Player Watch #12: Jy Simpkin [Part II] - staying at North in 2026 + won't feature in leadership group as Larkey set to be named captain

Was that really a poster that you had to pay money for???? It's a collectors item for sure.
I have heaps of weird and wonderful North stuff but I think someone gave that one to me lol

Anyway, life goes on. Not a pleasant saga for any of those involved but I don't think it will be damaging unless Jy loses his shit which, after the humbling Collingwood handed them with their offer, I doubt he will. Compared to the scorched earth ordeal that was Essendon and Merret it's a bit boring tbh.

Good luck on the wing.

What a humbling experience. Great to see.

The club has ignored multiple red flags in Jys behaviour. They were warned, chose to persist. Unfortunately it has taken something like this to play out publicly for change.

On a positive note, this should be the catalyst for us to move forward with a leader who puts the club first.

What a humbling experience. Great to see.

The club has ignored multiple red flags in Jys behaviour. They were warned, chose to persist. Unfortunately it has taken something like this to play out publicly for change.

On a positive note, this should be the catalyst for us to move forward with a leader who puts the club first.

images-1.jpeg

Yep which is why he has to earn his respect back via the VFL.

Come back with a team first mindset and then we’ll talk.

If he is anywhere near the leadership group then this club has no backbone.

This has been my point the last few pages.

Let’s see how much self respect this football club and playing group have in the next month or so.

You come on here and create a thread that offers the “real”story from a third hand anonymous person and don’t expect some heat on the eve of the last day of trades?

“Geezus that is the lol”

You aren’t even close to the “real storie”s” fwiw and only one poster these past weeks has nailed one of them.

I deleted the gif sook, because I hurt your feelings.

And for you and all the other illiterates it is “JY”

Maybe change your thread title? Maybe? Idk?
Hurt my feelings

Expect some heat ...On an internet forum

**** off . As if I give two shits about your feedback.

Always know when a ****wit has nothing to offer when they resort to spelling gymnastics

Spelling ... moron
Delete it because of spelling . Yeah right princess

It wasn't a third hand anonymous person, I googled him after the training session.

Is now involved and still is this year spending this year at Brisbane

Only one poster has nailed them - heres something that didn't happen.

FFS

The bloke and his organisation is still employed at Brisbane

Works out in the end. Now we don't have to worry about the optics of dropping our captain. Jy can play on the wing or in the VFL next year as Larkey/Sheez leads the team.

Reckon Jy will respond well still after this. My guess is that he wanted to see if anyone would allow for centre square time after being told the club sees the future with the kids coming through. I don't begrudge a player for backing himself. Surely after this he'll realise where he's really at. Still only 27 and has time to reinvent himself as a winger.

No, they'll get it.

He's a roos man. He wont be captain and can just focus on his game.

It's a good outcome.

How much of a Roos man can someone be when they, as the captain, not buy into their new positon for the good of the team and then ask to play for another club with 4 years to go on their contract?

You've got people who happen to play for North, and then you've got Shinboners (Archer, Stevens etc)...didn't David King call Scott a visitor/tourist years back?

Jy certainly has a lot of work to do to win back trust imo

First step, strip him of the captaincy.

Second step, he spends the first month (at least) in the VFL.

Give him the reality check he deserves.
Why? We don't have to strip him of the captaincy, because he will realise that role is untenable for him now.

But we don't have to punish him.

All that has to happen now is when we front up for pre-season training, every player is in the same boat. There are 23 spots available for Round 1 2026 and everyone starts equal. "Go your hardest boys". Nothing more nothing less and if he does the work he will run out as a member of that 23 in Round 1

How much of a Roos man can someone be when they, as the captain, not buy into their new positon for the good of the team and then ask to play for another club with 4 years to go on their contract?

You've got North people and then you've got people who love North...didn't David King call Scott a visitor/tourist years back?
Yeah, I’m ****ing so OFF Jy now.
He can get ****ed.

