Autopsy David Koch and the Vanillarization of Port Adelaide (by tribey)

I left home in my early 20’s, shagged up with a girl at the time renting on The Esplanade at Largs Bay.
Old house but lovely inside, you could sit on the porch and look straight out to the ocean.
At the time I had a car and a shit paying job.
I clearly remember the rent was $35 a week, I could afford it no worry’s plus run a car, go out partying every weekend and always had booze in the fridge.
We used to eat out at least once a week at the pub and had a good life.
Young people today can only dream of that lifestyle,I wouldn’t want to be young today starting out in life.
I feel lucky to be born in the time i was, Australia was a great place to live in those days, nobody had to work two jobs and working weekends was basically essential services apart from the shops being open for 4 hours on a Saturday morning.
Comparing those days to now is like comparing Apples to Oranges.

I left home in my early 20’s, shagged up with a girl at the time renting on The Esplanade at Largs Bay.
Old house but lovely inside, you could sit on the porch and look straight out to the ocean.
I clearly remember the rent was $35 a week, I could afford it no worry’s plus run a car, go out partying every weekend and always had booze in the fridge.
Young people today can only dream of that lifestyle,I wouldn’t want to be young today starting out in life.
I feel lucky to be born in the time i was, Australia was a great place to live in those days, nobody had to work two jobs and working weekends was basically essential services apart from the shops being open for 4 hours on a Saturday morning.
Shacked up, and `shagged up' for $35 a week rent sounds like a great deal. ;)

They won't believe you.

Living the life, Volt, living the life.

you live in whyalla. you can buy a house with loose change there.
Have a look at the real estate websites. Not much change from 500 at the cheapest. And lets not count housing trust halves, a decent one 250 minimum.

Doing some clearing out of mum's place as she's a bit of a hoarder. House was purchased/mortgaged in about 1973 for $19k.
Found a receipt from 1974 for a 26" colour tv for $800 odd, financed so the end cost was $1080.

The tv cost 5% of the value of a house 😂

That would be the equivalent of paying $40k for a tv nowadays.

Consumer goods are cheap as shit now, but the shit that is required to actually live (food, shelter, transport, power, insurance etc) is insanely expensive.

Call me crazy but I'd rather being able to exist was affordable than $400 flat screen TVs.

Whyalla is such a strange place. Go there once a year to see 5 or 6 clients. Spent yesterday there and got back this afternoon in fact. Most that live there seem to love it but theres always a sense of doom about the place. The older part of town near the coast is okay, but it V's out inland and there are pockets of absolute shit mixed in with okay streets. One client lives in Whyalla Norrie or Jenkins, one of those trust half houses, complete shit, worked for the company for 40 years, looks like a hobo, lives like a bum, never married, drive a 90s falcon, has over 4 million in super, cash and shares, no body to leave it to, doesnt spend it. Basically never left Whyalla. Im just like mate, do ****ing something.

Lol it's odd isn't it. It's like some people get so addicted to routine that they can't do anything else.

Not that I'd particularly want to live in either, but I reckon I'd go Port Augusta over Whyalla, no particular reason though. Both too hot.
Port Lincoln on the other hand is quite nice

Address?

Doing some clearing out of mum's place as she's a bit of a hoarder. House was purchased/mortgaged in about 1973 for $19k.
Found a receipt from 1974 for a 26" colour tv for $800 odd, financed so the end cost was $1080.

Consumer goods are cheap as shit now, but the shit that is required to actually live (food, shelter, transport, power, insurance etc) is insanely expensive.

Call me crazy but I'd rather being able to exist was affordable than $400 flat screen TVs.

The Sales Tax on things like tvs got up to 32% by the time it was phased out - replaced by GST of 10% at the stroke of a pen. We actually used to make them in Australia too, in the good old days of tariff walls - another reason for the high cost.

Other receipt was carpeting for the whole house, about $300 lol. Disturbingly, it's still there. 52 years old. Trying to convince her to let me replace it isn't going well either

Lol it's odd isn't it. It's like some people get so addicted to routine that they can't do anything else.

Not that I'd particularly want to live in either, but I reckon I'd go Port Augusta over Whyalla, no particular reason though. Both too hot.
Port Lincoln on the other hand is quite nice
People don't change. They live the way they always have. If your reasoably frugal and can live comfordably on $60 or $70k a year the sweet spot for a boomer couple that own their own home is around $500k in super. They basically get full Aged Pension, which is around $45k, can invest conservatively with minimal risk, get 5% interest and not degrade their asset value.

Color TV’s cost a mint when they first came out.
FB_IMG_1490235032371_Original.jpeg

On the flipside a $1200 tv today is equivalent to $35 back then (proportional to house prices) which is less than a smashed avo brunch and soy mocha-cappacino

Thing is it’s cheaper to buy a color TV in Australia than it is in your average Asian country.
As a lot of people there don’t pay income tax so there’s a very large tax on anything electrical also including cell phones.