Training Preseason Training Thread - 2026

The below is the OG faux training report from nearly 9 years ago - often imitated but never surpassed

In the absence of Keys I went down for a trundle this morning to check them out on return. Just a few random notes I took down...

• A lot of running work again, clearly a focus even in the heat.
  • Duggan looked on and was hitting targets left and right. Set for a huge 2017.
  • Giles went up against Vardy in the ruck contests and I'd say that Giles has the inside running at the moment.
  • Mitchell looked a class above the other midfielders bar Priddis. Just knew how to find the footy and wouldn't miss a target all session. Shuey was very quiet and seemed to be taking direction from Mitchell. Doesn't bode well for his captaincy credentials, maybe he doesn't want the gig?
  • Won't say too much about it in case I was just reading too much into it, but Rioli looked as though he'd enjoyed the Christmas break a bit too much. A few of the coaches pulled him aside and they were having quite an animated conversation before Rioli was sent to do laps for the rest of the session. Good news for Le Cras, I suppose.
  • Sheed kicked on his right foot for 80% of the session, I reckon. Nice to see players working on their non-preferred so readily.
  • Petrie looked like he was doing a great job 'coaching' the younger forwards in between the drills. Darling in particular seemed to be following him around.
  • Gee Venables has some skills. He mainly jogged laps before spending the last half hour or so on set shots - curled a few beauties from behind the boundary line at the end for a bit of fun. Hardly saw him miss a kick.
  • What interested me the most was that McGovern split his time between the defenders and the forwards, could be seeing a swingman role in 2017. He was his usual dominant self down back in some match simulation drills before going head-to-head with Mackenzie in a forward role.
  • Bayok is very fast - Cripps was in most of the drills with him and couldn't keep up.
  • Nelson is pale as buggery and still doesn't really have the body shape you'd expect of an AFL player.
  • There was a big bloke who pulled up next to me and I could have sworn it was Suma, but I'm sure I was wrong...
  • Masto was the player picked to kick the goal at the end today and nailed it. Celebrations were huge.
  • No sign of Cole, Parto or Hill. Couldn't tell you why.

Will upload pics later if I have time. Let me know if you have any questions!

You might wonder why I’ve put this up and stickied it

Because this is the standard all copies should be measured against and it’s a reminder of how high the bar was set

And to hopefully discourage sequels.

If you want to have a crack in my absence, go ahead but if it doesn’t equal the standard set (as judged by me), then expect

• A one week threadban for a first offence
• A two week threadban for a second offence
• A one year threadban for a third offence

Actual training reports, minus discussion, can become found here:

If you watch the clip, pretty much everyone comes in from the side when defending.

It's almost as if they're coached to do so...
IDK why they are doing this training drill for the mens team.
its the 'Clever Girl' drill, and they have the blokes doing it? SMH my head

It’s funny you mention that because when we did play the pies Edward barely matched up on McStay and spent majority of his time on debutant West which is exactly what my criticism of Edward is. He gets given easy jobs and everyone hails it as improvement- I see it as a severe lack of confidence from Mcqualter in him.

But each their own.

Or maybe the coaches just play him where they see his best matchup?

For context- my criticism of Harry was he got towelled up when playing on oppo best forward (like when King kicked 6 on him and he got dropped), and his uptick in form correlated with using Ginbey to play tall and Edwards was essentially playing loose as an interceptor.

I don’t think Edwards is trash. I just think his ‘improvement’ was more to do with re-shuffling of roles then an anything else.

And the drill and video doesn’t do anything to dispel that…

Your examples of this was against Geelong, when Ginbey played on Caneron and Edwards played on Neale (even though you say he didnt).

And against Adelaide where he didn't play one game and the clearly played on Thilthorpe in the other

What you're saying just didn't happen

Someone else can work their magic but quick break down. Like LF said Champion ran laps and run throughs but did look a little sore.

Highlights
Duursma everywhere.
T Mac the same.
Starcevich to midfield might happen
Lindsay lacing players out.
CDT hype train goes on.
Waterman looks pack

Someone else can work their magic but quick break down. Like LF said Champion ran laps and run throughs but did look a little sore.

