Review Preliminary Final, 2025 - Collingwood vs. Brisbane Lions

• Thread starter Thread starter ZoBlitz

Who were your five best players against Collingwood?

Thank you - while I appreciate the general public feeling on our list profile, I always look at Melbourne 2021 to sober myself. Nothing is as good or as bad as it seems, happy to ride the wave for now but there'll be churn and players getting targeted in our list etc. How we cope with those changes will define what we can achieve in the future.

Not to mention when grandpa Fages decides he's had enough and hands it over quietly.
Yeah a valid concern and Bulldogs 2016 are another good example. That Melbourne team did have a pretty clean run with injuries though, and more importantly your culture is so, so much better than theirs was under Goodwin.

As long as the hunger is there, hard to see the Lions falling away any time soon. But naturally as football fans, we are all pessimists. This is why my "Affirmations" thread after the 2022 GF on the Sydney board never really took off. 😋

Also Starcevich's spoil was the best you will see this year and Jon Ralph is a ****ing moron.

Wonder what old mate eddie mcguire is doing right now.
Angry Csi GIF

Darcy Fort’s impact on our season has been immense and so underrated. He has basically been a lone hand for most of the season due to Oscar’s injury, and has managed to break even or beat some of the best rucks in the competition. There is no way we would have been in the Grand Final without his efforts this year. What a great pickup he has been by the recruiting team.

Love the backdrop of Pies fans leaving - 'to beat the traffic'. To steamroll the Pies at the G in a final in front of 95,000+ ( 80% + Pies fans ) is peak catharsis.

"Freud believed that people could achieve catharsis by bringing these unconscious feelings and memories to light. This process involved using psychotherapeutic tools such as dream interpretation and free association."

Or - being a Lions fan at the G last night.

I was naughty and skipped the whole 2nd quarter when I watched the reply this morning. :straining:
Time is money, why waste it on no goals?

I've been a big Logan fan from day one, but thought his game was excellent and gave him a vote.
Not sure I've seen him that mobile; he was getting right up the ground and presenting all game. I feel his tank is really starting to develop.
But it was his contesting in the air that was a highlight for me. I'll have to rewatch, but reckon he was hardly outmarked, kept his feet and used his strength to hold good positions in the contest. He also had Moore on him and Moore only took 3 marks for the game.
His vision and field kicking is exceptional already.

I think it was a better game from Logan than some of his big bags this year. In a few of those he was the beneficiary of sizzling ball movement and to his credit finished superbly.

Had to sit under so so many high balls yesterday and don't think he was outmarked once. And the field kicking was just absurd.

To be fair I think he was asked about it. Which is unsurprising too.

Personally I like him. He was a smart player and (I think I am correct in saying) that like fages he comes from a teaching background.
Fly is a terrific character - so many players from the Lethal era have become serious footy citizens. What a squad that was. From dead set last in 1998 to the complete juggernaut chock full of characters who have endured.

Now I see why we are after Oscar Allen and Draper. We want to play Logan Morris on the ball.

I think it was a better game from Logan than some of his big bags this year. In a few of those he was the beneficiary of sizzling ball movement and to his credit finished superbly.

Had to sit under so so many high balls yesterday and don't think he was outmarked once. And the field kicking was just absurd.
His kick to Charlie Cameron while charging along the wing was just sublime. Scary to think he can only get better.

I would also throw in the dogs game at marvel after the bye last year as one of his career best games. Kicked one and set up at least 2-3 with that sort of absurd pinpoint kicking.

what happened to all the sam day lovers? gallop unbelievable, Marshall, gallop and Levi all real good

Darcy Fort’s impact on our season has been immense and so underrated. He has basically been a lone hand for most of the season due to Oscar’s injury, and has managed to break even or beat some of the best rucks in the competition. There is no way we would have been in the Grand Final without his efforts this year. What a great pickup he has been by the recruiting team.
He has been solid all year.
Some posters may have missed the roving Brian after the game.
He went up to Fort and asked how he is going.
Forts reply was very different to the usual.
Something along the lines of " i am a bit stuffed to be honest"
Usually, players recover very quickly after a game. hope he is not carrying a slight illness.
He answered another short question that was not stupid from Brian.
Fort then just walked away after that.

what happened to all the sam day lovers? gallop unbelievable, Marshall, gallop and Levi all real good
Yeh. He was useless at the Suns, is old, slow and injury prone. Even Stefan Carey provided more. Ok that’s probably not true.
I wasn’t sold on Gallop at first sight, but gee he could be anything. Amazing how these kids can just step up on the big stage. Geelong bidding on him is usually a good sign the player must be alright.

Day for the most part played a part in us making the granny. Having him there gave us the opportunity to keep oscar as fresh as we could. Not the worst recruit. But won't play any more games for us either.