Player Watch #12: Jy Simpkin [Part II] - staying at North in 2026 + won't feature in leadership group as Larkey set to be named captain

You’re more discerning than I

I just hate everyone and everything as a default, without prejudice

Only if goodness is proven I will change my opinion
I know this feeling, I was exactly this way for periods of my life.

I had a kid, I can't be so obviously down on shit. She's ****ing switched-on, she came over to me with her Dr kit, and put the stethoscope on me and said "Daddy's sick"... I had to change.
Now, now you lot, you can be as bitchy as you desire, at days end he is in our best side for season 2026.
Thought he was pretty good against the Crow.

If he moves on next season, oh well. We will deal with it, this level of angst I struggle with though. The amount of shitmen we have played over the last 5 years, that left me thinking, we're cooked forever.

So regardless I hope he thinks he has a point to prove and gets on with it. And yeah if he was a FA we'd have got a very early pick, bloody timing was off.

We shall see, as we say.
Yeah, nah. What bothers me is we'll roll over, welcome him back into loving arms and be 100% 2025/6 "it's ok mate" - **** that, no it ain't.

Now, now you lot, you can be as bitchy as you desire, at days end he is in our best side for season 2026.

If he moves on next season, oh well. We will deal with it, this level of angst I struggle with though. The amount of shitmen we have played over the last 5 years, that left me thinking, we're cooked forever.

So regardless I hope he thinks he has a point to prove and gets on with it. And yeah if he was a FA we'd have got a very early pick, bloody timing was off.

We shall see, as we say.
Is he though? Honestly? He could never play for us again and you'd never notice, well you might. How many times have you gone "jeepers, we could do with a Stevo right now, or an Archer, Corey Jones perhaps, certainly Carey. Cunnington is another, Schwass, Dench, Schimma, Johnny Law or Rossy Smith"?
Nobody ever will say, "jeepers, we could do with Jy Simpkin". It's why we needed a Luke Parker.

I know this feeling, I was exactly this way for periods of my life.

I had a kid, I can't be so obviously down on shit. She's ****ing switched-on, she came over to me with her Dr kit, and put the stethoscope on me and said "Daddy's sick"... I had to change.

Yeah, nah. What bothers me is we'll roll over, welcome him back into loving arms and be 100% 2025/6 "it's ok mate" - **** that, no it ain't.
I have kids too if anything I have less patience and tolerance of bullshit

We shall see, as we say.

1764287339444.jpeg

That's one way of looking at the situation. That's fine. Everyone's entitled to their viewpoint and opinions.

The other way of looking at it (which is also valid) is that after a season where he under-performed, our Captain expressed an interest in leaving the club and was only stymied by the fact that no other clubs rated him highly enough to pay the price it would cost to trade for him. And following that blowing up in his face, in lieu of joining his team-mates at training in the early days of preseason, he went on another holiday.

I think acknowledging that Jy (either independently or acting under advice from his manager - I've heard conflicting reports) handled this offseason poorly is perfectly reasonably for fans to do.

View attachment 2487179

That's one way of looking at the situation. That's fine. Everyone's entitled to their viewpoint and opinions.

The other way of looking at it (which is also valid) is that after a season where he under-performed, our Captain expressed an interest in leaving the club and was only stymied by the fact that no other clubs rated him highly enough to pay the price it would cost to trade for him. And following that blowing up in his face, in lieu of joining his team-mates at training in the early days of preseason, he went on another holiday.

I think acknowledging that Jy (either independently or acting under advice from his manager - I've heard conflicting reports) handled this offseason poorly is perfectly reasonably for fans to do.

I don't disagree with anyone who suggested he acted poorly. I'm not interested in what training he attended or didn't attend. As I'm sure he attends compulsory sessions. Adding he's probably one of our fitter players we've had over the journey.

Collingwood did say they'd pay his wage and had no issue with the amount . But they disrespected Jy by way of suggesting he's value is only a late second rounder.
I hope he shoves it up them next year.

My point is regardless of your personal views, Jy can play football. To suggest otherwise is silly.

What I now think and why I think this is great for us. Is that Jy was probably a shit Captain. And from all reports Sheezel has the group humming.

Not sure Jy " all about me " Simpkin achieved that.

But Jy is still best 18. Whether we revisit a trade next year, only time will tell.

Jy on a wing is better than we've had a for a bit . Curtis Taylor , Hansen Jnr, Scott etc.

Just bumped into one of Big Footy's poster boys (clue: he wears a helmet).

The playing group doesn't care about Jy looking elsewhere (it's part of the business), but they're glad he's back and acknowledge he had some mental health issues that ground him down.

Sounds like a sensible take on events, but that's just me

The playing group doesn't care about Jy looking elsewhere (it's part of the business), but they're glad he's back and acknowledge he had some mental health issues that ground him down.

Caleb Daniel is on Big Footy?