Highlights
Duursma everywhere.
T Mac the same.
CDT hype train Choo Choo’s on.
Waterman looks back

Random observations from the parts of today’s session that I saw

• Everything they did that I saw was contested - full ground 18v18, across the ground 10v10, half ground 12v12 (numbers are estimates)
• Session not as long as the last couple but intensity was up - the match play ramped up a notch or two in physicality with bigger marking contests, more forceful tackles etc
• To underline that competitiveness, Waterman and Edwards had to be separated at one point after Edwards took Waternan to ground in a strong tackle, albeit he gave away a high free kick in the process. Hall and Hough were both involved in the ensuing pile in to separate the pair. No real malice in it though
• Good to see Champion jogging around the boundary for part of the session- obviously there’s some form of injury but think the dreaded ACL can be ruled out
• Archer Reid has definitely put on size. Hasn’t reached monster proportions but he’s on that path. He was doing some goal kicking practice at the very end with JWill and Shanahan and made Jobe look small when standing next to him
• Most of his shots at goal were accurate as well and probably had a higher percentage than the the other two from the kicks I watched
• Noah Long had a pretty good session and was more involved/prominent than I’d seen previously
• Bo Allan trained away from the main group so his spot on the wing in matchsim was taken by Dewar who had some good passages
• Lowered his colours though to Davis who is fast becoming a R1 favourite for one wing spot. Had another strong session and drew praise from one of the assistants for his (unrewarded) running pattern at one point
• Hall and, I think, Macrae were opposed on the other wing but were on the far side from my vantage point
• Those hoping to see the demise of Liam Duggan would have been disappointed at his efforts in the full ground matchsim (he didn’t do the later 12v12 part along with the draftees and a couple of others). Was very effective across half back
• Watched Hewett a fair bit to try get a handle on how he’s going. He was ok. Ball use was solid but at this point he’s not doing as much follow up work after a disposal as some others. Looks to be pacing himself a little
• At one point the midfield rotation was Reid, Hewett and Duursma - glimpse into the future
• Not long after I noticed that, Flynn knocked down a tap from an around the ground stoppage that landed in a streaming Duursma’s lap who then hit a leading Waterman lace out inside F50. Was a pretty sexy little passage
• Waterman is starting to hit his stride and was dangerous up forward
• Liked the look of Young in D50 although he was still wearing the “Fragile” hat
• Archie Watt (the WAFL signing training with the main group) doesn’t look out of place one bit
• Schoenberg kicked a nice goal on the run from about 50
• McCarthy looks like he will be able to slot into a midfield role
• Grego had some nice moments in defence today
• Harley is training like he has a point to prove. Was in everything through the midfield. Work rate his high and he’s staying involved with the play. Pushed forward two or three times to kick goals. I’m trying not to overhype him but it’s hard not to be impressed by the way he’s attacking this preseason
• Robertson, Baker, Champion, Barnett, Allen, Allan, Newton and Owies worked on their rehab programs away from the main group - although Owies did join in the 10v10 exercise
• Didn’t see any of Hutchinson, Gross or Yeo at any point
• Ginbey was also back into something approaching full training and looked good in defence His disposal was a bit haphazard though
• When drills/matchsims were finished the players were pushed to sprint back to the sideline for a drink. If they’ve done this other times I’ve not noticed it
• Looked like it was family day for the draftees with a large group being shown around which, from a distance, I’m assuming was the orientation for the newbies parents

Think that covers most of my thoughts

Edit: That West article mentions Yeo had today off as he prepares to get married over the weekend which explains his absence

Plenty of match sim practise in the last Friday session of the year, with training lasting a bit over 2 hours this morning. Good numbers on the track again and the majority of the squad played at least some of the match sim.

The players came out just after 9am and after a quick warm up in their line groups, got into their usual ball movement flow drill to warm up their skills. After this came a drill where the players went up against the coaches and had to move the ball up the field, and the first round of match sim started at 9:45.

After this they split into two groups - one practising chipping the ball around inside 50 under defensive pressure from the oppo, and the other consisting of a half-field match sim-style drill where they practised moving the ball (and defending this ball movement) in a smaller field.

After the players had all rotated through those groups, they got into the next 10-minute round of match sim, followed by a half-ground ball movement drill. When this was finished, about 2/3 of the group were made to do runs through the middle of the ground, before the whole squad gathered in a circle for about 5 minutes while McQualter said a few words to the group.
Many went inside after this, but the 20-odd players that were left split into smaller groups to work on skills to finish, with the last players heading inside at 11:20.

