Resource 2025 AFL Draft prospects and discussion.

• Thread starter Thread starter Mutineer

Offer Bailey a 2 year contract at $2m/y and tell Brisbane if they choose to match, they can have him and work the salary cap out amongst themselves, but we will offer similar deals for Logan Morris and Kai Lohmann, an area they have less cover than the mids.

If Sanders still isn't getting mid time by end of 2026, I don’t think he's worth a first
Not sure I follow this reasoning, that would be more down to their coach Beveridge who seems to have some strange ideas at times...Sanders is most definitely a midfielder whether Beveridge chooses to play him there or not.

Offer Bailey a 2 year contract at $2m/y and tell Brisbane if they choose to match, they can have him and work the salary cap out amongst themselves, but we will offer similar deals for Logan Morris and Kai Lohmann, an area they have less cover than the mids.

If Sanders still isn't getting mid time by end of 2026, I don’t think he's worth a first
I think the issue with Sanders is that he is not getting midfield time due to the quality of the mids they have in there already. Its not him not playing, he is, but half forward where he does not want to play apparently

Hey Bicks, what number range is that small forward that you liked with the bogan name going to go for?
If you're referring to Talor Byrne my best guess would be mid/late 2nd round.

I don't think he would suit us.
We already have a far superior version in Thilthorpe.

If we are replacing Tex we need someone mobile and athletic.
Which makes sense why we went and got Maley. Or Cotton.

We don’t have to draft a Tex replica. We can modify our forward line and have twin towers and stretch nearly every other defensive back 6.

I'd rather have one and 1 or 2 more mobile lead up forwards.
Ie Fogarty and a small, or Fogarty and a hybrid.

Our issue isn't forward line.
Getting it there consistently is. Having another tall won't really fix anything.

Which is why I like someone like Barker.

Here’s an interesting thought. And don’t blast me because I say this tongue in cheek.

But what if we as a club go the other way from everyone else and try to load up on the unwanted picks in the 2027 draft. Get clubs to trade their round 1 2027 picks to us for this years draft and next year.

Basically gambling on the fact that tassie won’t build a stadium and their team is removed. Super high risk, super high reward 😂
If the Adelaide Crows loaded up on 2027 draft picks and staked our entire future on a gamble on the Tassie stadium getting built... the AFL would approve a Tassie team on Monday morning and let them play in the carpark outside K mart in Devonport if they had to.

I really dont know where all this Pickett talk is coming from, he'll be 20 soon, he's played 3 SANFL League games, one 4 goal game against Centrals who got flogged 20.8 to 6.6 which was an outlier, hardly touched it against the Crows and Sturt, the rest of the season played SANFL reserves. Maybe it's the Pickett part of Latrelle Sumner-Pickett?
I don't know how much SANFL reserves you guys watch but it's a very very ordinary level these days with most decent mature age players that aren't regular League players preferring to play country footy where they can get some decent coin. Certainly below Coates Talent League quality.

What is Cal Twomey seeing that you don’t I wonder. Has him as the 24th best draftbable player in the country right now.

Edit; for the record, I agree. I don’t see it.

What is Cal Twomey seeing that you don’t I wonder. Has him as the 24th best draftbable player in the country right now.
I seriously doubt Twomey has seen much of him play given he's never played Nationals and very little of his SANFL games which have mostly been reserves level. Played U16's for Norwood known at that time as Latrelle Sumner, then played U18's for Norwood when known as Latrelle Sumner-Pickett 2 years ago, then played Seniors for Tumby Bay (Great Flinders Football League) in 2024 before turning up at the Bays this season , played 17 games in the Reserves (2 times in the bests) and 3 SANFL League games. I'm tipping it's the Pickett name that's brought him into focus.

It limits your access to all the available mechanisms, including rookie trials and delisted players.

Fair enough you don't want to take a pick 70. I would much rather have Will Phillips on the list for one season as a delisted free agent from North, even though I don't think he will make it as a full time AFL player, than Chayce Jones. He's better depth. Or Jacob Blight vs James Borlase, who is contracted for 2026.

We are unable to improve our AFL backups for our premiership tilt when we have to take 3 draftees, are forced to have no rookie spots due to our list profile and don't have any other positions to use.
Chayce Jones is far better depth than Will Phillips.

