List Mgmt. 2026 List Management

One of McDonald, Davies and Murphy stay. Something about having McDonald as back up and a bit of a plug and play forward and back puts me at ease. I hope the other two come on and therefore make McDonald irrelevant.

Also, Dudley and NOD aint going nowhere. The rest I'm not fussed with.
McDonald hasnt put a foot wrong, and done some pretty bloody good things, since he joined us. Pretty useful swingman - unless wheels fall off we are going to need him more not less i think?

Currently Out of Contract Players - End of 2026:

Sam Sturt (FA)
Jaeger O'Meara
Hugh Davies
Leon Kickett (R)
Oscar McDonald (UFA)
Charlie Nicholls
Toby Whan (R)
Nathan O'Driscoll
Ollie Murphy
Corey Wagner (UFA)
Jaren Carr
Sam Switkowski (FA)
Ryda Luke (R)
Bailey Banfield
Aiden Riddle (R)
Isiah Dudley (R)
Matthew Johnson
Realistically its davies, nicholls, murphy, carr that need to step up or move on. Sturt needs to absolutely shine to have an extension - ok isnt going to cut it given injury history / risk…

It will be interesting to see where an opportunity beyond outstanding WAFL form comes for Murphy or Davies

Everyone needs to keep progressing of course, but I would be very surprised if Nichols has anything to worry about, looks to be an exciting talent after a very interrupted preseason last year.

They'll give the talls plenty of time if they show much at all IMO.

There isn't any hurry to get rid of players.

If anything I think it'll be like this year where there's 5-6 list changes at most. Tbh that's probably only 3-4 actual delistings.

The first rounders, trades and the odd mature ager are likely all that improves us in the short term so why cut blokes that may never be superstars but will be able to hold their own in the odd game they play.

Why is NOD safe?

He needs to seriously improve his game.

Outside of a few flukey goals in his first string of games what of a consistent note has he actually done and provided at AFL level?

He should have taken the PA offer.
He's 23 yrs old, has played 30 odd games and shown his best is good enough. He is safe for a while yet. If he is our 23rd best player in 2026 and beyond then we arere right in the hunt. No team has 23 a-graders. Switch on pls.

Also - he loves to tackle. And in a team that simply struggles in that area, i love it!

He's 23 yrs old, has played 30 odd games and shown his best is good enough. He is safe for a while yet. If he is our 23rd best player in 2026 and beyond then we arere right in the hunt. No team has 23 a-graders. Switch on pls.

Also - he loves to tackle. And in a team that simply struggles in that area, i love it!
I agree with Deathly. He's shown absolutely bugger all since early fluke goals. He lacks composure, he's not clean below his knees, and his kicking is hit and miss.
You may have been able to make an argument that he was our 23rd best player going into last season, but Murphy Reid has clearly gone past him. McVee will easily be better than him. Erasmus has gone past him. Heck, even old mate Banfield is miles ahead of him. I'd probably have Dudley ahead of him too in terms of impacting the game.
He needs a big year or hes going to have a nervous time come September/October.

Those last few games in what, 2024?

He was played in the midfield and showed promise running forward and providing an attacking option. I think this is his best suited area but I don't think they're going to play him there

He’s getting delisted if he can’t find his early form. I’m convinced it’s in him. But he really needs to figure out how to go about rehab Because it sets him back more than I’ve seen it set back any other player.
I'm quite convinced there's more at play than just that tbh.

It'll depend on list spots, depth charts etc.

I'll use Oscar McDonald as an example. If Draper had shown his 2024 form in 2025 and Nicholls had played games and looked good there is probably enough depth there that it is all over for a 30 year old depth player.

Similar will apply for mids. A lot could depend on how NOD performs compared to someone like JOM or Sharp, whether our other mids stay at the club for 2027 and whether we trade in mids (including a winger) end of 2026.

At this stage I think we'd retain NOD end of 2026 but there's a few things to play out during the season before the club makes a decision either way.

I'm quite convinced there's more at play than just that tbh.

It'll depend on list spots, depth charts etc.

I'll use Oscar McDonald as an example. If Draper had shown his 2024 form in 2025 and Nicholls had played games and looked good there is probably enough depth there that it is all over for a 30 year old depth player.

Similar will apply for mids. A lot could depend on how NOD performs compared to someone like JOM or Sharp, whether our other mids stay at the club for 2027 and whether we trade in mids (including a winger) end of 2026.

At this stage I think we'd retain NOD end of 2026 but there's a few things to play out during the season before the club makes a decision either way.
Theoretically Warner and Neale could arrive (ignore the noise of whether we should, but more so that it's possible).

Having NOD who at times looks like he's a two handed ball dropper will stamp his own cards if he can't start showing up.

One of McDonald, Davies and Murphy stay. Something about having McDonald as back up and a bit of a plug and play forward and back puts me at ease. I hope the other two come on and therefore make McDonald irrelevant.

Also, Dudley and NOD aint going nowhere. The rest I'm not fussed with.
Out of those 3, I'm picking Murphy to show some of why we rated him highly this season, and him be the one to stay. 20 year old 200cm defender. Will add more than Oscar long term

Someone saying Murphy looks good at training doesn't even come close to putting him ahead of Davies who was miles better at WAFL level last year. Murphy is starting a long way behind and until actual matches are played I'm not convinced.

McDonald is different because it's age and experience vs long term potential. Reality is McDonald is barely younger than Pearce so as soon as the club feels it's time to back someone younger in I don't think he's getting many games even as depth.

Someone saying Murphy looks good at training doesn't even come close to putting him ahead of Davies who was miles better at WAFL level last year. Murphy is starting a long way behind and until actual matches are played I'm not convinced.

