Test The Ashes Fourth Test December 26-30 1000hrs @ The MCG

• Thread starter Thread starter Gough

Who will win?

Somewhere in the North of Sweden/Norway/Finland would do it.

I went to a joint in Northern Finland in mid December a few years ago, just before the zero hour days. The last day we were there lasted about an hour.
Don’t think we’d use the white ball. Poms have enough trouble seeing the red one.

I went there late June, early July in 2022. 24 hour daylight. 2 of those hours were a bit of dusk then it was light again before 3am. I was at the outdoor bar in Tampere that evening celebrating my birthday. You just lose all track of time when doesn't go dark, which, as I found, didn't do me a lot of good!!!...haha.
Yeah I've not been above the Arctic Circle in Summer. Only Europe in winter. I got close in Alaska and Canada but they were about the same latitude as Reykjavik. You're not wrong about it being a trap.

I have NEVER seen so many mosquitoes in my life. Man, it's like every bug known to mankind thinks its just gotta go hard while they can. There was still snow on the ground, from the winter, at a couple of those joints in Canada on the night of Summer solstice.

I dunno how they do it. The lady we stayed with in Finland said they eat Vitamin D tablets like lollies in winter otherwise they're just ****ed right up.

Yeah I've not been above the Arctic Circle in Summer. Only Europe in winter. I got close in Alaska and Canada but they were about the same latitude as Reykjavik. You're not wrong about it being a trap.

I have NEVER seen so many mosquitoes in my life. Man, it's like every bug known to mankind thinks its just gotta go hard while they can. There was still snow on the ground, from the winter, at a couple of those joints in Canada on the night of Summer solstice.

I dunno how they do it. The lady we stayed with in Finland said they eat Vitamin D tablets like lollies in winter otherwise they're just ****ed right up.
I was staying with my aunt in Aberdeen one summer and it was weird enough there, I can't imagine what it would be like further north.

I’ve seen videos of Alaska and the mozzies were apocalyptic. Crazy to think in that climate

The Vic media surrounding cricket is off the charts, its bad with footy but they all have their own teams so it is somewhat diluted.

Come summer season though they all band together and they are a pack of wild dogs
At least they are literate. Most of the tools from South Australia don't know what country India is in.

Even out of form like this I think we're a better balanced side with Green in it.
For an entire series, on the toughest pitches seen in a generation, he faced more balls than anyone else, and that was just a few months ago and these idiots want him dropped. Short memories, and no brains, awful combination.

He averaged 30 and was only the 3rd highest run scorer for the series.

Give it a rest with the superiority complex. He was fine that series but nothing special

Sorry you’ll have to settle for a Lynx Africa gift set and a Cadbury Favourites box with extra Turkish Delights
The Fry's Turkish Delights that you get in a Favourites Box are bang average, but proper Turkish Delight is the bee's knees. There's a Turkish bakery in the Central Market that does a quality one.

You have to hand it to Pat Cummins, you know when two people are playing chess, and some bloke walks in looks at the board for 20 seconds, moves a piece and says mate in two?

Well Pat just walked into the test team, won the ashes and walked out.

Speaking of chess, has anyone seen the show Dark Winds. There is a scene in that show which is Robert Redford's last scene. It's Robert Redford playing chess George R R Martin. Hard to top the coolness of that.

You have to hand it to Pat Cummins, you know when two people are playing chess, and some bloke walks in looks at the board for 20 seconds, moves a piece and says mate in two?

Well Pat just walked into the test team, won the ashes and walked out.

Speaking of chess, has anyone seen the show Dark Winds. There is a scene in that show which is Robert Redford's last scene. It's Robert Redford playing chess George R R Martin. Hard to top the coolness of that.
I like watching Magnus Carlsen clips of him playing pissed and checkmating people in less than a minute

I love how Piers Morgan is complaining about Australian Convicts giving it to him over the cricket, everywhere he goes in England.

"Convicts" is hilarious. These imbeciles sent their loyalists to Canada, and their convicts to Australia.

"Oh! You committed a crime, have the rest of your life in paradise to think about it. You? You're loyal to the crown, we'll keep you in the fridge for later."

I love how Piers Morgan is complaining about Australian Convicts giving it to him over the cricket, everywhere he goes in England.

"Convicts" is hilarious. These imbeciles sent their loyalists to Canada, and their convicts to Australia.

"Oh! You committed a crime, have the rest of your life in paradise to think about it. You? You're loyal to the crown, we'll keep you in the fridge for later."
Got tickets on himself. How many Australians would give a rats about ‘what’s his name’?

There's a great Lions Led By Donkeys episode about a siege that happens up in those areas (covers some Alaska & far east Russia/Ukraine areas) and one of the hosts did some time in one of the out of the way places in Alaska - said the mosquitoes may as well have been horses they were so big.

Murphy makes sense. I like Roc, and think he's currently the better bowler, but Murphy is younger and also has prior test experience.

Is there actually Vic-bias in cricket media? I've never really noticed it.

Except Howie.
Sure isn’t, some are really obsessed with creating these narratives though for some reason

Rapt to see Smudge back but wouldnt have minded to see Trav as skipper. You just know hed take the piss with some bonkers tactics and bowl himself alot with the pom batsmen surrounded by catchers.
I reckon Carey is nearly next in line now after Cummins and Smith, given Trav doesn't really want it.

If Neser misses for Richardson he's going to be so stiff, but Jhye replacing Cummins feels like a better fit. Neser is a little too similar to Boland and age isn't really on his side (even though I don't agree with 'blooding youth' too much in the test side - you should generally always pick your best side and let that work out itself, which doesn't include farewell series for the sake of it).