Player Watch #12: Jy Simpkin [Part II] - staying at North in 2026 + won't feature in leadership group as Larkey set to be named captain

lol the man isnt due back and needs a break to refresh mentally

came back day 1 on his own accord

will be back next week, will win the time trial and be our most in shape player

dont need a running commentary
Wasn’t it you a few seasons back whinging about Cunnington not coming back early & setting an example…?

Yep
Does cunners dominate running?? Like jy does

Maybe come back and work on it early

And jy is apparently injured so wouldn’t be doing full training

Well said.

We are not West Coast or Collingwood.

Players drafted to North don't magically get weekly puff pieces after they touch up someone at a nightclub against their will. They don't mysteriously end up on the boards of mining companies or see their partners sign lucrative deals to peddle "wellness" to a paying audience of nobody.

Eugene Arocca used to stack and unpack the dishwasher. Glenn Archer bought the club a van. Tarryn Thomas was rightly smoked out of the club for misdemeanours that pale against those of well known "good blokes" and "misfits" from other clubs who enjoy AFL and/or big club protection.

That means we can give - but also expect- a higher degree of loyalty and buy-in than other clubs. You won't typically become a household name at North Melbourne but the small passionate fanbase will share your journey and your share of any club success will be much higher than a player at a corporate megalith like WC or Collingwood.

Which brings us back to Jy. I sympathise with his personal struggles and as a person hope his life improves.

But he's also an "employee" of the North Melbourne football club and think he failed in his week to week commitment (golf on match day??) and can and will judge him on his attempted trade. Chip Scab1 and DuckYeah nailed it I reckon, all that stopped him going out the door was no other clubs match his high internal assessment of himself.

He didn't stay because of some last minute reticence or moment of reflection.

I'll cheer him on now. Again as a person I wish him well. Have met him, he's a nice bloke.

As a supporter he's neither forgiven nor forgotten for the time being.
Simpkin stayed because the club held him to his contract, similar to Tristan Xerri being held to his contract after he asked for a trade in 2021.

Has Xerri been forgiven/forgotten?

Simpkin stayed because the club held him to his contract, similar to Tristan Xerri being held to his contract after he asked for a trade in 2021.

I understand the point you're making, but they're also not a like-for-like comparison.

Xerri wanted out at age 21~ because he was stuck behind a dominant generational talent in Todd Goldstein. He had played <10 AFL games to this point (IIRC), so he thought to have a successful career he would need to go elsewhere. Turns out, the club was planning on moving on from Goldstein sooner than Xerri realised so the whole thing became moot.

However Simpkin was not only firmly cemented in to our roster as a best 22 player who had played 173 games for North Melbourne, but was also our Captain.

There's a difference, is all I'm saying.

Simpkin is captain of the club and plays senior football every week.

Xerri was a young player who couldn't get a game with a seemingly immortal club legend in his way and a high priced recruit his exact age (CCJ) arriving via trade.

Vastly different situations.

Logical fallacy. Xerri was being shafted for a 45 year old and was going to leave because he wasn’t getting opportunity. He called the clubs bluff and look how it worked for him.

I’m genuinely in awe of the leadership masterclass a few blokes in here are putting on.

I had no idea the way out of the mess we’re in is to relentlessly tear down our own players.

The clarity you’ve shown — that a bloke should never be forgiven for a bad decision and must be held to account forever — is honestly inspiring.

A former captain who considered leaving and had no takers? Brilliant — the only logical response is permanent exile.

I really hope his teammates ostracise him, it would be for the betterment of the football club for sure.

I’m learning so much about high-performance culture just reading your posts.

The consistency, the passion, the refusal to allow any pathway back — it’s next-level stuff.

In fact, I’m thinking Duck and Chip should be appointed Director of Footy and Head of Leadership immediately.

**** those Leading Teams and Ben Crowe types — they are just pussies compared to the elite standards being driven in here.

I’ll keep taking notes — this is clearly where North Melbourne’s real cultural experts operate.
Well it's good to hear you are learning something about leadership and are prepared to admit it on here.

Following the NMFC over the recent past it is very understandable that supporters have forgotten what elite sporting leadership looks like.