McDonald is different because it's age and experience vs long term potential. Reality is McDonald is barely younger than Pearce so as soon as the club feels it's time to back someone younger in I don't think he's getting many games even as depth.
Until we get confirmation of Pearce’s intentions RE Tassie team, I think we may hang onto McDonald as a stop gap until Murphy or Davies actually surpass him in ability not just potential.

Serong as a pre-agent (I think) is more important than anyone on that list and Switta would be next most important. Sturt (injuries suck) and Carr (what even was this pick / what did Brisbane also see) are gone.

We'd be mad to delist Driz unless he really shits the bed. We're entering our window, and we don't have a lot in the cupboard when it comes to mature midfielders.

Serong, Brayshaw and Young are obviously first choice.
Jackson is half-ruck, likewise Bolton as a forward and Wagner as a defensive mid.
JOM may be gone at years end.
Sharp is wing or nothing.
Reid is a gun but second-year.
After that we have Erasmus, Johnson and Driz.

Definitely need a midfielder or two to start developing next draft, Robinson would be a good start.

2024 Dris was a write off, health wise it was a disaster. Last year early season bad injury.

To me it’s all about his kicking and staying fit.

He can find the footy, play inside and out midfield, is tough and hard working, run all day, quick, big body too. Being able to snag a goal is a big bonus with our midfield.

None of that matters though if he turns it over by foot, or isn’t on the park.

If he can perform on the wing this year, then that would be a massive win for the team, the only real weakness on the field.

Until we get confirmation of Pearce’s intentions RE Tassie team, I think we may hang onto McDonald as a stop gap until Murphy or Davies actually surpass him in ability not just potential.

We should keep McDonald for as long as he keeps this level. Perfect depth.

Low chance of being pinched, no doubt cheap, and plug and play back up in defence tall and small, and break glass in case of emergency as a tall forward and even back up ruck.

And in the mean time a great character to have at peel, who has been through the lows of the game. Also seems the type to be a bit of an on field coach/mentor for young defenders down there.

Another Wallsy and co. classic, covering the role for minimum cap ✅

They will give Murphy every chance, need someone who can go with the giant forwards. He will be a late developer for sure, won’t see his best until 24+.

Low chance of being pinched, no doubt cheap, and plug and play back up in defence tall and small, and break glass in case of emergency as a tall forward and even back up ruck.

And in the mean time a great character to have at peel, who has been through the lows of the game. Also seems the type to be a bit of an on field coach/mentor for young defenders down there.

Rucks aside clubs don't often keep 30 year old depth players.

If list management are comfortable in the ability of the younger KPPs to step up to AFL level when required I don’t think the club prioritizes McDonald over youngsters that could take over from Pearce and stay in the team for ten years.

Think they would've cut McDonald last year if list spots had got much tighter than they did tbh. He'll be waiting until October again.

They will give Murphy every chance, need someone who can go with the giant forwards. He will be a late developer for sure, won’t see his best until 24+.
Davies is barely smaller than Murphy. I've seen them them standing next to each other and I doubt there is 4cm difference. Reckon they're both close to 2m tbh.

Also both a definitely got some height on Draper who's listed at 197cm.

Serong as a pre-agent (I think) is more important than anyone on that list and Switta would be next most important. Sturt (injuries suck) and Carr (what even was this pick / what did Brisbane also see) are gone.
Carr always belonged on the rookie list. Project player and late bloomer. There are signs there of his athletic talents but he is still taking so long to put on size. Also very weak below his knees (ie struggles with ground ball). I know he was picked up at the very end of the ND but I still can’t understand why we didn’t get him to either train-on or just allow him to slide to rookie. We could have for example re-signed big Knobel and picker Carr as a rookie.

Look Aiden Riddle may well be an upgrade on both and it could all work out in the end but I prefer what they are doing with young McMannus. He was overlooked but has been down to train and see how he backs up in the Senior team. Carr had just broken through for a handful of senior WAFL games. The selections of Carr (2024 ND) and O’Reilly (2019 MSD) seem like f/s feel good stories for raw players not up to it. Neither have the bodies for AFL. Carr can at least run very well and the expectation on him is being a later developer he will now start to put on some size - hasn’t happened unfortunately. As for O’Reilly he was so unfit they had to pull out of football and give him a random pre-season conditioning period in season.

Potentially but they will need to make some calls on Murphy and Davies.

Davies had a good season at Peel. Developing into a really solid defender. Has really ironed out the brain farts and has neat skills. Still a bit weak in the core and hips. So if that develops and he bosses the one-on-one body positioning at Peel he will likely get a go.

Murphy still played a lot of WAFL reserves in 2025. His speed is an issue but does take a nice mark. Promising signs from training watchers that he has put on some genuine size and is running well and taking the game on. Both need to be dominating their positions at Peel.

Draper went backwards in the middle part of the year. In the PS they liked his game so much and with Cox and Pearce fit they tried to increase his versatility to play on smalls. Just not his go. Then at Peel he went back confused and often played spare defender and looked a bit lost. Come end of the WAFL season he settled back into 2nd KPD role and started to show the form that got everyone excited. He is way too tall to play on smalls. Definitely an option for that mid sized forward so 2nd/3rd key defender.

Also showed a bit in the ruck. Just need to be careful in the backline if he comes up against a monster ruck although the new ruck rules may help him being athletic with a nice leap.

Personally I’d say McDonald will be surplus to requirements come end of this season.

Realistically all but about 4-5 of the out of contract players are the types we need to see at least half a season from before any decision is made.

I'll be happy if Switta, Wagner Johnson are signed up by the mid season bye. Think on potential re-signing Nicholls is pretty much a certainty as well.

We'll be having the conversations about most of the others until after our bye, some we'll still be talking about in late August/early September. Of course they'll be someone that outperforms expectations - They'll probably be a wtf/premature decision by the club along the way too.