I don't disagree with anyone who suggested he acted poorly. I'm not interested in what training he attended or didn't attend. As I'm sure he attends compulsory sessions. Adding he's probably one of our fitter players we've had over the journey.

Collingwood did say they'd pay his wage and had no issue with the amount . But they disrespected Jy by way of suggesting he's value is only a late second rounder.
I hope he shoves it up them next year.

My point is regardless of your personal views, Jy can play football. To suggest otherwise is silly.

What I now think and why I think this is great for us. Is that Jy was probably a shit Captain. And from all reports Sheezel has the group humming.

Not sure Jy " all about me " Simpkin achieved that.

But Jy is still best 18. Whether we revisit a trade next year, only time will tell.

Jy on a wing is better than we've had a for a bit . Curtis Taylor , Hansen Jnr, Scott etc.
So he’s come in 5, from best 23 to now best 18? And Collingwood disrespected him? Turn it up, it’s all he’s worth. He’s a sideways kicking, hair flicking fat vegan that wanted out, except nobody wanted him.

It was his own decision. Manager was as shocked as the rest of us, having advised against it when it was first raised with him. That’s from the manager himself when discussing it with someone important awhile ago before the outcome was known. I reported it here the day after.

I’m genuinely in awe of the leadership masterclass a few blokes in here are putting on.

I had no idea the way out of the mess we’re in is to relentlessly tear down our own players.

The clarity you’ve shown — that a bloke should never be forgiven for a bad decision and must be held to account forever — is honestly inspiring.

A former captain who considered leaving and had no takers? Brilliant — the only logical response is permanent exile.

I really hope his teammates ostracise him, it would be for the betterment of the football club for sure.

I’m learning so much about high-performance culture just reading your posts.

The consistency, the passion, the refusal to allow any pathway back — it’s next-level stuff.

In fact, I’m thinking Duck and Chip should be appointed Director of Footy and Head of Leadership immediately.

**** those Leading Teams and Ben Crowe types — they are just pussies compared to the elite standards being driven in here.

I’ll keep taking notes — this is clearly where North Melbourne’s real cultural experts operate.

I’m genuinely in awe of the leadership masterclass a few blokes in here are putting on.

I had no idea the way out of the mess we’re in is to relentlessly tear down our own players.

The clarity you’ve shown — that a bloke should never be forgiven for a bad decision and must be held to account forever — is honestly inspiring.

A former captain who considered leaving and had no takers? Brilliant — the only logical response is permanent exile.

I really hope his teammates ostracise him, it would be for the betterment of the football club for sure.

The consistency, the passion, the refusal to allow any pathway back — it’s next-level stuff.

In fact, I’m thinking Duck and Chip should be appointed Director of Footy and Head of Leadership immediately.

**** those Leading Teams and Ben Crowe types — they are just pussies compared to the elite standards being driven in here.

I’ll keep taking notes — this is clearly where North Melbourne’s real cultural experts operate.
Jy wouldnt be playing at North in 2026 if Chip or I were running the club. I would have put him on the table to 17 other clubs and forced him out to the highest bidder. Sorry pal, you dont want to be here then take your toxic rainbow soft bullshit and **** off.

What do you think the greatest leaders of sporting clubs past and present would have done in this situation?

Definitely but some people will rightfully question how someone being paid $1.3m+ has mental health issues where us (the faithful) have to pay $1000 each p.a for the same privilege.

Yep because those frauds have covered themselves in glory too, haven't they?

Leading Teams? Hahah i remember they came to my work once at Goldmans lol, you think they were treated with respect? lol

Respect is earned, it's up to some of the frauds you "prop up" to earn my respect. It's not a given, I'm not a ****ing charity. I don't expect it from anyone else and I'm certainly not gonna dish it out for shits and giggles/belief in the unproven. Seriously. I know you probably meant this as a gotcha moment. I trust you got it.

Jy wouldnt be playing at North in 2026 if Chip or I were running the club. I would have put him on the table to 17 other clubs and forced him out to the highest bidder. Sorry pal, you dont want to be here then take your toxic rainbow soft bullshit and **** off.

What do you think the greatest leaders of sporting clubs past and present would have done in this situation?
**** yeah Duck yeah.

Let’s go bash some blokes together as well.

Sink a box together, get sideways, then talk rooting stories for hours to bond.

Get out on a Sundee after the game and do the Depot & Star Bar double.

Pissed we haven’t got Thursday night games so the Lads can have a 4 day bender together now.

Call me a Leprechaun then mate, but the world has changed mate whether us fossils like it or not.

But I admire you.

I’ve always said at least stand for something with conviction and you do that.

Signed Rainbow Boy

MH doesn’t care how much money you have, however, sure makes it easier when you need a break or RnR. He’s just a sook
I love the "withering" attack on people who post to one another at ~6am (most days lol) as some form of "I work harder so I must know more" schtick, he's going with here.