We know what is doesn't look like - and Jy is very much part of that - however the key for us to be successful is to find real leaders in the Schimma, Carey, Archer, Stevo mould. Once we do our chances of success will rise quickly. Jy made his decisions and now lives with their consequences - how he deals with that is up to him.

Happy for Jy to play.

Can’t be captain, primarily because he can’t set standards and kick the ball like he does. Secondly because he wanted to leave. I will be even happier when our midfield and winger depth is deep enough to to kick his hack-kicking arse to the kerb.

Having said that his kicking seems less of an issue playing wing.

Jy wouldnt be playing at North in 2026 if Chip or I were running the club. I would have put him on the table to 17 other clubs and forced him out to the highest bidder. Sorry pal, you dont want to be here then take your toxic rainbow soft bullshit and **** off.

What do you think the greatest leaders of sporting clubs past and present would have done in this situation?
If you were running the club, we'd probably miss the season as a result of a season-long boot camp in Gaza involving 'team building exercises'

Congrats on inserting your own anecdotal experience into the conversation Chip Scab1. Agree that to survive in certain industries requires a sacrifice in personal wellbeing to get a lick of the ice cream, and that clearly extends to AFL in a very direct manner.

However, the horizons are different - you fail as a trader or PM for a quarter/half/annual basis on a hot seat (against internal and external comps) and you're done - it's an objective measuring stick.

IB or bulge bracket only has to worry about whether or not they can manage risk of the employee against his potential return. AFL doesn't operate like that for a reason - clubs are incentivised to take responsibility (limited talent pool) on developing young men into positive contributors to society (club reputation in attracting/developing talent) in addition to becoming footballers.

IB or bulge bracket doesn't worry about that because they can turnover talent at a much higher rate, and the covenants in the social contract are far lower.

So I disagree when it comes to Simpkin - if the team is happy to have him back, he buys in (and hopefully rebuild his ego.. decent driver you'd recognise here I reckon) then there's no issue. He adds value relative to our other options at HF/wing anyway; we would not receive appropriate recompense for Jy's value to our best 22

Anyway - long silver here from a double lever in residual momentum on gold outlook and structural deficiencies on silver delivery via paper trading versus physical held. Set up looks positive if you can wear volatility, especially if the US decides to run it hot

Well said.

We are not West Coast or Collingwood.

Players drafted to North don't magically get weekly puff pieces after they touch up someone at a nightclub against their will. They don't mysteriously end up on the boards of mining companies or see their partners sign lucrative deals to peddle "wellness" to a paying audience of nobody.

Eugene Arocca used to stack and unpack the dishwasher. Glenn Archer bought the club a van. Tarryn Thomas was rightly smoked out of the club for misdemeanours that pale against those of well known "good blokes" and "misfits" from other clubs who enjoy AFL and/or big club protection.

That means we can give - but also expect- a higher degree of loyalty and buy-in than other clubs. You won't typically become a household name at North Melbourne but the small passionate fanbase will share your journey and your share of any club success will be much higher than a player at a corporate megalith like WC or Collingwood.

Which brings us back to Jy. I sympathise with his personal struggles and as a person hope his life improves.

But he's also an "employee" of the North Melbourne football club and think he failed in his week to week commitment (golf on match day??) and can and will judge him on his attempted trade. Chip Scab1 and DuckYeah nailed it I reckon, all that stopped him going out the door was no other clubs match his high internal assessment of himself.

He didn't stay because of some last minute reticence or moment of reflection.

I'll cheer him on now. Again as a person I wish him well. Have met him, he's a nice bloke.

As a supporter he's neither forgiven nor forgotten for the time being.
Nailed it as per usual (as did Chip Scab1 The Great).

Have heard the younger guys aren’t happy with his movements and the narrative that was used in that he had a hard year off field didn’t stack up for them.

Particular player said he wouldn’t vote for him as a leader

Have heard the younger guys aren’t happy with his movements and the narrative that was used in that he had a hard year off field didn’t stack up for them.

Particular player said he wouldn’t vote for him as a leader
If we're being honest, that viewpoint should be the default amongst the group, particularly the younger players who have less reason to be chummy towards him. What he did didn't constitute the actions of a leader and his status in 2026 and beyond should reflect that.

