First Smith and then last night Gallop standing up

And I guess we have some history with Brennan and Freeman and probably others i can't recall
His name is Allen Oscar...

Collingwood fans are going to crap their pants the next time we name a key forward they've never heard of. First Smith and then last night Gallop standing up

And I guess we have some history with Brennan and Freeman and probably others i can't recall

Gallop comes from the Academy. Cant wait to hear Eddie talk about this 😃

Is there a clip of browny explaining to Ralph what a spoil is?
It was gold watching. Even this morning on SEN Ralphy was talking with the OX and doubling up again about eyes were not on the ball and OX said no sorry Ralphy you are wrong. The flog just doesnt listen.

I have to say, I was a bit stunned that Gallop retained his spot over Sam Day. I don't particularly rate Day, but thought his ceiling was marginally higher this year (simply courtesy of having a bigger frame and more experience). Glad to say I was completely wrong about that.

Ironically I can't help but wonder whether he would have played if McStay didn't move to Collingwood in 2022.

Morris, Gallop and Allen is a very exciting trio of key forwards to build around long-term. Crazy to think that the first two are key forwards taken from outside of the first round in their first and second season respectively. I'd hazard a guess that there hasn't been many (if any) teams to play in a Grand Final with two key forwards that young.

Regardless of the result next week, looks like you guys will be around the mark for years to come yet. What a fantastic list you have built. Your bottom 6 (at selection not on performance – the Reville, Marshall, Gallop types) played so incredibly well which is pretty remarkable given there's the same number of players on the injury list that would probably be ahead of them if not for injuries. It's perhaps the deepest I can recall a list batting and will only get deeper after this off-season. A genuinely remarkable turnaround over the past decade, you must all be so proud.

Good luck for next week. No matter how it goes, it's one of the best Premiership defences the competition has seen given the circumstances.

Morris, Gallop and Allen is a very exciting trio of key forwards to build around long-term. Crazy to think that the first two are key forwards taken from outside of the first round in their first and second season respectively. I'd hazard a guess that there hasn't been many (if any) teams to play in a Grand Final with two key forwards that young.

Regardless of the result next week, looks like you guys will be around the mark for years to come yet. What a fantastic list you have built. Your bottom 6 (at selection not on performance – the Reville, Marshall, Gallop types) played so incredibly well which is pretty remarkable given there's the same number of players on the injury list that would probably be ahead of them if not for injuries. It's perhaps the deepest I can recall a list batting and will only get deeper after this off-season. A genuinely remarkable turnaround over the past decade, you must all be so proud.

Good luck for next week. No matter how it goes, it's one of the best Premiership defences the competition has seen given the circumstances.

Thank you - while I appreciate the general public feeling on our list profile, I always look at Melbourne 2021 to sober myself. Nothing is as good or as bad as it seems, happy to ride the wave for now but there'll be churn and players getting targeted in our list etc. How we cope with those changes will define what we can achieve in the future.

Not to mention when grandpa Fages decides he's had enough and hands it over quietly.