I really dont know where all this Pickett talk is coming from, he'll be 20 soon, he's played 3 SANFL League games, one 4 goal game against Centrals who got flogged 20.8 to 6.6 which was an outlier, hardly touched it against the Crows and Sturt, the rest of the season played SANFL reserves. Maybe it's the Pickett part of Latrelle Sumner-Pickett?
I don't know how much SANFL reserves you guys watch but it's a very very ordinary level these days with most decent mature age players that aren't regular League players preferring to play country footy where they can get some decent coin. Certainly below Coates Talent League quality.
Perhaps because Cal has rated him No. 24 in today's list?

I do agree he was awful against us.

We currently have pick 16 (which will blow out to 20+), 48 and 55 (which might come in a bit).

If we delist a couple more players we could have full access to every player from say pick 60 onwards. What the hell, why not delist half a dozen players and bring in 10 kids unwanted by the other 17 clubs.

Whilst Essendon will be working on the above plan, it is predicted that most of the other 17 clubs will be taking 2 or 3 draft picks. We have already added two kids (Cotton and Maley) and it looks like we will take three kids in the draft.
Please ....PLEASE .....do not even contemplate getting into sports management

This is the worst take I think I've read on drafting .....you do realise, with two year Contracts after drafting, you just clogged up the list

It limits your access to all the available mechanisms, including rookie trials and delisted players.

Fair enough you don't want to take a pick 70. I would much rather have Will Phillips on the list for one season as a delisted free agent from North, even though I don't think he will make it as a full time AFL player, than Chayce Jones. He's better depth. Or Jacob Blight vs James Borlase, who is contracted for 2026.

We are unable to improve our AFL backups for our premiership tilt when we have to take 3 draftees, are forced to have no rookie spots due to our list profile and don't have any other positions to use.
Who are you referring to on the Crows list, that isn't already Contracted ? .....just a small impediment

You keep referring to AFL backups not being improved upon .....I assume you don't think Ryan, Edwards, Nankervis, Dowling, Toby Murray and co, have any development left ......gee, only 19-22 YO and not fully developed, Scorpus has seen enough, saying get rid of them for longshots

I seriously doubt Twomey has seen much of him play given he's never played Nationals and very little of his SANFL games which have mostly been reserves level. Played U16's for Norwood known at that time as Latrelle Sumner, then played U18's for Norwood when known as Latrelle Sumner-Pickett 2 years ago, then played Seniors for Tumby Bay (Great Flinders Football League) in 2024 before turning up at the Bays this season , played 17 games in the Reserves (2 times in the bests) and 3 SANFL League games. I'm tipping it's the Pickett name that's brought him into focus.
Wheteher it's right or not, I imagine Cal is repeating what he hears from scouts and clubs.

Not sure I follow this reasoning, that would be more down to their coach Beveridge who seems to have some strange ideas at times...Sanders is most definitely a midfielder whether Beveridge chooses to play him there or not.
I'm saying he's a mid, but if the dogs play him at HF or the reserves, they shouldn't be asking for a first round pick in a trade.

Who are you referring to on the Crows list, that isn't already Contracted ? .....just a small impediment

You keep referring to AFL backups not being improved upon .....I assume you don't think Ryan, Edwards, Nankervis, Dowling, Toby Murray and co, have any development left ......gee, only 19-22 YO and not fully developed, Scorpus has seen enough, saying get rid of them for longshots

The problem is the contracts

Left of field draft idea - half tongue in cheek, half serious

1. Trade up for Farrow
2. Move him in as housemates with Dan Curtin (two WA boys)
3. Watch Curtin and Farrow win contested ball and hit TT and Fog on the t*t with their left foot coming out the centre circle in 2 years time
4. Dawson succession plan done and dusted

Left of field draft idea - half tongue in cheek, half serious

1. Trade up for Farrow
2. Move him in as housemates with Dan Curtin (two WA boys)
3. Watch Curtin and Farrow win contested ball and hit TT and Fog on the t*t with their left foot coming out the centre circle in 2 years time
4. Dawson succession plan done and dusted

cody will be moving in with dan

+1 this IF Sanders is a realistic chance to want to come to us and not Tasmania.
all focus on bailey until he resigns at brisbane... cant see r. sanders coming to us. this is why i think we better have another crack at drafting a CBA specialist mid at this draft

Good in theory .....but who are you suggesting we Draft at #20, that's a CBA specialist