Details on who did/didn't train:
  • I didn't spot Yeo or Hutchinson
  • Bailey Williams (groin) and Gross (quad) started the session with some work on the grandstand stairs before moving on to the exercise bikes. Gross did some time on the ski erg machine before wrapping up, while Williams spent the rest of the session either on the exercise bike or doing some stationary ruck work with Nic Nat.
  • Baker (hamstring) came out over an hour into the session and did about 45 minutes of run throughs and laps away from the main group. Side note but one of his eyes was swollen completely shut - looked like he'd been stung by a bee or something. Might explain why he came out so late
  • Allen and Champion (knee) trained away from the main group, doing run throughs and light skill work with the rehab group. Champion looked in a bit of discomfort when running but has seemingly been cleared to run, so good to see he's avoided major injury. Allen progressed to some stop-start running and I think I saw him doing some work on the grandstand stairs later on
  • Robertson (shoulder?) spent the whole session doing run throughs and laps away from the main group, finishing up after about an hour
  • Barnett (knee) did the first 10 minutes of the warm up with the main group before splitting off for some run throughs, agility work, kicking and sprints away from the main group. Finished with some tap work alongside Bailey Williams and Nic Nat.
  • Allan (wrist) and Newton warmed up with the main group before splitting off and completing run throughs, sprints and kicking away from the main group. Some of the running they did left them leaning over the fence in exhaustion - looked like a tough session. Finished up just before 11
  • Owies did about half of the session with the main group, sitting out the match sims and instead doing agility work and run throughs with a trainer. He did however join the half-field match sim work and moved quite well. Finished with some laps before wrapping up around 11
  • The draftees did the first 90 minutes of the session with the main group but finished with some laps and wrapped up early around 11
  • Young (shoulder) participated fully for the first 90 minutes of the session (although wore a green cap in the match sim work to indicate non-contact), before finishing with about half an hour on the exercise bike.
  • Waterman (hamstring) and Ginbey did most of the session but were spared the final run throughs and skill work.
  • Jack Williams and Dewar trained fully from what I saw

Some general notes from the match sim work:
  • Harley was again impressive today. Is covering the ground really well and pushed forward to kick a couple of goals across the match sim periods. Took an impressive one-handed contested mark at one point.
  • The way Tom McCarthy finds space in traffic is impressive to watch. Was lively today and could bring a real point of difference to our midfield this season
  • Schoenberg kicked a terrific running goal from outside 50 at one point - liking the look of him so far
  • Duursma had a nice passage where he read the tap from a stoppage in the middle of the ground, burst into space and hit Waterman on the chest on the lead.
  • Speaking of Waterman, he was involved consistently today and looks to be back in business after his apparent hamstring niggle a couple of weeks ago. Got into a tussle with Harry Edwards at one stage after a marking contest against him - no malice in it but shows that they're training with good intensity and competitiveness
  • Johnston kicked a nice goal at one stage, roving a pack beautifully in the goalsquare and kicking a clean dribbling goal. Continuing to impress me this preseason
  • Davis was playing on the wing and getting praise from Kyal Horsley for his running patterns. Kicked a goal at one stage too after intercepting a kick inside 50 and converting truly
  • Archie Watt was training fully and did some nice things in the ball movement drills - should be a nice addition to our WAFL side
  • Another day, another AFLW player doing their running session alongside the main session - this time it was Courtney Lindgren running some laps

A beautiful day for training. Hopefully oval 1 doesn't come back online too soon as watching a Friday session is more interesting than the open training on Wednesday.

Champion was running but definitely looked proppy at times. Bo Allan (sporting a brace on his left forearm) and Newton did tons of running too.

Harley looked amazing out there, took a brilliant hanger on someone and tried to climb on the backs of a few more players. He's such a smooth mover and a brilliant kick too. Drilled a beauty straight to Shanahan right in front of goal.

Davis was involved quite a bit in the drills/goal kicking ball movement match sim, he's one to watch next year, kicked a nice goal.

Waterman is coming along nicely too, kicked a few goals. At one point Hedwards took him down in a strong tackle and Snake went after him, the other players had to pull them apart! He was awarded a free kick and after he kicked the goal Hedwards had a wry smile on his face and Waterman gave him a pat on the bum so no hard feelings.