Have a different opinion, whatever... little does he know that we stood at different ends of Somers St, that's our bond, we unite for the Joeys and so what, I don't agree with everything you say (agree w most) but I will defend your right to say whatever you feel (so long as it's not overly racist or sexist) against ANYONE.

I will always have your back campaigner. That's how I'm built. I know you're the same.

I love the "withering" attack on people who post to one another at ~6am (most days lol) as some form of "I work harder so I must know more" schtick, he's going with here.

Have a different opinion, whatever... little does he know that we stood at different ends of Somers St, that's our bond, we unite for the Joeys and so what, I don't agree with everything you say (agree w most) but I will defend your right to say whatever you feel (so long as it's not overly racist or sexist) against ANYONE.

I will always have your back campaigner. That's how I'm built. I know you're the same.
Never said you can’t say what you like mate, but equally I’m entitled to an opinion.

I’m a product of that old school culture and in my experience it doesn’t serve most of us positively in the long run.

But to each their own, and just as you guys go for it so too can I.

I’m backing Jy in and the concept of embracing a good guy, with credits in the bank, and running with an inclusive culture that acknowledges mistakes but moves on quickly.

Never said you can’t say what you like mate, but equally I’m entitled to an opinion.

I’m a product of that old school culture and in my experience it doesn’t serve most of us positively in the long run.

But to each their own, and just as you guys go for it so too can I.

I’m backing Jy in and the concept of embracing a good guy, with credits in the bank, and running with an inclusive culture that acknowledges mistakes but moves on quickly.
I'm not disregarding your angle, in today's world that is a logical, rational response. You're absolutely entitled to that opinion and I, under any other circumstance would be by your side.

But this is Norf.

Logic, reason, emotionless and uncaring responses go out the window. This campaigner walked out on us when he should have been in the gym...running, trying to be better. It's not as if we shorted him either, we have paid this fraud millions.

I can't even look at him. We aren't like normal clubs (where this shit sorta flies).
We're all-in, need to be all-in. That how you compete when you're 5x smaller than some of your opponents.

The problem we have with Jy is that we’re stuck with him because every other club sees what we see every week.

Fit, great feet to get out of trouble, but the skills and decision making are average.

The fact that his kicking has not improved while he has been in the system is an indictment on him. I have just been watching Sheezel on Instagram practicing his kicking with a kicking coach.

Anyway, it’s professional sport, so the players, unlike us won’t be holding a grudge. Not sure about Clarkson though. If he has the opportunity to put FOS or Duursma on the wing, in place of Simpkin, he will do it without a care.

I'm not disregarding your angle, in today's world that is a logical, rational response. You're absolutely entitled to that opinion and I, under any other circumstance would be by your side.

But this is Norf.

Logic, reason, emotionless and uncaring responses go out the window. This campaigner walked out on us when he should have been in the gym...running, trying to be better. It's not as if we shorted him either, we have paid this fraud millions.

I can't even look at him. We aren't like normal clubs (where this shit sorta flies).
We're all-in, need to be all-in. That how you compete when you're 5x smaller than some of your opponents.
If Fly could turn the rabid Pies fans, maybe there’s a chance for you yet ….

So he’s come in 5, from best 23 to now best 18? And Collingwood disrespected him? Turn it up, it’s all he’s worth. He’s a sideways kicking, hair flicking fat vegan that wanted out, except nobody wanted him.
So, rickety is really Simpkin IRL?

But this is Norf.

Well said.

We are not West Coast or Collingwood.

Players drafted to North don't magically get weekly puff pieces after they touch up someone at a nightclub against their will. They don't mysteriously end up on the boards of mining companies or see their partners sign lucrative deals to peddle "wellness" to a paying audience of nobody.

Eugene Arocca used to stack and unpack the dishwasher. Glenn Archer bought the club a van. Tarryn Thomas was rightly smoked out of the club for misdemeanours that pale against those of well known "good blokes" and "misfits" from other clubs who enjoy AFL and/or big club protection.

That means we can give - but also expect- a higher degree of loyalty and buy-in than other clubs. You won't typically become a household name at North Melbourne but the small passionate fanbase will share your journey and your share of any club success will be much higher than a player at a corporate megalith like WC or Collingwood.

Which brings us back to Jy. I sympathise with his personal struggles and as a person hope his life improves.

But he's also an "employee" of the North Melbourne football club and think he failed in his week to week commitment (golf on match day??) and can and will judge him on his attempted trade. Chip Scab1 and DuckYeah nailed it I reckon, all that stopped him going out the door was no other clubs match his high internal assessment of himself.

He didn't stay because of some last minute reticence or moment of reflection.

I'll cheer him on now. Again as a person I wish him well. Have met him, he's a nice bloke.

As a supporter he's neither forgiven nor forgotten for the time being.

Player Watch #12: Jy Simpkin [Part II] - staying at North in 2026 + won't feature in leadership group as Larkey set to be named captain