Best game of football you've ever seen?

2023 grand final by far and still the best
And any Collingwood and Brisbane game early 00s around say 2002,2003
Hard to tell been so many
2023 grand final does it for me to be honest

Best 2nd half I've ever seen from 1 team is the Hawks v Pies game at the G mid 2012. 2 top 4 teams going hammer and Tong for 1 half than we blew the game apart with the most ridiculous footy in a 45 minute burst. Pies and Hawks fans would remember the game im referring to. Lewis kicking 6 on Shaw as a defensive forward. Both teams kicked over 100 points think we kicked 24 but 16 in the 2nd half something incredible.

Just wondering if you might be confusing two different games?

Lewis kicked 5 in round 17 2012. Hawthorn lead 62 to 43 at half time, then by 55 points at 3 quarter time, ultimately prevailing 21.12.138 to 13.13.91.

In round 1 of that season they played one another in a classic, with the final score 20.17.137 to 16.19.115.

Those 2 games sort of both match your description in a way.
I believe round 1 was night and round 17 was during the day if that helps.

I’m going with 2003 Brissie Vs Port at the GABBA. 9 lead changes in the last qtr from memory.

Port and Brissie had some insanely good matchups in those days that no one outside of QLD and SA ever watched. Think the 2003 game was dubbed the best game no one watched.
I’ll go with this one, even if I only heard it in the car at the time until I saw the replay.

Top of the table clash, both teams kicked 100+ but greatest margin 12 points; 16 lead changes for the game by my quick count. Roger James kicks the last minute winning score in successive games between these two.

That first decade 1997-2006 of Port Adelaide vs Brisbane was quite superb.

2002 semi final Melbourne vs Adelaide was a cracker. A forgotten gem.
Dees board talks about that game all the time even though we lost it. Massive momentum swings.

Roos vs doons 1999 had 2 high scoring games the 2nd where Carey kicked 10 and Lloyd 7 dons won 24 goals to 20. Carey got a sublime banana from the boundary. Mentioned this in another thread but 1999 had some absolute belters.

Dogs vs Geelong browns 7 goals they lost kicking 20 goals to cats 24.

Roos vs lions at the G.

Roos vs Swans at the SCG Swans came back from 7 goals down.

Blues vs dogs

Dogs vs crows 40 pt 3qtr time come back

Dogs vs WCE

Dons vs blues prelim

Many more.

Of games I’ve seen live, Hawthorn v Geelong 1989 - not the Grand Final, but the home and away match early in the season.
Hawthorn came back to win by 8 points after Geelong had kicked 17 goals in the first half and led by 9 goals just before the long break.
Final scores 171-163.
Unrelenting attacking and highly skilled football from both teams all day.

1999 prelim was special. I was going for Carlton that day. Wanted to see an all time upset. One of the biggest in AFL history.

I can't remember what year it was but I remember a game where both Geelong and St Kilda were undefeated close to the mid season and they matched up against each other. That was a pretty great game to watch.
2009. Good troll.

Brisbane vs. Geelong 2024 Prelim was the best game/atmosphere I've been to live I reckon.

This years prelim might've been louder but didn't quite go the distance.
Yeah same. Easily the best game of football I've personally been to, even topping the 2002 GF.

1995. Round 21

West Coast vs Carlton at Subiaco.

Still the best game I have seen.

The best non-club game? The 1994 State of Origin match between Victoria and S.A. The one where Ablett kicked a goal over his head.
Great games. Mckenna cost WCE at the end where he attempted to clear the ball with a mid air soccer kick but missed it as the sun was in his eyes. Glen Rice got a goal as a result.

Cracking games.