Skills are looking really good across the board. A lot of kicking going on, which is a bit different to this years handball heavy game.

I didn't see much of the new recruits, finally got a look at Sam Allen (didn't recognise him, had to ask LittleFires who he was)

I think the players have been told to sprint to the bench when drinks break is called, the whistle sounds and they all haul ass at max speed to grab a drink.

Didn't see Yeo or Gross at all.

Archie Watt was involved quite a bit too he looks decent I would not be surprised if he makes it onto our list at some stage.

Preseason optimism is at an all time high, everyone's training the house down and looking oh so thick and solid and tight.

Bring on 2026!

A beautiful day for training. Hopefully oval 1 doesn't come back online too soon as watching a Friday session is more interesting than the open training on Wednesday.

Champion was running but definitely looked proppy at times. Bo Allan (sporting a brace on his left forearm) and Newton did tons of running too.

Harley looked amazing out there, took a brilliant hanger on someone and tried to climb on the backs of a few more players. He's such a smooth mover and a brilliant kick too. Drilled a beauty straight to Shanahan right in front of goal.

Davis was involved quite a bit in the drills/goal kicking ball movement match sim, he's one to watch next year, kicked a nice goal.

Waterman is coming along nicely too, kicked a few goals. At one point Hedwards took him down in a strong tackle and Snake went after him, the other players had to pull them apart! He was awarded a free kick and after he kicked the goal Hedwards had a wry smile on his face and Waterman gave him a pat on the bum so no hard feelings.

Skills are looking really good across the board. A lot of kicking going on, which is a bit different to this years handball heavy game.

I didn't see much of the new recruits, finally got a look at Sam Allen (didn't recognise him, had to ask LittleFires who he was)

I think the players have been told to sprint to the bench when drinks break is called, the whistle sounds and they all haul ass at max speed to grab a drink.

Didn't see Yeo or Gross at all.

Archie Watt was involved quite a bit too he looks decent I would not be surprised if he makes it onto our list at some stage.

Preseason optimism is at an all time high, everyone's training the house down and looking oh so thick and solid and tight.

Bring on 2026!
Nice one mate, really appreciate that. The more training reports/points of view the better far as I'm concerned.

Davis is looking like an absolute bargain for what was it, a pick in the 50s? Kid seems seriously driven to succeed.

TMac too, almost seems a shame that he was discovered so late but I'm thankful we're the ones to reap the benefit of his talents for the next several years.

Highlights
Duursma everywhere.
T Mac the same.
CDT hype train goes on.
Waterman looks pack

brb booking late September flight to Melbourne

Duffman_%28The_Simpsons%29.png

Got bored of working so I thought I’d pop down to Lathlain, and boy was I impressed.

Harley caught my eye again today. He covered the ground effortlessly and pushed forward to slot a couple of goals during the match sim blocks. He even pulled in a ridiculous one-handed contested grab at one point, easily one of the highlights.

Tom McCarthy was fascinating to watch in congestion. The way he continually slipped into space in traffic was unreal. He was lively all session and looks like he could genuinely add something different to our midfield mix this year.

Schoenberg launched an absolute beauty, a running goal from beyond 50. I’m really liking what I’m seeing from him so far.

WD had a great moment where he read the ruck tap perfectly in the centre, burst into space, and delivered a lovely hit-up kick to Waterman on the lead.

Speaking of Waterman, he was involved throughout the session and looks back to full flight after that little hamstring scare a couple of weeks ago. He even had a bit of a tussle with Harry Edwards after a marking contest, nothing nasty, just good competitive intensity.

Johnston nailed a slick goal, roving the pack at the top of the square and finishing with a clean dribbler. He just keeps impressing me this preseason.

Davis spent time on the wing and earned a few shout-outs from Kyal Horsley for his running patterns. He also kicked a goal after reading an inside-50 turnover perfectly and finishing the chance.

Some ranga trained fully, and I noticed a few nice touches from him during the ball-movement drills. Looks like he’ll be a handy addition to our WAFL side.

Good to see Malakai has avoided ACL.

Will upload pics later if I have time. Let me know if you have any questions!

Training Preseason Training Thread - 2026