Still perfectly happy to have him on the team, because as much as we like our shiny new toys, he plays to structure, runs defensively, and contrary to a weird belief which has taken hold on here, isn't slow. This forced brand of uber athleticism I've seen pop up on here which sees Duursma on a wing and Brayden George off half-back is pure fantasy land stuff

I understand the point you're making, but they're also not a like-for-like comparison.

Xerri wanted out at age 21~ because he was stuck behind a dominant generational talent in Todd Goldstein. He had played <10 AFL games to this point (IIRC), so he thought to have a successful career he would need to go elsewhere. Turns out, the club was planning on moving on from Goldstein sooner than Xerri realised so the whole thing became moot.

However Simpkin was not only firmly cemented in to our roster as a best 22 player who had played 173 games for North Melbourne, but was also our Captain.

There's a difference, is all I'm saying.
There is a difference, but both are understandable. Both Jy and X had uncertain futures at the club so looked around at their options. Jy may have been voted captain by the players, but the coach clearly doesn't rate him as a leader. Having complained about our lack of leadership at the end of 2024, Clarko brought in some new ones. Jy was pushed out of the midfield by a bloke who can't run because he supposedly provides the leadership that Jy lacks. Predictably, outside of stoppages, Parker sucked in this role and we got smashed in transition week after week. It was a pretty big slap in the face for Jy, and hardly surprising that he would question what his long-term position at the club was and look around at his options. Those crying about this need a bit of perspective.

He signed a long term lucrative highest paid at the club deal. His position at the club is whatever he is asked to do. If its cut oranges into quarters, thats what he will do. If its bring the cones in after a session, if its carry the drinks. He agreed to it. Hopefully we ship him off to the highest bidder at the end of 2026.

Xerri was on a few shillings and not getting a game. Not the same, not even comparable

He signed a long term lucrative highest paid at the club deal. His position at the club is whatever he is asked to do. If its cut oranges into quarters, thats what he will do. If its bring the cones in after a session, if its carry the drinks. He agreed to it. Hopefully we ship him off to the highest bidder at the end of 2026.

Xerri was on a few shillings and not getting a game. Not the same, not even comparable
Things change. Jy signed when Clarko was on indefinite leave, Ratten was coach, JHF had just left, Thomas was doing crazy shit, and the club needed a good news story. Jy was coming off two BnF's, had just been made captain, and him signing a long-term contract was something the club needed. The new coach doesn't rate him very highly, so he looked around. Get over it.

Jy is an interesting case. We all know he can play. But how is the whole failed 'get me out of here' episode going to affect him? Clearly he won't be captain. Does he lift and prove his quality, maybe increasing his price to move at end of 2026? Does he sook all year? Does he bite the bullet and do what he is paid (extremely well) to do - play great forty for the club? I just don't know how to read him tbh.

Things change. Jy signed when Clarko was on indefinite leave, Ratten was coach, JHF had just left, Thomas was doing crazy shit, and the club needed a good news story. Jy was coming off two BnF's, had just been made captain, and him signing a long-term contract was something the club needed. The new coach doesn't rate him very highly, so he looked around. Get over it.
Dont sign the deal, dont pitch to the minions underneath your leadership a dream, dont talk about 1 club mentality and loyalty, dont use words that you have no intention of backing up. Questions the integrity of him. Dont put your hand up for captaincy when Happy Meal had his hand up at the same time.

He is employed full time and committed to the NMFC work place. He chose that. He chose a heavy front ended contract and have security at North until he entered his twilight years.

You sign a deal, you live with your choices. Jy did not sign a long term deal because the club needed it.. He signed the deal because the offer was far larger and more lucrative than anyone else would offer. He is a selfish arsehat that only thinks of himself. Typical ****in vegan

Spot on. Clarkson rates foot skills extremely high

I might be in the minority on this one, and I understand that the restaurant gig was probably booked months ago and is a very big deal for Cam Zurhaar, and Jy was there supporting his mate.

But...

I dunno. Kind of doesn't sit right with me that the (still current) Captain of our club wasn't at the AFLW grand final.

6497.jpg

Player Watch #12: Jy Simpkin [Part II] - staying at North in 2026 + won't feature in leadership group as Larkey set to be named captain