Coach Future of the Club (Bevo; Board; Assistant Coaches; Football Department) - Part 2

• Thread starter Thread starter hutchy31

Reckon someone like [PLAYERCARD]Ben Brown[/PLAYERCARD] would be a great forwards coach. Has been involved with AFLW coaching for a while too so got a bit more experience than any other recent retirees

Didn't know where to post this, but since it relates to on-field performances over the past few years, I thought it would be best to post here. This is the AFL H&A ladder since 2020 (sorted win percentage - score percentage).

Pretty crazy to think that we're 4th overall (3rd best percentage) and in those 6 seasons, we've never made the top 4 and got just 2 home finals as well.

V/AFL H&A Ladder (2020-2025)
2020-2025AFLM.png

We may already have this covered people.

Out: Edge, Spangher
In: Barry, L Power, Reid
We’ve also lost Janice Maddocks as head of development.

Currently we’re at the same personnel head count as last year but we specifically said we would add to that. They’ll add at least one more coach.

The fact that Dogs that have candidates in mind for his replacement meant they knew the possibility he was leaving. 7 news is just sensitizing the article to make it seem bigger than it is. I expect he was weighing up the decision since trade period. Probably notified his decision last week and made things formal today.
You mean stirring up the Bevo is a prick to work for narrative again

We’ve also lost Janice Maddocks as head of development.

Currently we’re at the same personnel head count as last year but we specifically said we would add to that. They’ll add at least one more coach.
Janice Maddocks. Jamie to his mates….

I remember an article from about 10 years ago about Bevo having a philosophy of absolute loyalty to his assistants. In retrospect, what's it achieved? While we wanted to keep them, King, Gia, Hansen and now Spangher have all walked to other non-senior roles. Have other (generally finals competing) teams had so many wanted assistants head hunted in the last 5 years?

Gotta say, this one shits me more than most - this guy was plucked from a role at Flybuys directly to being a line coach (without even being a development coach first), because one person saw his potential and backed him in. For the first couple of years he would have been learning the ropes and without any experience - I assume from what we saw on the outside - have been a bit off the pace in those first couple of seasons. To his credit, he's developed well and looked like he was now at the level. What does he do once he has some experience? Walks at the first opportunity, while under contract (?), and at the last minute.

I'm going to put forward a very left field name as a replacement. The main draw backs are that he's older and been out of the industry for a number of years, but he ticks the box of having coached at senior level before and I reckon wouldn't be a Bevo 'yes' man, instead probably be the hard arse 'yin' to Bevo's softly softly 'yan' - David Noble.

Was at the Dogs 25 years ago (coached a VFL flag), has decades of experience as coach/footy manager, and just parted ways as CEO from a supercars team this last weekend. I don't know if he would be the IDEAL candidate, but the stars have aligned for him being available just as old mate has left us hanging.

Noble himself might see a line coach as a major step down from where he's been/where he's going, but I think it's worth a phone call.

All for our assistant coaches moving on to greener pastures. But this late in the piece, on the eve of day one doesn’t sit right.

I’m now firmly in the F**k Matt Spangler camp!!
Agree.

It's a free labour market but it's poor form. Not just on Spangher's part but the Hawks as well.

Unless there's more to the story that we haven't heard about.

Agree.

It's a free labour market but it's poor form. Not just on Spangher's part but the Hawks as well.

Unless there's more to the story that we haven't heard about.
I can’t imagine that happening

Rolling Eyes Eye Roll GIF

We are just a stepping stone for assistants. There has to be a reason coz coaching the talent we've had should keep them here

Losing coaches for better role is a good things sadly
Means our coaching development pathway will bring in higher calibre coaches wanting to improve themselves

The simplest explanation might be the best one. It could just be a promotion.

Keep in mind that Spangher was working in corporate before he got the gig with us. Head of Football Strategy & Projects appears to be much more of an off-field based role rather than any sort of on-field coaching.

The simplest explanation might be the best one. It could just be a promotion.

Keep in mind that Spangher was working in corporate before he got the gig with us. Head of Football Strategy & Projects appears to be much more of an off-field based role rather than any sort of on-field coaching.
It absolutely is a promotion to a different field within the football environment. If he moved to an on field coaching role this late, I would be outraged like a few here. Given this is not the case, though not ideal, have no issues, as Vital said shows the quality of our program to develop people in football programs

Like any job in civilian life. I would’ve thought that all clubs were mere stepping stones for guys with an eye towards moving up the coaching or football department ladder.

The timing is not idea, but its hardly insurmountable. Either by promoting from within or plucking somebody from relative obscurity like we did with Matt Spangher. When you look at the role that he has taken up at Hawthorn, you get a better understanding as top why he chose to jump ship. Its a role that is a little ill defined but seems somewhat line with what Matt Egan does with us. I suspect this is where we'll feel any effect from a loss of IP.

It won't be from our i50 patterns. Because even an imbecile like me could teach our packed forward line how to hit the scoreboard.

As an aside, we get a constant stream of moaning about the names that we attract as assistant and line coaches. The irony of Matt Spangher being an exemplar in this regard will never be lost on me. And taking a look at the names on Hawthorns panel. Quibble about Beveridges tenure as much as people like. But I dont think we lack for anything in that regard.

I used to have a Matt Spangher signed photo in his Bulldogs media polo I kept on my fridge attached by a Bulldogs fridge magnet .

Ive torn it up. I'm devasted he was my favourite assistant coach ever. He's dead to me now. A curse on him and all people called Spangher worldwide .

We're really going to struggle to find someone willing to coach Darcy Naughton Weigtnan West etc , who would ever want that job.

Holding people to contracts only happens in professional sports & then only by 'gentleman's agreement.' If a single player decided to challenge it under law, the whole edifice would crash down.

Coaches aren't bound by contracts, just as me & thee aren't either. They can find a new job whenever they like . This 'bad timing for Bulldogs' line is just click bait. Woukd it have been better if he quit in round 7?

All for our assistant coaches moving on to greener pastures.
I'm not saying those guys should never have left, was more making the point that with almost every highly rated assistant leaving, Bevo's philosophy hasn't really paid off / been reciprocated. That we've lost so many in 5 years does seem unprecedented - most premiership coaches seem to have a couple of "trusted lieutenants" that wouldn't leave their side unless moving to a senior role.

As for Spangher, I view him in the same way as you do. You see/hear this from quite a few recruited players - that they feel they owe a debt of gratitude to their club's for their careers. Dale Morris would have got offered 100s of k more during contract renewals, rejected it because of a sense of loyalty to the club who gave him his shot and developed him as they did. I would have expected an element of that in this situation - you can't force Spangher have that outlook or feel that way, but I think we're allowed to judge him on his actions.

If I got plucked from obscurity by a guy I used to work with, parachuted into a high level role that I wasn't quite ready for, learnt on the job (rather than have to put in the hard yards via years in lower profile and lower paid roles), I think I'd have a sense of loyalty to the guy and the organisation, and try re-pay the investment in me. Now if an offer came through that was millions more over the next few years, sure, there's life changing justification. But I don't think this would be a case of that.