Player Watch #26 Zane Peucker

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

Did We Get This Pick Right

I reckon that if I had posted on here saying "I reckon Sam Grlj & Zane Peucker are who we should take with pick 4 & 31, you guys would have fallen off your chair. But when Hartley does it, ya'll immediately lean back and say "genius".

Just remember, a "professional" drafted Aaron Fiora & Jarryd Oakley Nicholls too :rolleyes:
No they didn't, JON was drafted having never watched him live, a bit like the bigfooty phantom draft experts. Pleaae dont compare richmond recruiting of 20 years ago to now.

Why not? This draft was laughable. a Rebuilding team that did SFA in the trade period, hiding behind "hitting the draft" taking a total of 4 new kids, 2 of which are flankers?

With Tassie coming in this rebuild is going to take another 7 years. Completely uninspired.

I'd hate to tell you this, but our recruiting has not been that great over the last 7 years.

The most successful first round pick we have taken over the last decade ( ie since 2016) has been Jack Higgins. Let that sink in.

Why not? This draft was laughable. a Rebuilding team that did SFA in the trade period, hiding behind "hitting the draft" taking a total of 3 new kids, 2 of which are flankers?

With Tassie coming in this rebuild is going to take another 7 years. Completely uninspired.

I'd hate to tell you this, but our recruiting has not been that great over the last 7 years.

The most successful first round pick we have taken over the last decade ( ie since 2016) has been Jack Higgins. Let that sink in.

I believe you are mistaken.

Why not? This draft was laughable. a Rebuilding team that did SFA in the trade period, hiding behind "hitting the draft" taking a total of 3 new kids, 2 of which are flankers?

How many top 10 picks in that time?

On Zane, as I said last night, people fall for rankings of Cal Twomey and Fox Footy lab and take it as gospel. Having been in multiple team rooms when conducting those boards, I can tell you now, there’s no way two boards are the same. There’s internal ratings and then what other teams will do at their picks. Again, two different boards.

Richmond ranking system is very complex. It’s very systematic and data led. It requires a lot of vision both live and on tape. It doesn’t leave a lot to chance.

Zane was ranked inside the top 25 for us. That was a text I received last night and passed on. It’s come out that he was one of Rh’s favourites and the club have conducted a lot of interviews on him. He wasn’t a bolter that the media want you to believe. In fact, his body of work is way more than a lot of kids who went higher.

I suggest in future, people take the media rankings as a thought bubble it is and don’t rely on it. Trust the club have a great system to get decisions right.

As for him going way later, again, not the case. His body of work and athletic profile means he was a chance to be taken in the next few picks.

Regardless, we got the guy we rated extremely highly. Let’s back him. He’s got a lot of talent.

On Zane, as I said last night, people fall for rankings of Cal Twomey and Fox Footy lab and take it as gospel. Having been in multiple team rooms when conducting those boards, I can tell you now, there’s no way two boards are the same. There’s internal ratings and then what other teams will do at their picks. Again, two different boards.

Richmond ranking system is very complex. It’s very systematic and data led. It requires a lot of vision both live and on tape. It doesn’t leave a lot to chance.

Zane was ranked inside the top 25 for us. That was a text I received last night and passed on. It’s come out that he was one of Rh’s favourites and the club have conducted a lot of interviews on him. He wasn’t a bolter that the media want you to believe. In fact, his body of work is way more than a lot of kids who went higher.

I suggest in future, people take the media rankings as a thought bubble it is and don’t rely on it. Trust the club have a great system to get decisions right.

As for him going way later, again, not the case. His body of work and athletic profile means he was a chance to be taken in the next few picks.

Regardless, we got the guy we rated extremely highly. Let’s back him. He’s got a lot of talent.

Just on this and getting him again later, Pueker was invited to the national combine; which requires multiple teams to nominate you.

Not everyone who gets nominated gets selected, but it is an indication of multiple teams being interested.

Sounds perfectly reasonable. Personally, I don't listen to anything that any of the AFL media "experts" spew out, including who they think should be the top 10 or top 20 draftees.

Seriously, who would believe anything these c**ksuckers say anyway?

Full of Smokies? Our Premiership team had Dustin Martin, Trent Cotchin, Jack Riewoldt, Alex Rance.

No point having smoke without the fire.
100%. But that is what your low picks are for, the star factor. Later picks, especially when you bring in so many low draft pick kids in two years can be a bit more of a gamble. We went for strong kids with speed and good below their knees. We are not blessed with many of these so worth a punt.

Full of Smokies? Our Premiership team had Dustin Martin, Trent Cotchin, Jack Riewoldt, Alex Rance.

No point having smoke without the fire.
Rioli was seen as a reach when we picked him in the 1st. He was also and elite athlete like Grlj.

Peucker was ranked 19th on my whiteboard
Physical Therapy Funk GIF by rehab2perform

Explain to me your logic on what a ‘flanker’ is…

Might be a bit of a surprise packet in 2026. this young man. Has a build that could allow him to play a bit of senior footy.

How good would it be if Zane becomes a player like Chad Warner that was pick #39
After our 24 haul if we get a diamond like that the AFL world would lose their sh!t
Might take a while...The AFL Old Boy's Club is packed full of it...