Well said sir. Great summary of where we are really at. I suspected Jai had been told he’s not got the captaincy going forward and he’s not got the maturity to meet the challenge to put team first. Tough for him but we have to turn the corner and that starts now. BTW I well remember 2007 choppy i wonder if the young folk today would have the stomach for the fight? Hopefully in 2-5 years this will remain a hypothetical question and we old blokes can sit back in our rocking chairs and enjoy a few cold beers while watching North take out a threepeat 😍
Would they turn up to Dallas Brooks Hall and the Roosistance Gig

I don't think so

Would they abuse the **** out of Patrick Smith. The bloke at least turned up and I shock his hand afterwards and spoke to him.

Said he admired and respected the decision to stay North but thought it was wrong

I bet the so called Gasometer was an Aylett supporting stooge.

Time will tell.

Time tells that we still have a club, 18 years after that. Not like Fitzroy and South Melbourne

North Melbourne Football Club

I waited 23 years to see a live Grand Final win.

Spent the next 24 years dragging my now three adult kids to every game.

I keep telling them that, at some point it will turn quickly

And it will be the most glorious day

I gave Pikey and Arch a hug on the fence after 99

I will watch my three 'kids give Harry and George likewise

And then Choppy now disappears

Will lurk in the background

Bigfooty and the internet is a toxic shithole

Line in the sand. Will make or break him in my opinion.

New leaders have a job to do. Reconciliation worked with Xerri. Going to be harder in this case but hopefully it brings the playing group together. Less 'me' and more 'we'.

Xerri didn't need much reconciliation. He asked for a trade because he wanted senior games and was perennially stuck behind Goldstein. We kept him, he kept doing what he does, and his time came pretty quickly (not helped by all the stop-starts due to injury).

This group has some ****ing large personalities in it and won a Super Bowl on the back of these comments.

Jy should play this shit on repeat as he runs laps of the Tan

Simpkin to stay at North Melbourne

Glenn McFarlane, Max Stainkamph

North Melbourne says it is highly unlikely Jy Simpkin will remain captain of the club next year after his bid to join Collingwood failed on Wednesday.

Simpkin had told the Kangaroos he wanted to play for the Magpies in the hunt for more engine room time instead of a wing role.

But Collingwood’s offer, which came late on Wednesday afternoon, fell well short of North Melbourne’s expectations, as a future second round pick.

“We haven’t spoken to him (Simpkin) about the captaincy,” North Melbourne’s list boss Brady Rawlings said.

“We look at a process every year and how our leadership group is selected.

“I think Jy probably understands that through going down this path there might be a change in leadership going forward.

“I am not speaking for our players but it is probably going to look unlikely (that Simpkin remains captain.”

Rawlings said Simpkin had been told by the club that it was unlikely he would be traded regardless, though Collingwood’s offer was never going to move the needle.

“We had a very high price on him, he is a very good player and a leader at our club this year, so it was very unrealistic,” he said.

“It never got to a point where we considered it today. We were a long way apart.”

Rawlings said he didn’t begrudge FInnbar Maley moving to the Crows in a trade.

“We wanted a bit of list flexibility, (he was) among five players we hadn’t offered a contract … (so we) don’t begrudge him for looking at that when we hadn’t put one in front of him.”

“He’s a great young man, we wish him all the best.”

He said a Leek Aleer trade had gone in the “too hard basket” with the young defender overseas and unable to complete a medical.
"His bid to join Collingwood.'

Never went beyond 'testing the market.'

Collingwood reacted to that.

Overseas at the time any theoretical trade would've gone through.

No official trade request, no rumours of a specific trade request from ITKs on here.

The PR machine is in full swing even after the trade window has closed.

Get ****ed, Glenn

Jy will come back and put in the hard yards as he always has. The result on the field will be the same. If the club wants to step forward, it has to be good enough for a wing or bench spot. But that also relies on LDU, George, Colby, FOS and Sheez doing their part as well.

Player Watch #12: Jy Simpkin [Part II] - staying at North in 2026 + won't feature in leadership group as Larkey set to be named captain